$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

3 stars
201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado, 00646
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
156 reviews
A great getaway

Its a superb experience to enjoy of the sun, sand and sea. Great hotel amenities: pool, beach, golf... See full review

  • CarlosCruz
  • Nov 15, 2014
amazing experience

from the moment that I got to the hotel the valet parking agent was smiling and bellman... See full review

  • yanichel
  • Jul 29, 2014
All-suites hotel overlooking the Atlantic in Dorado, Puerto Rico

Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach and Golf Resort, a choice destination in the Caribbean located just outside of San Juan, Puerto Rico, features spacious accommodations, an 18-hole Chi Chi Rodriguez-designed golf course, a great choice of restaurants, and more than 15,000 square feet of meeting space. The golf course winds along the warm waters of the Atlantic, offering breathtaking views of the beach and surrounding cliffs.

Highlights
  • Beachfront locale
  • Championship golf course along coast
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • Complimentary Manager's Reception
  • Massage for Partners
Rooms

All suites come with a bedroom, living room, and a range of amenities including two 42-inch flat panel HD televisions, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, pullout sofa sleeper, and well-lit dining/work table.

Features

The lagoon pool offers great views of the ocean. Guests also enjoy a whirlpool, fully equipped fitness center, and game room.

 

The Chi Chi Rodriguez signature 18-hole golf course complex, with striking views of the ocean and mountains, features a clubhouse, golf range, and professional services on site.

 

For honeymooners and romantics, Embassy Suites Hotel Dorado del Mar takes special pride in offering Massage for Partners. A trained therapist teaches massage techniques to partners who can immediately emulate the exotic methods themselves.

 

Embassy Suites' complimentary breakfast each morning is served at the Paradise Café. In the evening guests head to the complimentary Manager's Reception. Guests enjoy poolside dining at Blue Seahorse Bar and Grill, with requisite views of the Atlantic Ocean off the terrace. Italian food lovers head to the Oregano Bar and Grill, located in the golf clubhouse overlooking the Dorado Golf Resort.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (43.6 mi/70.1 km)
Business
  • Over 15,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Nine breakout rooms for meetings
  • Full catering staff

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MTM4613
Business
Phila, Pa
Feb 25, 2014

Very far from San Juan

Good complimentary breakfast, clean room, right on beach. Very far from San Juan ($75 cab ride) concierge services lacking in planning excursions. If you want to just sit by the pool or on the beach, it's the place for you. If you want to explore be prepared to rent a car and do it on your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disney Surprise
Business
Buffalo, NY
Feb 25, 2014

Family Vacation Feb 2014

Resort definitely needs upgrades - room are old, needs new paint. Beach area is small and rocky - not good for small children. Pool was nice and clean. Buffet breakfast was great each morning. There is nothing to do at resort after hours for kids so I would not recommend this. Even leaving the resort , area is very depressed on outside and nothing to do for kids or adults. You are in a remote area. No shopping malls close. You do need a car to get around for everything. Would not go back to this resort again. very pricy for food and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Incredible Dad
Business
Fairfield, CT
Jan 5, 2014

The Hotel Staff was great!

We asked questions several times and they were always very pleasent... This hotel is about 35 minutes from the airport towrds the west of the island. We enjoyed the beauty of being in a small town and talkting to the locals... It's not too far from major highways. I strongly recommend renting a car... it will give you the freedom to move around...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Good for framilies with small kids...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dj Sota
Business
Costa Mesa, California
Dec 20, 2013

Pleasently Surprised

For our last night in Puerto Rico we stayed here. It was better than expected. The price was great for what was included. They had all you can drink happy 2 hours, so my wife and I had our fair share of free alcohol. They also have a daily $9.99 lunch/dinner enrtree which was good. Also it included all you can eat breakfast which was also good. There is a large pool and beach area. The staff was friendly and overall we enjoyed our time. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Only complaints: no free parking, the nachos we got by pool were cold and not very good, and the spa was too small so was always packed full of people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't get the nachos!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No Baggage
Business
D.C.
Oct 29, 2013

Embassy Suites Dorado

The hotel has great amenities including a private beach, pool, business center, restaurants, flat screen tvs, WiFi, gym and golf course, as well as a casino. It is also near other restaurants outside the resort, close to Dorado Beach and about 20 minutes from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport. The Paradise Cafe wasn't so great for dinner, but the breakfast was much better and was also complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyTravelingfamily
Business
Louisville, Ky
Oct 19, 2013

Relaxing and friendly-October stay!

We are a family of five with daughters ages 11-14. We found our stay to be relaxing and the staff and people of Puerto Rico are all extremely friendly and helpful! We don't speak Spanish and they made us feel right at home! The beach is small, but quaint and safe. The room is spacious, a little dated but nothing to complain about. The Japanese restaurant was fantastic! Pool is beautiful! My advice is to rent a car. There is a desk within the hotel to do so, and it was quite easy. We rented a brand new escape for three days for only $57 a day. The driving is quite crazy for people from the states, but not over whelming! The town of Dorado seemed safe and had shopping and restaurants. Highly recommend going to a restaurant called Made In Puerto Rico. Also go to Old San Juan, take the ferry too, it's only 25cents one way and leaves every 30min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Montana
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jul 16, 2013

Stay Relax

Perfect to celebrate your birthday week and share with your family & friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DPG614
Business
Dorado, PR
Jun 27, 2013

Needs som work

I list the location as average considering it's on an island and how it compares with many other hotel/resort options also on a beach. The resort has NO airport shuttle and is about a 45 - 90 minute drive depending upon the time of day/traffic. The resort needs some maintenance work done. It was fine for my visit, which was work related. However, I would have been disappointed if I would have been paying for a vacation stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil 17
Business
Little Rock
Jun 17, 2013

Great Family Vacation

Enjoyed our stay in May. Embassy Suites hosted several proms while we were there and it was fun watching whole families come to the prom with the teenagers. Driving was a challenge in Puerto Rico because highways are not clearly marked. Beach was a little small, but pool was great. Eating choices are limited around the hotel so a car rental is needed. Hotel staff was helpful with directions and information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waytogo
Business
Darien, Ct
Apr 25, 2013

Generally Good Getaway

For value for the money this place was extremely good. It also was only a 40 minute drive from the Airport but was completely out of San Juan. We had a 5th floor suite with a balcony overlooking the ocean, and it was a pleasure to be able to retreat to the room at any time and sit on the terrace to watch the waves. There were a few negatives. The beach was a public beach which had to be accessed through a locked gate, but the locals were pleasant enough. The beach was nice and never crowded, and there was good salt water swimming in the lagoon. There were deck chairs and paddle boats etc. which we assume were provided by the hotel. Another issue was that we arrived on a weekend, and the place was overrun with local events - teenage coming out parties, wedding receptions etc. As a result on Saturday and Sunday, it was fairly noisy and crowded and our room was not cleaned on Sunday until 6pm! The hotel was apologetic, gave us a bottle of wine and made sure we had prompt service for the rest of our stay. On the weekdays there were very few people there which was much more pleasant. The free breakfast was excellent, and there was a two hour happy hour every night where all drinks were free. The restaurant wasn't much, but as we had a car we went out to eat at local establishments which was OK. The golf was right at the hotel entrance and the course was not expensive, quite challenging and very attractive. The course was almost deserted which was delightful, almost like having your own private course. On balance, we liked the place and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top