$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

3 stars
201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado, 00646
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
152 reviews
amazing experience

from the moment that I got to the hotel the valet parking agent was smiling and bellman... See full review

  • yanichel
  • Jul 29, 2014
Perfect Honeymoon Getaway

We couldnt be more pleased with the resort. Location was great, amenities were excellent and the... See full review

  • The Velezs
  • Apr 15, 2014
All-suites hotel overlooking the Atlantic in Dorado, Puerto Rico

Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach and Golf Resort, a choice destination in the Caribbean located just outside of San Juan, Puerto Rico, features spacious accommodations, an 18-hole Chi Chi Rodriguez-designed golf course, a great choice of restaurants, and more than 15,000 square feet of meeting space. The golf course winds along the warm waters of the Atlantic, offering breathtaking views of the beach and surrounding cliffs.

Highlights
  • Beachfront locale
  • Championship golf course along coast
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • Complimentary Manager's Reception
  • Massage for Partners
Rooms

All suites come with a bedroom, living room, and a range of amenities including two 42-inch flat panel HD televisions, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, pullout sofa sleeper, and well-lit dining/work table.

Features

The lagoon pool offers great views of the ocean. Guests also enjoy a whirlpool, fully equipped fitness center, and game room.

 

The Chi Chi Rodriguez signature 18-hole golf course complex, with striking views of the ocean and mountains, features a clubhouse, golf range, and professional services on site.

 

For honeymooners and romantics, Embassy Suites Hotel Dorado del Mar takes special pride in offering Massage for Partners. A trained therapist teaches massage techniques to partners who can immediately emulate the exotic methods themselves.

 

Embassy Suites' complimentary breakfast each morning is served at the Paradise Café. In the evening guests head to the complimentary Manager's Reception. Guests enjoy poolside dining at Blue Seahorse Bar and Grill, with requisite views of the Atlantic Ocean off the terrace. Italian food lovers head to the Oregano Bar and Grill, located in the golf clubhouse overlooking the Dorado Golf Resort.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (43.6 mi/70.1 km)
Business
  • Over 15,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Nine breakout rooms for meetings
  • Full catering staff

Hotel Map

18.4777 -66.2743
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 25.00, MI, W;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chemistry mom
Lajas, P.R.
Jul 23, 2009

Great free breakfast

During our stay we observed the hotel staff following safety measures to avoid contamination due to the virus A H1N1. There were many commom places where everyone had access to hand sanitizers. That made us feel safe. The pool was open from 7:00 am until midnight and the pool water was almost always warm.There were many areas suitable for small children. The hotel gives free breakfast with many options, but you have to wake up early to take it easy, which we did. There were fruits, omelets, scrambled eggs, oatmeal, dry cereal, coffee, tea, juices and many more. Delicious! During the evening there were two hours in which we could have a free drink, popcorn and chips.The hotel needed some musical entertainment during the week and someone to organize water sports or ball games. Bring your tennis balls and rackets or you will be charged $16 for an hour of a tennis match. We loved our room, with 2 flat tv's, wireless internet access, a little kitchen and two rooms. For the first time the 4 of us did not argue because we had two rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very near a Walgreens where you can buy anything you need at a lower price. There are several fast foods chains nearby also, or you can have Pizza Hut delivery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mzcutieb
St. Louis, MO
Jul 23, 2009

Ok, if thats all you want to see!

When I chose this hotel, I chose it based on the attractiveness of the hotel and its rooms. The hotel lived up to all of that. But dont believe the short drive to anywhere reviess. It cost us $60 to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel. This hotel is far from everything. The only way you will see any other part of the island is to rent a car. And it rained my whole stay. Thank goodness for beautiful rooms. Also, staff speak english, but 90% of the guests in the hotel spoke spanish. I felt a little isolated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to partake of any island activities, like snorkeling or boat riding... they are on the opposite side of the island. You must rent a car if you stay at this hotel.. No souvenir shops near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
millo
NC
Jul 18, 2009

The bad and ugly

Bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stateside PR tourist
Massachusetts
Jul 7, 2009

July visit to Embassy Suites Dorado

Very attentive staff. Only a single restaurant at the hotel, but several in Dorado (need car to get around). Hotel was very crowded during the Fourth of July weekend (local tourism). Large shallow pool (3.5 ft deep). Small shallow beach with a lot of coral/rock. Few amenities/recreation options for a "resort" (note resort fee) other than small fitness center/spa, tennis courts and golf course. Little nightlife at this hotel or town (surrounding hotels might present additional options). Nice Embassy Suite style rooms. Breakfast included (traditional breakfast with made-to-order omelets; same every day). Nightly managers reception with two free drinks per person. Two free water bottles per day. Pool open all the time but pool bar was not open at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check for PR Tourism Co. packages!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tina Carolina
North Carolina
Jul 5, 2009

Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar

I can't believe it! This hotel was even better than it looked on the internet, which hardly ever happens. I think that the thing that stands out in my mind the most is the cleanliness of the entire resort. I have never seen such a spotless facility. Also, the room we had (a king size, non-smoking) had a living room with a tv with a small fridge and a microwave. Also this same room had a pretty large sized kitchen table and a small sink. The bathroom was pretty roomy and bright. Like I said before, it was very clean, which is extremely important to me. The bedroom was large, with a sliding glass door that led to the balcony that overlooked the huge pool and the beach area. Absolutely gorgeous. At night, you could step outside and be serenaded by the coqui frogs. I will never forget that! We even recorded it as to not forget the loveliness of that sound! Also, the room had a complimentary safe in the room, you create the combination and control it yourself. I really enjoyed the pool and the fact that it was open 24 hours a day! There is no lifeguard on duty, so of course you are swimming at your own risk. There are complimentary pool towels. Just give them your room number, and you can check out as many towels as you want for the day, you just have to turn them back in each evening. You absolutely should buy a snorkeling mask and tube at the Walgreens, located directly in front of the entrance to the motel (well, in front of the gate). This resort is located well within a gated community and seems to be very safe. We had absolutely no issues with safety there. I can't think of one bad thing, except for one time when we ordered from the restaurant bar (we did this every night)and one of the waiters was really slow. This was not the norm and probably was just a fluke. The most incredible feature was the buffet style complimentary breakfast each morning. You can even order a custom made omelet every day! Fresh fruit, great coffee....delicious! I would absolutely return and have recommended that my family and friends stay at this hotel! Buen viaje!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Painter, Va
Jun 26, 2009

Fantastic getaway

We had a woderful time at the hotel. Dorado was a very good place to stay. the hotel was awesome every thing you wanted was there for you.Whenever we go out of town we will be staying at a EMBASSY SUITE. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GUS man
Los Angeles, Ca
Jun 21, 2009

Heaven on Earth

the hotel was beautiful and great experience. great locaton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hermano
Georgia
Jun 5, 2009

20th Wedding Anniversary

The hotel was very clean and attractive. Has private beach which is relaxing and offers pretty views as seen on the resorts picture. The water is very clear but you could only wade in about 2-3 feet or so due to the dense grasses growing in the ocean. Excellent for small children. Pool was very nice. Contained many sections where teenagers can do there thing and some older folks can relax without being splashed. This was important as this hotel had some school functions at this time. There were many teenagers around the hotel and I was impressed at their behavior. It was good clean fun. Breakfast was awesome. Staff very nice. Parking was a pain though. The parking lot was not large enough and often I parked alongside the golf course which did not make me feel too comfortable. I think this is incentive to opt for the valet parking they offer, but I was too cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When travelling from Dorado to San Juan. Do not use the expressway. It can be very conjested. Instead take the beach road (rte 165) and be sure to take a tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jun 2, 2009

Pretty nice

The overall experience was great. The general Manager at the hotel checked me in and out. She also upgraded my room. She was a true doll. The room was decent. But, the room ventilation was the worse. Moisture retained on mirrors and bathroom floor was very slippery. Even before we ever showered. The floor was soaking wet. The room needs bug control. There were spiders in the shower and in the room. Other than that, I rate the hotel a B+. I also think there should be pool time dedicated to adults only. The children hogged up the pool and jaccuzi all day and night. That was a real bummer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
madera, ca
May 23, 2009

Friendly staff and great experience

more of a family resort and 30-45 mins from san juan. The breakfast was my favorite but must get there early otherwise there is a crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search