$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

3 stars
View map of 8000 Tartak Street, CAROLINA, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CJ with Fam
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Jun 10, 2013

1ST VISIT TO SAN JUAN..PR

Upon checking into the hotel was nice. Breakfast need change up daily. Being clean is important. Pool need re tile in certain area..can be come a safety issue later. I will return. Thanks a Bunch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving the island x 3
Business
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Jun 8, 2013

Wonderful stay for our needs

We were there for almost an entire week, and had plenty of time to see the sights and still have time for relaxation. We had a 2BR 2 BA suite which is located off the elevator side down a small hallway. Plenty of room when traveling with two teenage boys who could not agree on what TV show or movie to watch at night in their bedroom...one just pulled out the couch and watched his movie while the other watched the game in the bedroom. My husband and I like to read before we go to bed, so the separation was great. Although there were high school proms every night we were there, we never had a problem with any noise or commotion, but we were on a higher floor (7th). The breakfast buffet was ok, but the omelet line was the place to be. Even though it seems long, it goes very quickly, and they were cooked to perfection. The reception in the evening is the same way. The lines seem long, but the bartenders are superb and mix ANY drink you want free. And you get two of them at one time. I was a little disappointed to see that not very many people tipped the bartenders, but they certainly deserved to be tipped for every drink. Where else can you get 2 strong rum punches (or vodka martinis for my husband) for a couple of bucks? The nachos and warm spicy salsa and seasoned sour cream were awesome. But the best of this hotel is the concierge desk. When our rental car agency was over 30 minutes late picking us up, the woman behind the desk called and got immediate action. She said that was the third day in a row that Charlie's Rental Car had failed to pick their customers up on time and she was not going to recommend them any longer until they explained themselves. We had been calling for at least 30 minutes and nobody answered the phone, and then she called 3-4 times before she finally called another office to see what the problem was. (Not sure what was going on but when we got to the office to pick up the car, they were not busy but were ignoring the calls coming in. Dropping the car off was not difficult and was problem free as they are open 24/7 and we dropped the car off at 9pm 2 days later). Thank goodness for the concierge's advice on the restaurants, or we would have been eating at a very loud, mostly teenage hang out, which is not what we wanted, but our sons did...they had a blast at Lupi's. They directed my husband and I to Platos and Don Jose, both of which were superb (try the coconut sangria at Platos but be aware that it is a lot stronger than what it tastes!!). Didn't really care for the mofondas there, as they seemed a bit bland. However, the meal specials at Don Jose were excellent (especially their red snapper and baked chicken and the wine that was suggested with it), and their take out does a booming business with the locals. Looks low key, but actually wonderful. Avoid Mi Casita...bland, slow service, and rude people. My kids loved the beach, but I was very content to lounge by the pool and read. The trees and shrubs in the pool area were beautiful and I felt like I was on my own private oasis. The boys liked being able to get everything they needed on the beach instead of having to drag towels and chairs down the block. And loved being able to buy a beer at the beachside bar whenever they wanted to. All in all, this hotel was exactly what we wanted for 2 teenagers who turned 18 last week, and 2 older adults....something for everyone. My biggest complaint had to do with the pillows. We had 4 smaller than average pillows for a king size bed and they missed the mark big time with those. We ended up going to a Walmart we saw on one of our trips and buying regular king-sized pillows, and had to carry them on the plane home, which really wasn't a big deal to the airlines, but a little embarrassing for us. They really should have bigger pillows for the king-sized beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We decided to take a taxi to Old San Juan for the $19 even though the reviews say to take the bus. We found out the bus ride was 50 minutes long, and for $13 more we were in Old San Juan in 10 minutes. We had a wonderful taxi driver who ended up being our very own private tour guide and gave us wonderful tips on how to get around and what to see first. He refused a $20 tip even though he took us through The Capital and explained everything, pointed out all the highlights of Old San Juan, and spent at least an additional hour with us. He said he wanted every visitor to love the area as much as he did. Then he dropped us off at the corner of Plaza Colon and directed us to some of the best restaurants in the area. Have the paella at El Siglo XX...it is enough for 4 people, not just 2, and the seasoning was perfect. Having the black bean soup first was great, but ask for extra sour cream and cheese, as it only comes with diced onions and was slightly bland without the rest of the stuff. For the 4 of us, the price was only $55, and that was with beer and wine all around twice! The free trolleys are an easy way to get around, but pay attention to the time, because wherever you are when the time to quit rolls around is where they stop and you walk from there. They literally stop on the side of the road, even when there is no trolley stop. We were just south of the fort, in a questionable area with run down buildings, and had to walk all the back into town to catch a taxi...not fun. If traveling to the southwest corner of the island, save yourself a huge headache and take 52 to Ponce and then travel west. Going down 22 to 2 from the northwest corner of the island along the west coast took 4+ hours because it is red light after red light after red light. Not the greatest scenery either, whereas 52 heads straight through the mountains and then then 2 continues west of Ponce along the coast up to Cabo Rojo. Wish we had known that the first time we went, as we wasted half a day traveling through congested areas that looked like streets at home with signs in Spanish, and lots of stop and go traffic. If you have the time and the backbone, try 143 from the west coast to the east coast. It is hair-raising but beautiful. We lasted about 6 hours then jumped back on 52. The locals drive it like they are on a suicide run, but the scenery is breath-taking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tony on the island
Business
warrensburg,mo
Jun 3, 2013

good hotel

this was a great place to go for the money great services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

every hotel in walking distance and they share guests

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
evebrig
Business
new york city, ny
Jun 2, 2013

great value fantastic location.

I have stayed in several hotels in isla Verde. This by far is the best for your money, comfort,location. Great breakfast buffet. Nice two hour happy hour. Loved the pool lots of chairs, towels, pool floats. They even have a snack bar, very convenient. Hotel has nice laundry room, and the rooms are very big. I had a one bedroom suite. Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to metropol excellent octopus salad. Can't stop thinking about it. Also u may want to try out mi casita restaurant. Good food great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Escrima
Business
Ventura County, California
May 18, 2013

Breakfast

Overall the experience was more than satisfactory. The staff seemed to really value the presence of guests and went out of their way to respond to requests for assistance or service. The only recommendation that I would make is that for breakfast there are things that could be done to greatly improve the quality of the food served without increasing much, if any, cost to the hotel. The potatoes need to be cooked in a different manner that does not result in someting that tastes like cardboard w/o any seasoning. It looks as if they are deep frying the potatoes right our of the frozen bag or something. They are hard to chew and are not seasoned at all. The sausage is cooked and allowed to soak in their own grease and are served dripping in grease. The bacon is overcooked and also served dripping in grease. These observations were made after 8 days at the hotel. 99% of customers will not say anything because they somehow believe the breakfast are being "gifted" to the guests. I am a retired administrator over a Customer Service Academy from a college in California. Other than this particularistic issue (breakfast), given the hotel definitely lives up to its 3-star rating which I would put closer to 4 if you factor in the overall treatment of guests. I would return to this hotel in the future. Also, I am Mexican-American. I stood in the omellett line for 15 minutes only to find out that in Pueto Rico "tortillas" (they had a sign) means omellet, not the flat corn/flour items are used for such things as tacos in the southwest. I read while in PR that Mexico and PR will soon start expanding their tourist trade betwee the two countries. Signage is important to Mexicans. Just an fyi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We organized a trip to the rain forest. People who plan to do this need to know that the main walking trail is made up mostly of narrow cement stair casing fro mthe top of the third entrance to the bottom of the Big Tree rendezvous point. If you are not in good orthapedic condition, you should restrict your visit to the rainforest park or suffer a lot of aches and pains the following day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kearay
Business
Texas
May 11, 2013

Great family vacation place

Great experience! Only thing was the beds were not comfortable. But overall felt very happy with this hotel choice and would choose to stay there again. Best was the value for your money. Great complimentary buffets breakfast and cool free happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luismendez25
Business
Orlando Fl
May 3, 2013

Awesome

I had a great experience. I was there on business and did a job at the hotel and the staff was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gasman2013
Business
Iowa city, IA
May 3, 2013

A good location for a family holiday

It is a nice hotel but not special. A great location with many nearby local restaurants serving Puerto Rican dishes, also just a few minutes walk to the Isla Verde beach. The complimentary breakfast is good with good variety . On the negative side the hotel can be noisy especially at night time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Isla Verde beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Naima C.
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 23, 2013

Good overnight stay

My overnight stay at the hotel was very good -- nice pool, very good complimentary breakfast and very close to the airport. Because it was 3 of us, I requested additional face towels, soap and shampoos when we arrived with the hope that it would be delivered while we were at the pool but it didn't come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alwayssomewhere
Business
Murfreesboro, tn
Apr 9, 2013

Perfect Place

This was a very nice place to stay. The location was great and the place was beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also wonderful. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top