$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
199 reviews
It didn't meet the expectation.

The hotel didnt meet the expectations in all areas. See full review

  • Daniela Martinez Cruz
  • Jul 2, 2014
best vacation

The hotel is not only beautiful but a wonderful experience See full review

  • Maria Bradhurst
  • Jun 11, 2014
Lose yourself in the vibrant beauty and captivating allure of Puerto Rico. Perched high above the ocean on a 300 foot cliff, Waldorf Astoria Spa is a peaceful retreat on the Island of Enchantment. Our luxurious Puerto Rico resort is divided into five villages, providing a soothing getaway from the stress of the world. Enjoy breathtaking panoramic ocean views at The Grand Hotel including the villages of Las Brisas and La Vista. Pure indulgence awaits you in Las Casitas Village - the distinctive four-diamond resort that shares our grounds, where a resort butler is at your service 24 hours a day in your private villa. Built into the side of a cliff and wrapped around its own swimming pool, let sea breezes caress you in Las Olas Village. Or just relax on your private balcony in La Marina Village, which overlooks the sea and is home to the new water park and private marina. Experience this vibrant Puerto Rico resort for yourself, complete with beautifully appointed accommodations, attentive service and a magnificent setting.Located on the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico near El Yunque Rain ForestFour miles form the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas. On-site world-class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.An 8-minute boat ride from our private Palomino island 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Garden room
King bed garden view room-balcony or terrace...18 Percent resort charge-lush landscape views...Low floor-mini cooler-in room coffee

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3589 -65.628
Area served
Luquillo, Rio Grande, Canovanas and Carolina.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Airport
Area description
East

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 199
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mogaga
ny
Jun 11, 2014

the hotel is nice

the hotel is very clean and nice location, nearby port to go C island. but facility is kinda of out of date . and food is not good. need to find food outsides. patial ocean view is pretty good though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Bumm
Chicago
Apr 1, 2014

Beautiful Resort; Pricey; Family Oriented

I enjoyed my stay at the El Conquistador and would recommend the resort to others. This was my first time staying at a large resort; I liked that there were so many amenities. I would have expected the rooms to be a little nicer, but the beds were comfortable the room was quiet and the bathroom spacious. We had a basic garden view room. The resort could do a better job in communicating. The ferry to the island starts at 9:00 a.m. and every half hour after, the last one leaves the island at 5:45 p.m. I believe the large Ferry carries 100+ individuals and I didn't notice any lobbying or verbal disputes for seats. The line for the ferry gets long I would recommend heading down early around 8:20 or so. Palomino island is picturesque beautiful; the beach on the east end is very rocky (lots of conch shells broken and whole) but not unmanageable. Lots of shade on the East side and a pleasant breeze, with plenty of chairs. On the weekend lots of locals bring their boats and hang out on the West side of the island where the beach is less rocky. There is only one restaurant on the island and two bars, drinks start around $9 ($6 for virgins) a burger and fries runs you about $14 and they only take credit or you have the option to charge to your room but they do not accept cash and need photo id for credit cards. The food was good I liked everything I tried: there was a hilarious mishap at the Hibachi grill and I don't think teriyaki chicken is worth $28. Almost every entree is priced at $28 or higher and at the main restaurants entrees are a' la carte so a meal with appetizer and a drink can easily run to $40 or more per person. There is Chinese Restaurant with Hibachi grill; a steak house, an Italian restaurant and a burger/sandwich joint. There is a breakfast buffet priced at $27 per person. An out door restaurant by the pool with wood fired pizza that you can get to go. By the marina there is a Seafood restaurant as well as a bar & grill which was very good. There are several convenience stores that have ice cream and snacks as well as alcohol. There is an ice cream parlor near the Trams that has breakfast sandwiches and coffee/espresso. There is also a Starbucks open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. There is an additional daily resort fee of $37.10 for use of the ferry and Internet so watch for that it is not quoted in your original package. The resort is very kid friendly there is a water park on site that I did not visit. The Resort has made a scavenger hunt type game out of finding certain sites each marked with a rubber bracelet that many adults and children seemed to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small fair grounds beyond the gate of the marina with a resturaunt and food stands; this is also where they do the staging for the bio-bay; schedule your trip to the bio bay as soon as you can they book up quickly - we did a boat tour with bio island for $47 (ph # 787-422-7857) and enjoyed it immensely the kayakers seemed to have a lot of obstacles - plus iguanas sleep in trees and fall out of them!

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniiiiii
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
May 5, 2013

Perfect get away

El conquistador has been, without a doubt, the best resort and experience ever. From the water park, to the pools, to the private island, it was beyond amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants at the hotel, but also best food was in a restaurant 'Pasion por el fogon' 7 minutes away.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dprice
Charlotte, NC, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Great Destination Wedding Spot

We had a wedding and had approximately 80 guest attend. The El-Con was so perfect for this that at no point did anyone need to leave the complex. The beaches, pools, restaurants and bars were all exceptional. The only real bad part of the vacation was having to leave. I will certainly return to the El-Con in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Paradise Island is the private beach. We had the most wonderful waitress there and she gave us insider tips on every issue that we asked about. Without her help we would have been lost at times. Locate someone that is friendly and willing to help and listen to them. They really love their jobs there.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 5, 2011

A Perfect Retreat for R&R

Came to relax and enjoy the beach and seclusion of Palmino Island with a friend who I had not seen in thirty years. We were able to talk about our lives in a serene and comfortable environment. We did exactly that and more. The hotel was clean, the staff was wonderful, the weather was perfect, the room and views were spectacular. The Golden Door Spa and its staff were extraordinary as well. It would be nice to see a little more variety in restaurants [dinner as well as breakfast]; I'm personally not a fad of buffet's and prefer my 'syrup' pure maple and not out of a 'packet' for example. However that was an observation. Also, since I like protein drinks and juicing, the juice bar was not open at the Golden Door during the time of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 5, 2011

A Perfect Retreat for R&R

Came to relax and enjoy the beach and seclusion of Palmino Island with a friend who I had not seen in thirty years. We were able to talk about our lives in a serene and comfortable environment. We did exactly that and more. The hotel was clean, the staff was wonderful, the weather was perfect, the room and views were spectacular. The Golden Door Spa and its staff were extraordinary as well. It would be nice to see a little more variety in restaurants [dinner as well as breakfast]; I'm personally not a fad of buffet's and prefer my 'syrup' pure maple and not out of a 'packet' for example. However that was an observation. Also, since I like protein drinks and juicing, the juice bar was not open at the Golden Door during the time of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Dec 16, 2010

Awesome!

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, because we wanted to explore the Fajardo Area with the Bioilluminecent Bay and the Rainforest. We found a great deal for this hotel online, but it was beyond of what we expected. We booked a regular room with two beds, but the room was fantastic with the most amazing view of the ocean. Employees were very friendly and helpful and the facilities of the hotel were super. Since we were very active during the day, we enjoyed the Jacuzzi at night a lot in order to relax. The only disadvantage is that this place is a resort, which means that drinks and restaurants are very pricy, however there are options to wine and dine outside of the hotel. All in all a wonderful experience, we didn´t want to leave:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Dec 16, 2010

Awesome!

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, because we wanted to explore the Fajardo Area with the Bioilluminecent Bay and the Rainforest. We found a great deal for this hotel online, but it was beyond of what we expected. We booked a regular room with two beds, but the room was fantastic with the most amazing view of the ocean. Employees were very friendly and helpful and the facilities of the hotel were super. Since we were very active during the day, we enjoyed the Jacuzzi at night a lot in order to relax. The only disadvantage is that this place is a resort, which means that drinks and restaurants are very pricy, however there are options to wine and dine outside of the hotel. All in all a wonderful experience, we didn´t want to leave:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gray Kit
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2010

Not so amazing!

We were extremely disappointed with our overall stay. The service was nowhere near exceptional or did it merit a 4 star rating. The amenities were basic to any other hotel located in a warm weather destination. The pools were nice but nothing to be in awe about and they were filled with children. They did not have a specific pool for kids so if you wanted to relax in quiet or swim with out having to dodge a group of kids you had to hit the pool before 9am or after 7pm. The food was over priced and not great. The only restaurant that was fantastic was Stingrays and the bill for 3 was about $250 not including tip. Our room was cleaned daily but not replenished properly. We had to call concierge for towels three times and wait well over an hour for them to be delivered to our room. Checking in took three hours because our room was not ready and checking out was also a long ordeal. Overall we were not impressed by El Conquistador Resort. We would return to Puerto Rico but stay at a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gray Kit
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2010

Not so amazing!

We were extremely disappointed with our overall stay. The service was nowhere near exceptional or did it merit a 4 star rating. The amenities were basic to any other hotel located in a warm weather destination. The pools were nice but nothing to be in awe about and they were filled with children. They did not have a specific pool for kids so if you wanted to relax in quiet or swim with out having to dodge a group of kids you had to hit the pool before 9am or after 7pm. The food was over priced and not great. The only restaurant that was fantastic was Stingrays and the bill for 3 was about $250 not including tip. Our room was cleaned daily but not replenished properly. We had to call concierge for towels three times and wait well over an hour for them to be delivered to our room. Checking in took three hours because our room was not ready and checking out was also a long ordeal. Overall we were not impressed by El Conquistador Resort. We would return to Puerto Rico but stay at a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top