$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

4 stars
Praca da Batalha 116, PORTO, 4049-028
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
15 reviews
Recommended!

Very nice hotel, very well located. everything is 8/10! See full review

  • Roger forever
  • May 13, 2013
Nice hotel

Great location. Easy walk to most parts of Porto. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent. We... See full review

  • Unclephillee
  • Sep 2, 2012
The 4-star Hotel Mercure Porto Centro is located in the heart of Porto, making it easy to see the city on foot and discover all the places that made the "undefeated city" a UNESCO World Heritage site: the Ribeira district, the Torre dos Clérigos bell tower and the famous Majestic Café. Enjoy optimum comfort in one of the 145 rooms and first-rate services, including free WIFI Internet access, restaurant and paying parking, not to mention the 4 fully equipped meeting rooms.

Mercure Porto Centro Hotel Rooms

1 Db bed Std
Standard Room with 1 double bed. Contemporary style room with a double bed, functional bathroom and desk. Equipped with air conditioning, cable and satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe and hairdryer. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge.
1 Sg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 single bed. Contemporary style room with a single bed, functional bathroom and desk. Equipped with air conditioning, cable and satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe and hairdryer. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge.
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with 2 single beds. Contemporary style room with twin beds, functional bathroom and desk. Equipped with air conditioning, cable and satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe and hairdryer. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge.
1 Db bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 double bed. Room with views of the historic city center. Equipped with double bed, bathroom, desk, minibar, hairdryer, telephone and free WIFI. For extra comfort, guests are provided with tea and coffee making facilities, upgraded a
2 Sg beds + Sofa Std
Standard Room with twin beds and 1 sofa. Contemporary room with twin beds and a sofa, functional bathroom and desk. Equipped with air conditioning, cable and satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe and hairdryer. WIFI Internet access is available free of
Suite 1 Kg bed + Sofa Sup
Privilege Triple Room with one king-size bed an d one additional bed. Contemporary Triple Room with double bed, lounge and bathroom. Extra comforts include tea and coffee making facilities, upgraded amenities, bathrobe and a range of drinks from the min

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Miniature golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Bath tub
Bidet
Trouser press

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Porto Centro Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.1452 -8.6071
Nearby airports
OPO, (OPO), 17.00, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • São Bento Railway Station: 0.4 mi
  • Funicular dos Guindais: 0.4 mi
  • Ponte Dona Maria: 0.5 mi
  • Igreja do Carmo: 0.7 mi
  • Palácio da Bolsa: 0.8 mi
  • Campanhã station: 1 mi
  • Jardins do Palacio de Cristal: 1.2 mi
  • Casa da Música: 1.6 mi
  • Estádio do Dragão: 1.7 mi
  • Kadoorie Synagogue: 2 mi
  • Museu Serralves: 2.9 mi
  • Foz do Douro: 3.3 mi
  • Douro River: 3.3 mi
  • Parque da Cidade do Porto: 4.2 mi
  • Sea Life Porto: 4.6 mi

Dining

TRIBUNA
The "Tribuna" restaurant serves you the best of traditional Portuguese cuisine in a distinctive and welcoming atmosphere, offering you wonderful views over the old city.
MOLIERE
With its theatrical theme, it supplies the comfort you need for your relaxation time and/or professional meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doctora33
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 16, 2014

Not customer friendly, not a 4 star hotel

I had several issues with this hotel. The first when I checked in I took a shower and went to take a nap. I woke up to a stranger in my room. When i asked the manager who it was he said it was the housekeeper checking the minibar. I said I should have been warned that this was going to happen. I was told to put a do not disturb sign on the door which I did the next day. Yes, even with the sign on the door she entered again. The air conditioning also did not work. The room was dismal at best. Would not recommend anyone to stay here especially at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger forever
Philadelphia, PA
May 13, 2013

Recommended!

Very nice hotel, very well located. everything is 8/10!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irlandese
Business
Dublin
Dec 13, 2012

Could do better in Porto

Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is fine. Rooms are somewhat tired looking. Square is a little seedy with some people down on their luck around the hotel but once you relax into it the location is really good. close to major shopping street and only a 10 minute walk down to the river. If you are looking for high end this is not for you but if you are in Porto for 24 hours on a medium range budget you cant go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the tram to get around!

Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Unclephillee
USA
Sep 2, 2012

Nice hotel

Great location. Easy walk to most parts of Porto. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent. We were tired after our journey from the US so decided just to eat at the hotel. The food was really very good and with excellent service. We had three courses plus extras for 25 euro each. One of the. One of the nicest meals we had. Bed was firm. Room is small but well appointed. Staff spoke English and were helpful. Good city view from restaurant. Bar and lounge area nicely decorated in modern style. No issues with the free internet, worked well. Overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Lovely Portuguese food at the hotel. Good wine list too.

Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SF Michael
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Nice, comfortable central hotel

Stayed here for three days/nights with my father while visiting the port houses of Porto and elsewhere in the area. Very comfortable and quiet rooms, big shower and bath, great friendly staff and a nice central location. Some walking to get to the restaurants and river ... but walking around old cities is always fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma on business
Business
Texas
Jul 29, 2010

Up to expectations

Stayed for two nights with my family. Booked a second room for daughter and grandson. Very convenient location. Clean, quiet and very attentive staff. We got a crib within few minutes after arrival. Bathrooms appeared to be renovated and they were very clean. Hotel was recommended and surely it met my expectations. Will come back again on future visit to Porto. Took metro from the airport, exited at Bulhao and walked 2-3 blocks to the hotel late at night. We ate outside, so cannot comment on bar/restaurant. Price is fine for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most stores close on Sunday and also after lunch during weekends.Make an effort to visit D'ouro River for 10 euros a person. Sightseen is gorgeous! and trip last for about an hour. Try vinho verde and Ruby red Porto wine.

Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma on business
Business
Texas
Jul 29, 2010

Up to expectations

Stayed for two nights with my family. Booked a second room for daughter and grandson. Very convenient location. Clean, quiet and very attentive staff. We got a crib within few minutes after arrival. Bathrooms appeared to be renovated and they were very clean. Hotel was recommended and surely it met my expectations. Will come back again on future visit to Porto. Took metro from the airport, exited at Bulhao and walked 2-3 blocks to the hotel late at night. We ate outside, so cannot comment on bar/restaurant. Price is fine for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most stores close on Sunday and also after lunch during weekends.Make an effort to visit D'ouro River for 10 euros a person. Sightseen is gorgeous! and trip last for about an hour. Try vinho verde and Ruby red Porto wine.

Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 13, 2009

Outstanding location and good service

Very nice hotel in a wonderful location, provides all the necessities in a good package with good value. The staff has been very courtous and helpful in everything we asked. I would recommend this hotel for any one visiting Porto business or historic district. Breakfast buffet was outstanding, and the free wireless internet access worked flawlessly and easily with great speed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the chance to experience lunch, tea, or Coffee at the historic "Majestique Cafe"

Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 13, 2009

Outstanding location and good service

Very nice hotel in a wonderful location, provides all the necessities in a good package with good value. The staff has been very courtous and helpful in everything we asked. I would recommend this hotel for any one visiting Porto business or historic district. Breakfast buffet was outstanding, and the free wireless internet access worked flawlessly and easily with great speed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the chance to experience lunch, tea, or Coffee at the historic "Majestique Cafe"

Review of Mercure Porto Centro Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina USA
Aug 30, 2009

nice stay in Porto

Location is great. Just a short walk to many tourist and photo sites. Cafe 'Majestic' is a 5-6 minute walk. 1 Block from the 'Funicular'. Parking is difficult and confusing. Price for the room per night is average. Hotel staff was nice and helpful. The hotel overall is very clean. I was impressed by the cleanliness of lobby and also my room was very clean. One problem - I had to get a new magnetic card for my room on 3 occasions. Just a minor problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a square located 3 blocks downhill from hotle that offers a wide range of dinning options plus 'Cafe Majestic' also located on tourist map is just a short walk as well.

Back to menu Return to top