$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

5 stars
Rua 1 de Dezembro 123, Lisbon, 1200-359
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
26 reviews
Fantastic family getaway

Staff were very nice, friendly and pay utmost attention to customers. This hotel centrally located... See full review

  • Valsun
  • Jul 7, 2014
can't go wrong

internet works ... great breakfast ... ******** says my review is too short See full review

  • williamf
  • Jun 17, 2014
One-of-a-kind iconic hotel renovated for comfort with an air of history

The Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon in Portugal provides guests is an iconic building in the heart of the city. Amenities abound, including a library with public computer terminal, fitness suite, massage services, a tea lounge (open November to May), and a smoker's lounge (the hotel is otherwise non-smoking). Free valet parking is also extended to guests.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Sophistication in a prime historic landmark in the center of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Attentive and personal service  
  • Situated in the absolute center of the city 
Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon Rooms

Rooms and suites at the Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon are soundproofed and smoke-free, a top quality mix of the traditional and contemporary. Wi-Fi is available, and guests have access to the hotel's fitness center.

Things To Do:
  • Marques de Pompal Square, Lisbon (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St Jorge Castle, Lisbon (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Lisbon International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon also booked these hotels.

Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon Rooms

Superior
Furnished in classic style. Soundproofed, with air conditioning, hair dryer, 26"LCD TV, Wi-Fi and cable internet connections, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar and digital safe.
Junior Suite
Furnished in classic style. Soundproofed, with air conditioning, hair dryer, 26"LCD TV, Wi-Fi and cable internet connections, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar and digital safe.
Standard
Furnished in classic style. Soundproofed, with air conditioning, hair dryer, 26"LCD TV, Wi-Fi and cable internet connections, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar and digital safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Praça do Comércio: 0.3 mi
  • Elevador da Glória: 0.4 mi
  • Lisbon Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Parque Eduardo VII: 1.1 mi
  • Universidade Nova de Lisboa: 1.5 mi
  • Museu Calouste Gulbenkian: 1.7 mi
  • Entrecampos: 2 mi
  • 25 de Abril Bridge: 2.7 mi
  • Estádio da Luz: 3.2 mi
  • Jerónimos Monastery: 3.9 mi
  • Padrão dos Descobrimentos: 4.1 mi
  • Lisbon Oceanarium: 4.2 mi
  • Oriente Railway Station: 4.4 mi
  • Gare do Oriente: 4.4 mi
  • Atlantic Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Praça do Comércio: 0.3 mi
  • Elevador da Glória: 0.4 mi
  • Lisbon Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Parque Eduardo VII: 1.1 mi
  • Universidade Nova de Lisboa: 1.5 mi
  • Museu Calouste Gulbenkian: 1.7 mi
  • Entrecampos: 2 mi
  • 25 de Abril Bridge: 2.7 mi
  • Estádio da Luz: 3.2 mi
  • Jerónimos Monastery: 3.9 mi
  • Padrão dos Descobrimentos: 4.1 mi
  • Lisbon Oceanarium: 4.2 mi
  • Oriente Railway Station: 4.4 mi
  • Gare do Oriente: 4.4 mi
  • Atlantic Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Vasco da Gama Bridge: 6.3 mi
  • Mafra National Palace: 18.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
5
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valsun
Business
Boston, USA
Jul 7, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

Staff were very nice, friendly and pay utmost attention to customers. This hotel centrally located and easy for commute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
williamf
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jun 17, 2014

can't go wrong

internet works ... great breakfast ... ******** says my review is too short

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks across the alley

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tkgriffi
Business
Chicago,il
Jun 14, 2014

Great value, great location!

We loved this hotel, could not beat the location and the staff was great. Very beautiful hotel. Only complaint was that the air conditioning did not work very well and the room was warm. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cstout
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 5, 2013

Wonderful on all counts!

This was an amazing hotel. Location is fantastic, likely the closest to the water, easy walk to everything worth seeing and doing in the city. On Halloween my daughter got a chocolate jack-o-lantern delivered to our room as a wonderful and thoughtful surprise. Beautiful historic hotel. Great staff. Wonderful breakfast. We had to leave early our last day and they brought us room service breakfast as we could not make the regular one--their idea, no charge. Wow...!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobo100
Business
New Jersey
Oct 23, 2013

5 star all the way

Excellent staff, rooms, breakfast buffet and location (right next to train station and metro/bus stops.) Definitely worth the money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sedgeway
Business
London
Jul 17, 2013

Not exactly palatial

Billed as a palace conversion - it isn't really. Would say public areas are 5 star but rooms def 3 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Obrigada
Business
Oxford, Ohio
Mar 17, 2013

Perfect location

Elegant hotel, wonderful service, fantastic breakfast, and close to all transportation services (next door to train station).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debead
Business
Miami
Mar 14, 2013

Best location

The original room we were given smelled like a sewer. The bellhop let us in. We called about the smell. A maid came and sprayed which did nothing. Three staff members who were in our room behaved as if there was nothing unusual. I asked at the front desk if all the rooms have a bad odour. He immediately gave us a different much more comfortable room. After that we had a very nice stay. Installing us in sewer room was inexcusable. But I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Like 5 Stars
Business
South Florida
Jan 27, 2013

Staff is Wonderful! Room Decor could use some Polish

It's a beautiful "old school" hotel -- 1890's building with traditional decor and an amazing staff (couldn't be nicer or more helpful) dressed in crisp uniform. Felt like I was Daisy in the Great Gatsby. The breakfast was fabulous -- and included with our room (white coat waiters with china service sets and real linen table clothes). There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner (but a lot of good ones nearby -- so not a problem). Room was nice size -- big for a city hotel. The only slight negative was the room's decor (the lobby & common rooms were beautifully decorated). The room was a little dated and the rug, marble (in bath) & drapes were dingy (which made the room feel dirty even though it was quite clean). The shower drain was slow (and not fixed even after we called the front desk) -- maybe it was just the age of the plumbing?? But I don't like my feet ankle deep in used bath water . . . Overall it was a nice hotel (especially by Lisbon standards -- which is generally not very worldly/touristy/sophisticated . . . not like Paris or NYC). We would stay there again if we go back to Lisbon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try DuVal for dinner -- amazing food and fabulous decor!! A hidden gem across the street from the very touristy (and famous) beer hall on Rue Nova da Trindade

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avenida Palace Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling karen
Business
Florida
Dec 6, 2012

Great location

I loved this property! The location was great. The service was suburb. The staff were excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top