$164 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

5 stars
View map of Rua 1 de Dezembro, 120, Lisbon, 1200-360

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
22 reviews
Great hotel

The hotel's location is perfect for accessing the local area by foot (barrio alto, chiado, alfama)... See full review

  • GeoH
  • Jul 9, 2014
Good base but tiny room - superior!?

Hotel excellent location and pleasant enough but not if you want to spend any time enjoying the... See full review

  • Anthony S.
  • Feb 14, 2015
Altis Avenida is the most charming and stylish Hotel in Lisbon. A five star property with outstanding location in the heart of Lisbon's City centre with view of the Sao Jorge Castle. The remarkable Architecture of this historical building inspired all the decor and brings the Glamour and Elegance from 1940 back to the present days.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon Rooms

CLASSIC ROOM
18 very quiet rooms with a views of the hotel's interior courtyard. In this category we have rooms with double beds
SUPERIOR ROOM
34 rooms with views looking onto the central downtown Lisbon and the emblematic Praca dos Restauradores. In this category we have rooms both with double beds and twin beds.
DELUXE ROOM
16 spacious rooms with a view overlooking the central downtown Lisbon and the beautiful Praa dos Restauradores. Some rooms are on the roof top terrace and outdoor characterize this category where there are rooms with double bed and two twin beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Dining
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Praça do Comércio: 0.3 mi
  • Elevador da Glória: 0.4 mi
  • Lisbon Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Parque Eduardo VII: 1.1 mi
  • Universidade Nova de Lisboa: 1.5 mi
  • Museu Calouste Gulbenkian: 1.7 mi
  • Entrecampos: 2 mi
  • 25 de Abril Bridge: 2.7 mi
  • Estádio da Luz: 3.2 mi
  • Jerónimos Monastery: 3.9 mi
  • Padrão dos Descobrimentos: 4.1 mi
  • Lisbon Oceanarium: 4.2 mi
  • Oriente Railway Station: 4.4 mi
  • Gare do Oriente: 4.4 mi
  • Atlantic Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Praça do Comércio: 0.3 mi
  • Elevador da Glória: 0.4 mi
  • Lisbon Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Parque Eduardo VII: 1.1 mi
  • Universidade Nova de Lisboa: 1.5 mi
  • Museu Calouste Gulbenkian: 1.7 mi
  • Entrecampos: 2 mi
  • 25 de Abril Bridge: 2.7 mi
  • Estádio da Luz: 3.2 mi
  • Jerónimos Monastery: 3.9 mi
  • Padrão dos Descobrimentos: 4.1 mi
  • Lisbon Oceanarium: 4.2 mi
  • Oriente Railway Station: 4.4 mi
  • Gare do Oriente: 4.4 mi
  • Atlantic Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Vasco da Gama Bridge: 6.3 mi
  • Mafra National Palace: 18.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant Rossio
The ultimate indulgence with panoramic views from 1940. The magnificent Restaurant Rossio with Bar and Terrace. Perfect for afternoon and evening cocktails, this rooftop restaurant reflects the style and glamour of 1940 Lisbon features open-air terrace above the glittering skyline.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel offers a Conference Room with daylight with 50 sq m besides a full equipped Business centre and free wifi internet access all over the Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the wo
rochester, n.y.
Aug 12, 2012

great city hotel

very nice location, wonderful staff, and very comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

rooftop terrace , very relaxing breakfast !

Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony S.
Business
penarth
Feb 14, 2015

Good base but tiny room - superior!?

Hotel excellent location and pleasant enough but not if you want to spend any time enjoying the room. Good breakfast room and pleasant staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeoH
Business
West Orange, NJ
Jul 9, 2014

Great hotel

The hotel's location is perfect for accessing the local area by foot (barrio alto, chiado, alfama) and all the sights and restaurants in these neighborhoods. Plus, being located next to the Rossio train station and the metro blue line, access to public transport is readily accessible. The hotel's staff were very helpful, no problems with speaking English. The hotel's restaurant, on the top floor with outdoor patio, is excellent, serving a wonderful and full buffet breakfast and providing an excellent atmosphere for an elegant dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of variety in restaurant types in proximity to the hotel.

Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ZDCanada
Business
Canada
Jan 23, 2014

excellent hotel

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooftop restaurant offered great views at old Lisbon, the breakfast buffet was fantastic with 4-5 types of freshly squeezed juice, all kind of fruits, and even champagne. The bathrooms were great and there was a heated rack for the bathrobes. All extras were there: wine glasses, cutlery, etc. The location was excellent - across the subway and only short walk from the old city Lisbon. There was a railway station and Starbucks across the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful. The only are for improvement – all 5 stars hotels have shuttles to the airport! When we came on Sunday around 6 p.m – the last shuttle was already gone, and we were leaving nobody even mentioned a shuttle, so we used a taxi to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A buffet with typical portuguese cuisine for just 7.99 euro almost across the hotel.

Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lyndsay
Business
Warrington, UK.
Apr 23, 2013

Wonderful place to stay

It's difficult to find fault with this hotel. The service was 'top notch'. The rooftop terrace bar and restaurant was brilliant, and the decor was in an attractive art deco style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock cafe is worth a visit.

Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmatt
Business
north carolina
Oct 5, 2012

Great location

The location is fantastic to spend time touring in Lisbon. Staff was very helpful and polite. With the breakfast included, it was a good deal. The bathroom was modern but on the small size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Euphrates
Business
Coconut Creek, Florida
Jul 16, 2012

First Time in Lisbon

I had a wonderful experience at the Altis Hotel, in Lisbon. The staff was congenial, ready to assist without hesitation. I was impressed with the check-in experience. The bellman assisted with carrying my luggage to the room and stayed to show me how everything operates and what/what not to do. This is so important when staying in a hotel in a foreign country. The staff was helpful in organizing my tours. I am so glad that I did not book them on line. I saved money and was able to get a private tour. The breakfast buffet was very good with a variety of European favorites. Do not expect an all American breakfast. The juice was fresh squeezed and the fruit was always fresh. If you have a night on the town, just be aware that they lock the gates after 1:00am. I had to bang on the door to be let in. All in all the experience was exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in Portugal caught me by surprise. Your Euros can go a long way. This is one of the least expensive countries to shop in.

Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling alone 3
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2012

Great Location

Could not find better location in Lisbon. Breakfast was good. Rooms comfortable. I was given a smking room and I told them I can not stay there. I was told I must book through hotel website directly! They finally gave me a non smking room and it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY City Traveler
Business
New York
Jul 10, 2012

Location could not be better. Roof restaurant/breakfast with open terrace is FANTASTIC!

6 days stay in July 2012 for vacation. Excellent convenient central location, close to everything by foot, friendly staff, funky room design and features. New or near new everything. GREAT breakfast area on the upper floor with huge outdoor terrace, glass walls and fantastic views of the city. What a Pleasure to have a buffet breakfast (sufficient breakfast) or evening drinks there. Good mattress, pillows, personal robes. Front desk recommended 2 restaurants within walking distance. Both were just GREAT. Sound insulation in our room 211 was not particularly good (from adjacent room one can hear showers, etc). Hotel does not have pool . They offer complimentary access to the pool at a different hotel. We did not go there. Airport shuttle runs may be 4 - 5 times a day and, as I was told, takes about 2 hours due to various pick up points in the city. Taxi to the airport takes 20 minutes and public airbus nearby around 35-40 minutes. I suggest to the hotel to drop this unusable service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a train from the train station across the street for a day trip to Sintra. Make sure you have good walking shoes. Many different palaces and places to see. Be prepared for challenging walks in one of the most beautiful areas of Portugal. Also buy a day ticket and use old trams and funiculars to go around different hills, see old churches and museums. Do not forget to bring your camera for some incredible Lisbon pictures.

Review of Altis Avenida Hotel Lisbon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariusz and Monica
Business
Watchung, New Jersey
Jul 8, 2012

Amazing location and friendly staff ...

The hotel is located in central Lisbon with convenient access to local stores. The metro is located across the street from the hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating ... the hotels best feature aside from the nice rooms, pleasant staff ... is it's location ... highly recommended if you are visiting Lisbon for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top