$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
View map of 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny,ny
Oct 12, 2010

The good,the bad,and the really ugly

first there was no shower curtain in bathroom second we requested king bed told there were none available third room was old and dirty beds were uncomfortable fourth housekeeping was not good rooms were not made up timely and not enough towels were available fifth unable to do excursions because not enough people signed up for tours sixth my husbands cologne was taken after housekeepers came to the room to clean it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaDan
Business
Dallas TX
Aug 24, 2010

Enjoyable

Great place to visit. Went to the beach, the forrest , dining out and San Juan. It is a resort so be prepared to spend. With that said you can also be economical and eat at the local places but they might not be that fancy yet still delicious. therefore you might have to drive a bit to find a cheaper place to eat. Its a trade off eat close convenient or get your car from the parking drive and find a small place to eat.:) Theres allot of excursions some if your adventurous enough you can do it directly at the location by yourself and not through the hotel. but for a little less than double the price it might be a good idea. You cut out the middleman and the tourguide:) For those who don't usually get lost driving and enjoy the convenience of being picked up and dropped off at the hotel with an informative tourguide to accompany you then just book it at the reception. The service was great and everyone greets you and is friendly. Its an Island everyone is more relaxed and not in a hurry so waiting in line, say at the reception, might be frustrating for some. Even the driving typical island mentality, it depends on how agressive of a driver you are, just don't get upset. remember your on holiday and your on thier island:) maybe just get insurance:) ..... concerning spending..$$$ wise I spent about a hundred a day..oh yeah and they put a hold on your card like a secuirity deposit that i didnt know about before hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Passaic Park, NJ
Aug 23, 2010

Recommend with caution

Overall, El conquistador is in a great location with beautiful sites. My in-laws had a different room in a different section of the resort and our rooms had equally as beautiful sites. I went to El Conquistador with my husband and 20 month old son. Checking in was horrendous. Luckily, we had family already staying at the resort and were able to go into their room and wait while my husband waited online for about an hour to check-in. The valet parking at El Conquistador is much less than convenient. On our first morning at the resort, we went to the valet driver to pick up our car and waited for almost a half hour to get our car. We went back to ask them what was going on and they had yet to get the keys to get the car. We did complain to management and they did refund the charge for that day. Another thing is that valet is $20 a day and self-park is $15. For the rest of the trip, we self-parked due to the experience we had with the valet. It's a bit of walk, but totally doable. There is also a $17.20 charge each day you are at the resort. The charge, as explained to us, is fort he amenities at the hotel which consist of the ferry ride to their private beach, the fitness center, etc. Our room was very nice and during the week it was quiet except during the weekend. The room next to us had guests and while they were in the bathroom it sounded like they were in our room. We didn't mind it too much except late in the evening while I was trying to put my son to bed. Overall, I would recommend the resort to a friend however, I would do it with caution. Honestly, I'm not sure I would stay there again. It's about a 45 minute drive from the airport without traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In Luquillo there are a great set of restaurants that are located on the side of the road called Kioskos. You can choose which restaurant you want to eat at and prices are very reasonable. It is located right by Luquillo beach which is beautiful and for $20 you can rent an umbrella and 2 lounge chairs.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 20, 2010

beautiful

I did swim a lot,dance and just enjoyed the beautiful view of the nature. The one thing that is missing is restaurant with Puerto Ricos's tipical food. and a Mexican Restaurant, THAT WILL BE GREAT. The food at the present is not the best. From my previous trips I enjoyed the food very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gray Kit
Business
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2010

Not so amazing!

We were extremely disappointed with our overall stay. The service was nowhere near exceptional or did it merit a 4 star rating. The amenities were basic to any other hotel located in a warm weather destination. The pools were nice but nothing to be in awe about and they were filled with children. They did not have a specific pool for kids so if you wanted to relax in quiet or swim with out having to dodge a group of kids you had to hit the pool before 9am or after 7pm. The food was over priced and not great. The only restaurant that was fantastic was Stingrays and the bill for 3 was about $250 not including tip. Our room was cleaned daily but not replenished properly. We had to call concierge for towels three times and wait well over an hour for them to be delivered to our room. Checking in took three hours because our room was not ready and checking out was also a long ordeal. Overall we were not impressed by El Conquistador Resort. We would return to Puerto Rico but stay at a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Duped nomore
Business
Hampton, Va
Jul 21, 2010

Duped

Not a great experience. The best part of the trip was Palomino Island. The beach was gorgeous, the food at the Iguana restuarant, was more tasty, and reasonably priced and the staff more friendlier. Jet skiiing was fun. Pay cash and save 15$. I will go back to Puerto Rico, but not to this hotel. The price suggest 5 star, but the actual accommondations about a 2 star. The rooms are dingy, the food on the resort is terrible and most of the staff unfriendly unless you tip them in advance. Futhermore, because the hotel sit high on a mountain, I felt as if I were being held hostage. We finally rented a car and did some exploring without the overpriced excursion offered by the resort. Visit beautiful Puerto Rico, but save your money and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don't go to Puerto Rico!!!
Business
Palm Harbor, FL
Jul 21, 2010

Not what it's cracked up to be

Horrible food, very bad service (lots of waiting), 2 different rooms flooded, 1 rooms a/c broke, very inconvenienced stay. Spent most of our time dealing with these issues and moving rooms 3 times in 2 1/2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Ballyhoo bar and grill only place in there with decent service and good food (found it our last day there).

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Duped nomore
Business
Hampton, Va
Jul 21, 2010

Duped

Not a great experience. The best part of the trip was Palomino Island. The beach was gorgeous, the food at the Iguana restuarant, was more tasty, and reasonably priced and the staff more friendlier. Jet skiiing was fun. Pay cash and save 15$. I will go back to Puerto Rico, but not to this hotel. The price suggest 5 star, but the actual accommondations about a 2 star. The rooms are dingy, the food on the resort is terrible and most of the staff unfriendly unless you tip them in advance. Futhermore, because the hotel sit high on a mountain, I felt as if I were being held hostage. We finally rented a car and did some exploring without the overpriced excursion offered by the resort. Visit beautiful Puerto Rico, but save your money and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tracey,mom of 3
Business
Atlantic beach,Fl.
Jul 19, 2010

Just OK

Over all the only possive thing i can really say about this hotel is the beaches are everything you could hope for, they are just like the pictures,Beautiful!! My husband and myself were looking to spend a romantic week alone in a beautiful spa setting for our 20th wedding anniversary. Sun tanning,eating,relaxing ect.. what we got was the extreme opposite. On our arriving at the resort we waited in line for over an hour to check in. once in the room we thought that would be the worst of it. Wrong! The place was full with running screaming kids and teens. we thought we had been dropped into a bad dream since we had left our 3 kids at home. Need less to say there are no adult only areas at this resort!! And it did not seem to concern the staff at all when we complained about them keeping us up with the noise and crank room to room calls at 3 am..we did learn that if we drank enough at bed time we could ignore some of it! All in all if you are looking for a quite romantic get away this this place is NOT for you..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring lots of money!!

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ Jazzy H
Business
New York, NY
Jul 14, 2010

Great Escape

The hotel was very nice - not exactly 5-star, but definitely a nice and clean with great restaurants and activities. I do wish there was a little less noise during our stay. I heard commotion both nights in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Strip House was a great treat - being from New York, I wasn't expecting to love my meal...but I stand corrected. It was very tasty and the service was delightful!

Back to menu Return to top