$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

3 stars
8000 Tartak Street, CAROLINA, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
239 reviews
ladies retreat

Hotel and location excellent. Staff very helpful, professional in every aspect. Rooms recently... See full review

  • gertdarl
  • Dec 9, 2014
Great

This hotel was great. It was clean and had friendly staff. There is a free made to order breakfast... See full review

  • Basketball hoops traveler
  • Nov 25, 2014
With a relaxing interior of wood furnishings, striking white tones and contemporary elements, guests are warmly welcomed to the Embassy Suites in San Juan. The luxurious outdoor pool is a stunning complement to the nearby Isla Verde Beach, and its design showcases a flowing waterfall among eye-catching foliage. Adventurous visitors can take in the casino that features popular games, including slots and blackjack. After a long day of relaxing, guests can dine at one of the four on-sites restaurants and bars, including the Outback Steakhouse for some juicy ribs.
Key facts
  • Outdoor pool
  • Video arcade
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • 4 restaurants and bars: Coqui Pool Bar, El Patio Latin Bar Cafe, La Placita and Outback Steakhouse
  • Concierge desk
  • Casino
  • Room service
Neighborhood
Isla Verde Beach is the main draw for this area, with its lush, sandy coastline; and it's only a short 10 to 15 minute walk away. Shoppers can spend the day at Plaza Las Americas or Plaza Carolina, which are located several miles from the suites. Guests who want to experience a little culture can visit historic Old San Juan, with its rustic restaurants, boutiques and galleries, as well as the Puerto Rico Art Museum.  For the adventurous, there are plenty of watersports to try out or revisit.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge before arriving to arrange a full itinerary of activities, including reservations for watersports and travel to other areas.

Cooked-to-order breakfast is available for suite guests at no additional charge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mari39
Business
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Aug 6, 2013

Birthday weekend!

We had a good time during our stay! The kids enjoyed the pool and the game room. The casino is good but the hotel needs more nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RStrongman
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 28, 2013

Great value

Excellent staff, excellent service, great location. This hotel was very close to the airport which was very convient.......with absolutely no airport noise. You must get a early start for the complimentary breakfast , 7:00AM in order to avoid long lines. The suite I had was nicely laid out and well equipped, but was showing some wear and tear and could use some upgrades. I enjoyed my stay at the Embassy Suites, I would stay there again and I would recommend it for others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The bar and restaurant in the hotels lobby provided quality service and food at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth G.
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jul 1, 2013

Wonderful stay

This was an ideal place for us to spend our vacation. The facility was beautiful. We especially enjoyed having a separate, private sleeping area which accommodated personal preferences for resting. The happy hour was a nice perk and the breakfast was delicious each morning. However, the room rates are quite high and the 16% fee is excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Barrie
Business
Cedar Hill, Texas
Jun 30, 2013

Great getaway

The hotel staff, valet, housekeeping were all very accomodating. Breakfast was rather spread out requiring one to get their hot breakfast then going to another area for milk, then another area for bread that required toasting, then another area for knives, forks, and spoons, another area for desserts finally by the time you sit down your hot breakfast is no longer hot. The breakfast cook overcooked the omeletts and fried eggs. Breakfast needs considerable improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car. Being able to go anywhere that interest you is a big plus. In a days time cheaper than a cab. Maps and/or directions are readily available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F.T.T
Business
San Juan
Jun 24, 2013

Couples Trip

Our stay at the hotel was exceptional. The staff was great room was clean.The hotel was one block from the beach. The managers reception from 5:30-7:30pm was probably the best perk of the hotel. The only issue was that we were charged an additional $20 per night for hotel and suite tax, which costed an extra $100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Ricketts
Business
San Juan isla verde puerto rico
Jun 13, 2013

One word AMAZING!!!!!

The hotel and staff was great!!!! The pool is amazing ,they provide free breakfast buffet from 630-930 am and happy hour 530-730 FREE drinks! The restaurants are so good and nearby shops are close by.. And the beach is two blocks away which is also great.. The king suite was perfect and comfy which had a living room microwave etc and house keeping made sure they kept my room clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Week In PR
Business
Colfax, Iowa
Jun 12, 2013

Fun Hotel

Hotel had everthing you would need for a short stay! Enjoyed the live music and free hot breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CJ with Fam
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Jun 10, 2013

1ST VISIT TO SAN JUAN..PR

Upon checking into the hotel was nice. Breakfast need change up daily. Being clean is important. Pool need re tile in certain area..can be come a safety issue later. I will return. Thanks a Bunch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving the island x 3
Business
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Jun 8, 2013

Wonderful stay for our needs

We were there for almost an entire week, and had plenty of time to see the sights and still have time for relaxation. We had a 2BR 2 BA suite which is located off the elevator side down a small hallway. Plenty of room when traveling with two teenage boys who could not agree on what TV show or movie to watch at night in their bedroom...one just pulled out the couch and watched his movie while the other watched the game in the bedroom. My husband and I like to read before we go to bed, so the separation was great. Although there were high school proms every night we were there, we never had a problem with any noise or commotion, but we were on a higher floor (7th). The breakfast buffet was ok, but the omelet line was the place to be. Even though it seems long, it goes very quickly, and they were cooked to perfection. The reception in the evening is the same way. The lines seem long, but the bartenders are superb and mix ANY drink you want free. And you get two of them at one time. I was a little disappointed to see that not very many people tipped the bartenders, but they certainly deserved to be tipped for every drink. Where else can you get 2 strong rum punches (or vodka martinis for my husband) for a couple of bucks? The nachos and warm spicy salsa and seasoned sour cream were awesome. But the best of this hotel is the concierge desk. When our rental car agency was over 30 minutes late picking us up, the woman behind the desk called and got immediate action. She said that was the third day in a row that Charlie's Rental Car had failed to pick their customers up on time and she was not going to recommend them any longer until they explained themselves. We had been calling for at least 30 minutes and nobody answered the phone, and then she called 3-4 times before she finally called another office to see what the problem was. (Not sure what was going on but when we got to the office to pick up the car, they were not busy but were ignoring the calls coming in. Dropping the car off was not difficult and was problem free as they are open 24/7 and we dropped the car off at 9pm 2 days later). Thank goodness for the concierge's advice on the restaurants, or we would have been eating at a very loud, mostly teenage hang out, which is not what we wanted, but our sons did...they had a blast at Lupi's. They directed my husband and I to Platos and Don Jose, both of which were superb (try the coconut sangria at Platos but be aware that it is a lot stronger than what it tastes!!). Didn't really care for the mofondas there, as they seemed a bit bland. However, the meal specials at Don Jose were excellent (especially their red snapper and baked chicken and the wine that was suggested with it), and their take out does a booming business with the locals. Looks low key, but actually wonderful. Avoid Mi Casita...bland, slow service, and rude people. My kids loved the beach, but I was very content to lounge by the pool and read. The trees and shrubs in the pool area were beautiful and I felt like I was on my own private oasis. The boys liked being able to get everything they needed on the beach instead of having to drag towels and chairs down the block. And loved being able to buy a beer at the beachside bar whenever they wanted to. All in all, this hotel was exactly what we wanted for 2 teenagers who turned 18 last week, and 2 older adults....something for everyone. My biggest complaint had to do with the pillows. We had 4 smaller than average pillows for a king size bed and they missed the mark big time with those. We ended up going to a Walmart we saw on one of our trips and buying regular king-sized pillows, and had to carry them on the plane home, which really wasn't a big deal to the airlines, but a little embarrassing for us. They really should have bigger pillows for the king-sized beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We decided to take a taxi to Old San Juan for the $19 even though the reviews say to take the bus. We found out the bus ride was 50 minutes long, and for $13 more we were in Old San Juan in 10 minutes. We had a wonderful taxi driver who ended up being our very own private tour guide and gave us wonderful tips on how to get around and what to see first. He refused a $20 tip even though he took us through The Capital and explained everything, pointed out all the highlights of Old San Juan, and spent at least an additional hour with us. He said he wanted every visitor to love the area as much as he did. Then he dropped us off at the corner of Plaza Colon and directed us to some of the best restaurants in the area. Have the paella at El Siglo XX...it is enough for 4 people, not just 2, and the seasoning was perfect. Having the black bean soup first was great, but ask for extra sour cream and cheese, as it only comes with diced onions and was slightly bland without the rest of the stuff. For the 4 of us, the price was only $55, and that was with beer and wine all around twice! The free trolleys are an easy way to get around, but pay attention to the time, because wherever you are when the time to quit rolls around is where they stop and you walk from there. They literally stop on the side of the road, even when there is no trolley stop. We were just south of the fort, in a questionable area with run down buildings, and had to walk all the back into town to catch a taxi...not fun. If traveling to the southwest corner of the island, save yourself a huge headache and take 52 to Ponce and then travel west. Going down 22 to 2 from the northwest corner of the island along the west coast took 4+ hours because it is red light after red light after red light. Not the greatest scenery either, whereas 52 heads straight through the mountains and then then 2 continues west of Ponce along the coast up to Cabo Rojo. Wish we had known that the first time we went, as we wasted half a day traveling through congested areas that looked like streets at home with signs in Spanish, and lots of stop and go traffic. If you have the time and the backbone, try 143 from the west coast to the east coast. It is hair-raising but beautiful. We lasted about 6 hours then jumped back on 52. The locals drive it like they are on a suicide run, but the scenery is breath-taking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tony on the island
Business
warrensburg,mo
Jun 3, 2013

good hotel

this was a great place to go for the money great services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

every hotel in walking distance and they share guests

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top