$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

3 stars
8000 Tartak Street, CAROLINA, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
234 reviews
QUICK 4 DAY FAMILY GETAWAY. 2 ROOMS/4 PEOPLE

WE/I LOVED THIS HOTEL FOR THE GREAT QUALITY & GREAT DEALS FOR THE PRICE. I BOOKED THIS AS A PACKAGE... See full review

  • FASTMARIO
  • Nov 20, 2014
It's a great family gateway.

It's our second stay at this hotel. We're very please with it. Nice breakfast, great dinner,... See full review

  • John31
  • Nov 15, 2014
With a relaxing interior of wood furnishings, striking white tones and contemporary elements, guests are warmly welcomed to the Embassy Suites in San Juan. The luxurious outdoor pool is a stunning complement to the nearby Isla Verde Beach, and its design showcases a flowing waterfall among eye-catching foliage. Adventurous visitors can take in the casino that features popular games, including slots and blackjack. After a long day of relaxing, guests can dine at one of the four on-sites restaurants and bars, including the Outback Steakhouse for some juicy ribs.
Key facts
  • Outdoor pool
  • Video arcade
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • 4 restaurants and bars: Coqui Pool Bar, El Patio Latin Bar Cafe, La Placita and Outback Steakhouse
  • Concierge desk
  • Casino
  • Room service
Neighborhood
Isla Verde Beach is the main draw for this area, with its lush, sandy coastline; and it's only a short 10 to 15 minute walk away. Shoppers can spend the day at Plaza Las Americas or Plaza Carolina, which are located several miles from the suites. Guests who want to experience a little culture can visit historic Old San Juan, with its rustic restaurants, boutiques and galleries, as well as the Puerto Rico Art Museum.  For the adventurous, there are plenty of watersports to try out or revisit.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge before arriving to arrange a full itinerary of activities, including reservations for watersports and travel to other areas.

Cooked-to-order breakfast is available for suite guests at no additional charge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4401 -66.023
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 0.50, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank Giafrido
Business
New York, NY
Jul 5, 2009

Very Good

This was the second time I stayed there and it was as great as the first time. Staff was very nice and helpful. Casino was very small with only 3card poker, roulette and blackjack table, but there are other casinos that were close by. Beach is only two blocks away and it takes no more than 4 minutes to get to it. Overall, I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co
Jun 22, 2009

Carolina 6/14/09

we dined in the hotel restaurant and the free breakfast that was provided to all guest. we also enjoyed the evening social hour. the restauraurant that was located in the hotel wwas also convenient, even though there are lots of restaurants in the area close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sweet n sour
Business
boston,ma
Jun 21, 2009

Nice place for a weekend stay

Pros: Comfortable rooms, great pool, only a short walk to the beach, beach chairs available at front desk, friendly staff, nice lobby area, happy hour, spa services. Cons: Cold complimentary breakfast(even if you arrive early), no vents in bathroom, pina coladas were served in a limited quantity(so arrive early for happy hour because they run out very quickly.), expensive taxis, Outback restaurant horrible service and not so good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I recommend to definitely rent a car if you plan on staying in Puerto Rico. Taxis are expensive. There is a bus you can take that goes to Old San Juan for .75 cents, close to the hotel. There is a super market(24hr called "pueblo") right next to the hotel(walking distance) where you can buy groceries and bring back to hotel. You can also buy spanish food for a reasonable price. Make sure you have a plan on what things you want to see or do before coming to puerto rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newyork NY
Jun 19, 2009

Good Location

Very good Hotel Clean Nice Swimming Pooling close to everthing.The only bad thing is when u arrive early they do not give u a room even if its available.Would still recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach Shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 19, 2009

Beautiful Getaway

Hotel was just walking distance to the beach, it was actually close to everything even the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The place is called Pinones alot of different places to choose from but the food is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Missing San Juan!!
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jun 18, 2009

I HAVE ALL THE DETAILS NO ONE ELSE SAYS!

We just returned from our vacation in San Juan!! And it was amazing!!! We had soo much fun!! When we got to the airport, we got a taxi to the hotel which cost $12. We got to the hotel and were completely surprised at how amazing it was!! The rooms are huge, beds are comfortable, staff are wonderful... and the overall hotel was just superb!! Check in is very easy! The hotel has a huge lobby with fountains and plants all over! It's great! There's an Outback Steakhouse, a pizza place and the hotel's restaurant, which has a free breakfast every morning (includes eggs, hash browns, french toast, pancakes, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, etc.) They also have a free happy hour every night, from 5:30pm- 7:30pm. You can order anything they have the stuff to make which believe me is a lot!! There is also a casino, which has mostly computerized slots, as well as some card games. The pool is great too, its big with plenty of chairs and tables, as well as a pool bar and they even have a hot tub! The hotel is only two blocks from the beach which is great! You can rent chairs for $4 and umbrellas are $10, if you are on vacation they are so worth it! There is a shopping center a block from the hotel which has BK, Ponderosa, and some other restaurants and shops. Mi Casita, which is in that shopping center, is a great place to get dinner!! They are a little pricey but they have amazing Chicken Stuffed Mofongo!! You can get a half pitcher of Sangria for $12 which is enough for 6-8 glasses!! Very worth it if you like Sangria! Their margaritas and daiquiris are great too! The other direction from that shopping center there is another one that has Pizza Hut, Wendy's and Taco Bell. If you plan on going to Old San Juan, take the local bus, it costs 75 cents per person each way compared to a $28 taxi ride each way! There is a bus stop in front of the shopping center with Ponderosa. Take any bus, you can ask the driver to make sure he's going to Old San Juan. In Old San Juan, there is a free trolley that you can take around the city. El Morro is a great place to see and take pictures! There are also a lot of little stands that sell stuff for good prices! Near the ship ports there is a tourism center that you can find all the info you need! Tijuana's is a restaurant right across from the tourism place and they have great food! Once again, a little pricy but it's great! Be sure to ask the prices of the alcoholic drinks before ordering, we spent $11 on one margarita!! There are a lot of people who speak and understand English, so language isn't a problem. Depending on where you go, you'll find less people that speak English though. F.Y.I. the legal drinking age is 18, the currency is the American dollar, they are on eastern standard time, and you don't need a passport when traveling from the U.S., only a picture i.d. If you forget anything, there are Walgreens all over the place!! Also there is a K-Mart within a 10 min. drive, you can catch the bus there if needed, just ask for info at the front desk at the hotel! The hotel is in a great area, it is close to a bunch of other hotels as well as tons of shops. If you need it, the hotel will extend your check-out time as long as they can and if you have a later flight, the hotel will store you bags so you can go out and do stuff without having to worry about carrying them with you! I can't stress enough how great this stay was!!! I would definitely return!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the local bus!!! For only 75 cents it will take you all over! If you plan on renting a car... be warned... the drivers there are horrible!! They swerve in and out of traffic, they cut you off, run stop signs and red lights!! Its a mess so be careful!! This hotel is within walking distance of almost everything you need and if not, take a bus!! Also if you want to drink but not break the bank, there is a mini market/liquor store less than a block from the hotel, just ask the valet drivers or the front desk people for directions!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Isla Verde
Jun 17, 2009

My vacation

Went for my daughters graduation. Enjoyed the entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rheuma9
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 7, 2009

great for family fun

great location easy to launch into the island many children running around all the time very courteous staff great vallet the casino is a side attraction but the slots stay busy many trims out of place selection of cable channels average convenient outback restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 3, 2009

Could not have been at a better hotel!

This was my first trip to PR and I tried to book tours prior to my arrival, but they were all booked. When I arrived to the hotel they gave me a list of local companies and I found that the best one was Ruperts! Totally worth every penny! Eventhough I usually stay at Marriot, I have recently been staying at Embassy Suite b/c of price...and I now look for Embassy when booking a hotel. I have never had anything less then the best from them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

For tourist attractions use the list that the hotel has from the local companies. They offer cheaper prices and better experience. If you can try to book with Ruperts tours!!!!!Excellent staff at Ruperts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
It's my wedding Anniversary
Business
Starkville MS
Jun 1, 2009

Embassy Suites San Juan / Tartak St

Overall, Embassy Suites located on Tartak St is a great value. Friendly staff, free buffet style breakfast, clean rooms et a great swimming pool makes it a ideal lodging location. However, food is average et expect long buffet lines. In regards to location, one must understand popular locations in San Juan. Picture a football field, one endzone being Condado et the other endzone being Carolina. The yards between the two endzones is the Isle Verde beachfront area. The Embassy Suites would be the stands(nosebleed section)in regard to the beachfront area. Most other popular hotels and casinos are located in this area. Old San Juan, the popular shopping(Marshall,Burberry,Polo,Hilfilger outlets)district is 10 mins away by taxi et 30-75 mins by bus. Taxi cost $19 one way et 75 cents by bus. When renting a car, parking cost $20/night at hotel. However, there are not many traffic lights in San Juan et drivers often overtake others that have the right away. If you are prone to have episodes of road rage, PLEASE DO NOT DRIVE IN SAN JUAN PUERTO RICO. Also, many restaurants(fast food included) parking lots require a fee of $3 or $4 for first hr,$7 for second hr et so on. Most employees at the Embassy speak spanish. However, front desk clerks speak english. The area surrounding the hotel appeared to be safe, as evident by other visitors walking to there desire location. However, it was hot. The Embassy Suite is only a couple of minutes from the airport. However, cabs charge a flat rate for certain zones, the airport falls into zone 1($10-$12). In my opinion, San Juan is not the ideal location for a romantic getaway but great for hiking et water sports.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top