Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado, 00646

Hotel Overview

3.8/5

Overall score

82%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8
All-suites hotel overlooking the Atlantic in Dorado, Puerto Rico

Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, a choice destination in the Caribbean located just outside of San Juan, Puerto Rico, features spacious accommodations, a great choice of restaurants, and more than 15,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Only all-Suite oceanfront resort in Puerto Rico
  • Free made-to-order breakfast
  • Free evening Reception
Rooms

All two-room suites come with a separate living/dining area, and a range of amenities including refrigerator, wet bar, microwave oven and coffeemaker.

Features
The lagoon pool offers great views of the ocean. Guests also enjoy a whirlpool, fully equipped fitness center, and game room.

For a special romantic night, Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach, can offer a "Say I Love You " Dinner package with a Surf and Turf Dinner, champagne bottle, set up on a beach front location.

Sample the complimentary made-to-order breakfast at the Paradise Cafe. Sip a cocktail while listening to live music on the weekends at the Calypso Lounge. Satisfy hunger with a dish from the Blue Seahorse Pool Bar & Grill, accompanied by the signature island drink, 'Coco Loco', with requisite views of the Atlantic Ocean off the terrace. Enjoy light snacks and drinks at the complimentary Evening Reception each night.
Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (43.6 mi/70.1 km)
  • Dorado Beach Golf courses (2.8mi/4.6km)
  • Barceloneta Prime Outlets Mall (24.9mi/40.2km)
  • Arecibo Observatory (60.5mi/97.5km)
Business
  • Over 15,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Nine breakout rooms for meetings
  • Full catering staff

Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort Rooms

.
.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

18.4777 -66.2743
Area served
Dorado, San Juan
Nearby airports
SJU

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Oct 5, 2009

Just ok

The hotel was beautiful but over priced for what you got. Firstly, we got into our room and there were missing light bulbs, the carpet was damp and VERY dirty. In a tropical climate, there should be tile floors definitely NOT carpeting in my opinion. We had to put our shoes on when walking through the room because our feet were black if we didn't. Please note that they charge $7/day to park in there overcrowded parking lot. Nobody told us about that charge until check out. Also, there is a 12% hospitality charge on the room, the food, drinks, etc. The staff was not very friendly with the exception of the omlette chef at breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it was the same menu every day with very little variety. Again, it was very overpriced for what you got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dorado, PR
Sep 24, 2009

Great family getaway

1)Visited family, enjoy the beach & pool. 2)No everything was good. 3)This trip was better then average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anadabest
Business
Clermont, FL
Sep 10, 2009

Great family friendly hotel!

My husband and I decided to book a room at this hotel in Dorado to be away from the typical tourist areas of Puerto Rico. The hotel was very nice but our room overlooked a construction site across the street. I have to say that we could not hear the construction going on but when we looked at the view that's all we saw. We still liked the hotel!!! We enjoyed the pool with our 5 month old baby girl who also loved the beach. The beach is right behind the hotel which was another reason why we booked this hotel. The food at the hotel restaurant was very good and we took advantage of the free breakfast and the free cocktails in the afternoon. We spent a total of 6 days and 5 nights. The first few nights in the hotel were quiet which we enjoyed. Unfortunately, our vacation coincided with Labor Day Weekend and a whole lot of conventions in Dorado. On Friday afternoon the hotel became extremely noisy and overcrowded. On Saturday and Sunday morning we spent about 30 minutes in line waiting to get an omlette for breakfast. Aside from this we had a very enjoyable experience and would definitely stay at this hotel again. We would not book our vacation at this hotel on a holiday weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Grande Supermarket just a short drive from the hotel. You actually pass the supermarket on the way to the hotel if you are coming from the San Juan area. My husband and I stopped in there and did a bit of shopping. We bought ham, cheese, mayo, mustard and pan sobao (which is sweet bread in english) and ate that for lunch instead of buying lunch at the hotel. A burger meal at the hotel was $11.00 which we thought was a bit pricey. We also picked up some plaintain chips and fruits that we could eat as snacks instead of spending a lot of money at the hotel restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snarlindawg
Business
St. Louis
Aug 31, 2009

Costly without location

When we visited San Juan we beleived that the location of the hotel to proximity of old san juan for the price was going to be great. Most all the activities we did were in San Juan or Fajardo. Taxis are expensvie and the traffic is horrible. We were a little disappointed by those two reasons. Third the hotel offered almost no service for an inexpensive price; a beer was 6.00 plus tax. kinda of high for a hotel not in a downtown area. The adventures we took in Puerto Rico was what made our vacation speacial. All in all; Puerto rico has a lot of fun things to see and do, just come prepared financial our plan well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Eco Action Tours - offering almost all outdoor fun adventures. As well as Aquatica jet ski tour of the fort in old san juan. tons of fun, and a good knowledgeable staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oneyda 10
Business
Orlando, fl
Aug 16, 2009

Indescribable beauty !

By far this has been the best hotel I've stayed in from all my travels. The staff was terrific very helpfull (speak perfect english). The view of the pool and the beach immediately once you open the door is to die for. There is a total of 4 pools for everyone to enjoy and have a good time (believe me you have enough space to swim). The beach is amazing, what I love the most is that is private. You are entitle to one bottle of FREE water per person, you also have a delicious breakfast for everyone to enjoy (made to order omlets, pancake). Although my balcony view was not to the pool or beach the cleanliness of the rooms was excellent. Will defenitly go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Free alcoholic and non alcoholic beverage from 5:30 - 7:30pm. Also in the bar area they have a live band playing music and lots of people dancing and having a good time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AMOONRA
Business
CAMUY, PR.
Aug 8, 2009

excellent service,excellent room, thanks

WE HAVE AN EXCELLENT HOTEL IN THE AREA, PLENTY OF FACILITIES, MORE FOR THE FAMILY TO ENJOY IN PEACE, QUITE AND RESTFULL, I RECOMEND***** A+++++, THANKS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saylorsburg, PA
Jul 30, 2009

Embassy Suites Dorado

Way too expensive for golf. We spent $500.00 on 2 days of golf. Charging for parking for registered guests is unheard of. Especially when you park in a mudhole. Front desk staff very incompetant. Safe not working in room - took 3 phones calls and 1/2 a wasted day waiting for someone to fix....someone came, but never fixed it. Just gave up at that point. Food so so...not impressed at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chemistry mom
Business
Lajas, P.R.
Jul 23, 2009

Great free breakfast

During our stay we observed the hotel staff following safety measures to avoid contamination due to the virus A H1N1. There were many commom places where everyone had access to hand sanitizers. That made us feel safe. The pool was open from 7:00 am until midnight and the pool water was almost always warm.There were many areas suitable for small children. The hotel gives free breakfast with many options, but you have to wake up early to take it easy, which we did. There were fruits, omelets, scrambled eggs, oatmeal, dry cereal, coffee, tea, juices and many more. Delicious! During the evening there were two hours in which we could have a free drink, popcorn and chips.The hotel needed some musical entertainment during the week and someone to organize water sports or ball games. Bring your tennis balls and rackets or you will be charged $16 for an hour of a tennis match. We loved our room, with 2 flat tv's, wireless internet access, a little kitchen and two rooms. For the first time the 4 of us did not argue because we had two rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very near a Walgreens where you can buy anything you need at a lower price. There are several fast foods chains nearby also, or you can have Pizza Hut delivery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mzcutieb
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 23, 2009

Ok, if thats all you want to see!

When I chose this hotel, I chose it based on the attractiveness of the hotel and its rooms. The hotel lived up to all of that. But dont believe the short drive to anywhere reviess. It cost us $60 to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel. This hotel is far from everything. The only way you will see any other part of the island is to rent a car. And it rained my whole stay. Thank goodness for beautiful rooms. Also, staff speak english, but 90% of the guests in the hotel spoke spanish. I felt a little isolated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to partake of any island activities, like snorkeling or boat riding... they are on the opposite side of the island. You must rent a car if you stay at this hotel.. No souvenir shops near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
millo
Business
NC
Jul 18, 2009

The bad and ugly

Bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top