$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

4 stars
Rua Da Betesga, 3 - Rossio, Lisbon, 1100-090
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
32 reviews
Perfect Stay in Lisbon

My wife & I stayed at this hotel based on recommendations from a travel website and were very, very... See full review

  • wiznent
  • May 7, 2014
Great City Experience

The location and staff were superb. Our room was on Rua Augusta, the main pedestrian street in... See full review

  • da Gama
  • May 5, 2014
Creative, boutique hotel combines style and innovation with location
The Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon overlooking Rossio Plaza combines Portuguese tradition with innovative design. This 55-room boutique hotel boasts the work of renowned architects, designers, decorators and artists that spent months melding the principles of Zen, Urban, Tribu and Pop culture into a succinct, successful property. From the outside, the lit lilac façade draws guests in while the interior décor inspires them to learn more. The hotel also features Naoki restaurant (international and national cuisine) and the Rossio Wine Bar.
Highlights
  • Innovative, unique design
  • Naoki restaurant and wine bar on site
  • Bathrobe and slippers
Rooms
Each floor at the Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon is different and reflects one of four aesthetics: Zen, Urban, Tribu or Pop. A white bedspread, the only constant in the controlled chaos, creates a clean focal point for the rest of the furnishings. Depending on the theme, bright colors, loud artwork, refined lines or funky prints are commonplace. Guests choose among S, M, L or XL rooms. All rooms include twin or queen beds, sound proof windows, hair dryer, telephone, mini-bar, wireless Internet connection, LCD TV, bathrobe, slippers and in-room climate control. Amenities in the bathrooms are by Rituals. The XL rooms feature Jacuzzi tub and views of Rossio Square and/or Rua Augusta.
Features
The Naoki restaurant serves international and national cuisines and is a great option when guests want to stay close to home. Afterward, the wine bar provides a long list of specialty wines to taste and try. When guests want to leave, check in with the concierge about the best places to visit. The hotel can rent a car, reserve a spot at one of Lisbon’s hottest restaurants or simply provide you with directions.
Transportation
  • Lisbon International Airport (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Attractions
  • Bairro Alto (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Alfama (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
Business­
  • Internet access is available (fees apply)

Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon Rooms

Superior Square View
Double standard room, aprox. 18 square meters, twin or queen beds, sound-proof windows, hairdryer, telephone with direct line, mini-bar, safe, wireless connection, LCD television with satelite and cable connections,bathrobe, slippers, coffee machine and bottle of water on arrival day. Independent air conditioning and heating. Amenities by Rituals. Possible in 4 different concepts, POP, ZEN, TRIBU and URBAN.
Suite Rossio Square View
Double standard room, aprox. 22 square meters, twin or queen beds, sound-proof windows, hairdryer, telephone with direct line, mini-bar, safe, wireless connection, LCD television with satellite and cable connections, bathrobe, slippers, coffee machine, complimentary bottle of water on arrival day, whirlpool bathtub, view towards Rossio Square and/or Rua Augusta. Independent air conditioning and heating. Amenities by Rituals. Possible in 3 different concepts, POP, ZEN and TRIBU.
Standard Interior View
Double standard room, aprox. 15 square meters, twin or queen beds, sound-proof windows, hairdryer, telephone with direct line, mini-bar, safe, wireless connection, LCD television with satelite and cable connections,bathrobe, slippers, interior view towards a work of art. Independent air conditioning and heating. Amenities by Rituals. Possible in 3 different concepts, POP, ZEN and TRIBU.
Standard Street View
Double standard room, aprox. 15 square meters, twin or queen beds, sound-proof windows, hairdryer, telephone with direct line, mini-bar, safe, wireless connection, LCD television with satelite and cable connections,bathrobe, slippers. Independent air conditioning and heating. Amenities by Rituals. Possible in 4 different concepts, POP, ZEN, TRIBU and URBAN.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.7132 -9.1384
Area served
Rossio Square, Baixa district. Lisbon city center
Nearby airports
7 Km Portela Airport Lisbon Portugal, transfers available on request (extra cost applies).
Area description
BEST LOCATION IN LISBON. From the historical structures of the ancient Internacional Hotel, clamming for innovation, sophistication and courage, it is born. The addition of the word Design and the daring use of the colour Lilac in its faade, on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered by this "boutique hotel"

Nearby points of interest

  • Praça do Comércio: 0.2 mi
  • Elevador da Glória: 0.5 mi
  • Lisbon Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Parque Eduardo VII: 1.3 mi
  • Universidade Nova de Lisboa: 1.6 mi
  • Museu Calouste Gulbenkian: 1.9 mi
  • Entrecampos: 2.2 mi
  • 25 de Abril Bridge: 2.8 mi
  • Estádio da Luz: 3.4 mi
  • Jerónimos Monastery: 4 mi
  • Lisbon Oceanarium: 4.2 mi
  • Padrão dos Descobrimentos: 4.2 mi
  • Oriente Railway Station: 4.4 mi
  • Gare do Oriente: 4.4 mi
  • Atlantic Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Praça do Comércio: 0.2 mi
  • Elevador da Glória: 0.5 mi
  • Lisbon Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Parque Eduardo VII: 1.3 mi
  • Universidade Nova de Lisboa: 1.6 mi
  • Museu Calouste Gulbenkian: 1.9 mi
  • Entrecampos: 2.2 mi
  • 25 de Abril Bridge: 2.8 mi
  • Estádio da Luz: 3.4 mi
  • Jerónimos Monastery: 4 mi
  • Lisbon Oceanarium: 4.2 mi
  • Padrão dos Descobrimentos: 4.2 mi
  • Oriente Railway Station: 4.4 mi
  • Gare do Oriente: 4.4 mi
  • Atlantic Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Vasco da Gama Bridge: 6.2 mi
  • Mafra National Palace: 18.8 mi

Dining

Bastardo restaurant
The Best spirits and wines with a view over Rossio Square, a unique experience.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room "Loft" for 35 peoples.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wiznent
New Orleans, LA
May 7, 2014

Perfect Stay in Lisbon

My wife & I stayed at this hotel based on recommendations from a travel website and were very, very pleased with our stay. The hotel has the perfect location - right in the central square and steps from the Rossio metro stop. Staff was very friendly and helped us with restaurants, sights, and taxis. The room was more than adequate. Small, but very clean with good A/C and hot water. Breakfast was standard European fare with the option to order hot eggs. We will absolutely stay at this hotel on return trips to Lisbon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have fresh seafood at O Ramiro!

Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
da Gama
Vero Beach, FL
May 5, 2014

Great City Experience

The location and staff were superb. Our room was on Rua Augusta, the main pedestrian street in downtown Lisboa with views of Rossio Square. We were able to see some of the Freedom Day and 1 May festivities from our small balcony. Plus, the staff is top-notch. Excellent value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ramiro Restaurant, a favorite of the locals, excellent seafood.

Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 02116
Boston, MA
Apr 18, 2014

Great location

A great location in a unique hotel. We stayed on the "Pop" floor, so it wouldn't have been my first choice aesthetically, pleasant nonetheless. Unbeatable location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid tourist restaurants on nearby street, and explore a bit more for true gems!

Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cosmopolitan
London, UK
Mar 15, 2014

Beautiful design. Central location. Friendly staff.

I absolutely loved the design of this hotel. It has such a relaxed, trendy atmosphere and the rooms and bathrooms were clean and spacious. Walls looked newly painted and I couldn't stop but admire the amazing interior decoration. I think they could have placed some semi transparent curtains in the rooms though as the windows faced opposite buildings so you didnt really have any privacy unless you closed the dark curtains which was a shame because it was so nice and sunny outside. My room was facing both squares though which was nice and it wasn't too noisy despite the busy main street. Staff were very friendly and helpful though service was slow at times. Waited a while for my suitcase to arrive even though I was happy to take it with me in the first place and room service didn't always take 10min. Room service dining was well presented and was ok but the choice is very limited unfortunately. I was also hoping to see more Portuguese options on the menu which would have been a nice touch. The salads were great though. The cocktails in the bar were very nice and served in quirky glasses. You can buy lots of food and snacks around the corner but I couldn't find a nearby supermarket. Rossio station and the ciity sightseeing tour bus are so close and there are shops for shopping too. This hotel is great and so conveniently located. It is also in a safe area which was important to me as I am a single female traveller. Good quality soap and shampoo provided, some slippers would have been nice. I would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cresencia
Toronto, Canada
Jan 13, 2014

Fantastic, Helpful, Clean

LOVED our stay at this hotel. All staff were very helpful and conscientious. Rooms were modern and very clean. Special shout-outs to Nuno (provided daily tips based what we wanted to do that day), Goncolo (picked us up from the airport and told us a ton of helpful info during the ride), Maggie (who designed a walking tour of Coimbra for us), Hassan (who somehow managed to buy/find some rope in the middle of the night and met us at 7:00 a.m. to tie our irregular-shaped baggage for us the day we departed). The location is central to many of the old neighbourhoods you'd want to explore, and is directly on one of downtown's most popular pedestrian roads (Rua Augusta). Subway, and tram stops are just steps away. Ditto for the bus terminal to take a day trip somewhere (Sintra, anyone?). Take the tram #28 to tour through the beautiful old neighbourhoods (i.e. Baixi, Chiado, Alfama, Bairro Alto). We fell in love with Portugal on this trip and will be back, and when we come back, we will most definitely return to this charming hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.P.H.
USA
Dec 20, 2013

Great Hotel

We had a wonderful stay in Lisbon. The location of the hotel in the city center was great, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The interior design is very interesting. The restaurants that Fabio recommended were all wonderful. We enjoyed great Fado singing in one of the restaurants. All staff members were all kind and friendly. The breakfast buffet had a very nice selection of great food. We appreciated the room service for breakfast because our departure flight was very early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MWilson
New Rochelle, NY
Nov 7, 2013

The Perfect Location

If you want a hotel that is in the heart of Lisbon's neighborhoods and restaurant scene, this is the place. It's an adorable boutique hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. One thing to note, if you want to take advantage of the hotel shuttle to the airport make your reservation early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fifi50
Westchester, New York
Nov 4, 2013

A Gem

We had a fantastic experience at this hotel that contributed to our overall great experience in Lisbon! Everyone at the front desk was incredibly helpful and friendly and they can't do enough for you and do it with a smile always! The location of this fabulous boutique hotel could not be any better which makes it worth the price. Hotel has an amazing philosophy/mission about ensuring guests are happy, and we were!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
50 somethings
Israel
Oct 4, 2013

Wonderful second honeymoon!

We just got back from Lisbon and stayed for six nights at the Internacional Hotel. We stayed in the cocoon room on the zen floor. This hotel is a very well thought out concept hotel, with exceptional, thoughtful staff. From the turn-down service in the evening, where we were treated to pastries and chocolate on our pillows, to the excellent suggestions for restaurants, every aspect was perfect. The hotel is located in the heart of the Rossio district, a short walk from all modes of transportation and tourist attractions, yet the double windows screened out all noise. We were happy to have taken the breakfast option and to start the day with a lovely, varied meal, with as much thought to presentation as to taste.Highly recommend this outstanding accomodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at the small restaurants on the side streets between Rossio and Commercial squares, where waiters try and hustle you in. The food is uninspiring and the price is comparable to decent restaurants. Ask the hotel staff to recommend a true dining experience.

Review of Internacional Design Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
demanding New Yorker
New York
Sep 3, 2013

Interesting Space

Great location in the centre of downtown. Small space used expertly and with style, Great staff, fantastic buffet breakfast, and cool views. The location does not allow a taxi or car to park in front - so call them and have them use their car to pick you up. Cheaper than a cab and better service. I have stayed here 2X.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top