$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

4 stars
ADB Avenue cnr Opal Road Ortigas Center, Pasig, Manila, 1600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
13 reviews
Thanksgiving in Manila

I have to say, my experience staying here was quite good....even by American standards. The only... See full review

  • Jhonster
  • Feb 21, 2013
Nice hotel, nice location

The room includes everything you need for a nice stay. It has a little kitchen with a refrigerator,... See full review

  • dec48traveler
  • Jan 1, 2014
Offering comfortable accommodation and convenient facilities, the Malayan Plaza Hotel is a brand new condotel building built for Manila's most discerning guest. Location: Nestled right in the heart of Ortigas Commercial District, the Malayan Plaza Hotel caters to guests travelling for both business and leisure. The hotel is situated within walking distance to the business address of multinational companies, major banks, airline offices and embassies.

For security reasons and courtesy to other guests, parties are not allowed in the hotel rooms. Corkage fees shall be applied should guest bring in food and alcoholic beverages in excess of the normal consumption of the occupants in the room

The hotel charge additional for child breakfast as follows; 0 age - 3 feet below FREE of charge, above 3 feet breakfast charged at 50% of adult breakfast rates, 9 years old and above 100% charge

NOTICE: A security deposit of P 1,000.00 net per night is required upon check in for possible incidental charges and is refundable upon check out. Fixed security deposit of P 5,000.00 net for a minimum stay of 5 nights.

Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila Rooms

Studio Superior Room
The room offers One queen size bed along with the basic amenities.
One Bedroom Deluxe Room
The room offers One queen size bed along with the basic amenities.
Studio Twin Deluxe Room
The room comes with two single beds along with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

14.5865 121.06
Area served
Manila.
Nearby airports
Manila International Airport.
Area description
Manila.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mandaluyong: 1.5 mi
  • Pasig: 1.7 mi
  • Manila American Cemetery and Memorial: 3.2 mi
  • Manila Polo Club: 3.3 mi
  • Ayala Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Marikina Shoe Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Santa Clara Church: 4.3 mi
  • Santo Domingo Church: 4.3 mi
  • Malacanan Palace: 4.4 mi
  • University of the Philippines: 4.5 mi
  • San Sebastian Church: 4.8 mi
  • Manila Zoo And Botanical Garden: 5 mi
  • Malate: 5.1 mi
  • Ermita: 5.2 mi
  • Malate Church: 5.2 mi
  • Mandaluyong: 1.5 mi
  • Pasig: 1.7 mi
  • Manila American Cemetery and Memorial: 3.2 mi
  • Manila Polo Club: 3.3 mi
  • Ayala Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Marikina Shoe Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Santa Clara Church: 4.3 mi
  • Santo Domingo Church: 4.3 mi
  • Malacanan Palace: 4.4 mi
  • University of the Philippines: 4.5 mi
  • San Sebastian Church: 4.8 mi
  • Manila Zoo And Botanical Garden: 5 mi
  • Malate: 5.1 mi
  • Ermita: 5.2 mi
  • Malate Church: 5.2 mi
  • Quiapo Church: 5.2 mi
  • Manila City Hall: 5.3 mi
  • National Museum of the Philippines: 5.3 mi
  • Mehan Garden: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of the Filipino People: 5.3 mi
  • Andres Bonifacio Shrine: 5.3 mi
  • Golden Empire Tower: 5.4 mi
  • Star City: 5.4 mi
  • Pearl of the Orient Tower: 5.4 mi
  • Museum of Philippine History: 5.5 mi
  • Rizal Park: 5.5 mi
  • Manila Planetarium: 5.5 mi
  • Mapua Institute of Technology: 5.5 mi
  • Rizal Monument: 5.6 mi
  • Casa Manila Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Museo Pambata: 5.6 mi
  • Bahay Tsinoy: 5.6 mi
  • Cultural Center of the Philippines: 5.7 mi
  • San Agustin Church: 5.7 mi
  • Intramuros: 5.7 mi
  • San Agustin Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Intramuros Golf Club: 5.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Manila: 5.7 mi
  • Coconut Palace: 5.8 mi
  • Binondo Church: 5.8 mi
  • Baclaran Church: 5.8 mi
  • Fort Santiago: 6.1 mi
  • Manila Cathedral: 6.1 mi
  • Quezon: 8.1 mi
  • Rizal Shrine: 26.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous Traveler 102
Toronto, Canada
Jan 8, 2014

Problem after problem

I expected a 4-star hotel when I arrived but unfortunately the amenities were old and not very good. However, the hotel staff was helpful and the room was comfortable and aesthetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dec48traveler
Los Angeles
Jan 1, 2014

Nice hotel, nice location

The room includes everything you need for a nice stay. It has a little kitchen with a refrigerator, small stove and a electric kettle. It is located at a 10 min leisurely walk from SM Megmall or Robison's Ortigas. The breakfast was good. There is a nice pool on the 33rd floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

SM Mega Mall and Robinson's Ortigas are very close.

Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jay Cho
Richmonf, VA
Mar 7, 2013

Not pleasant stay

This is a condo hotel. Buffet breakfast was below par with limited selections. The fitness center was in the top floor and no elevator to get there, but after hard walk of stairs of three floors, I found that the entrance was locked by a key. Internet signal was very weak and one room one device made two computers access to Internet very inconvenient. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jhonster
Los Angeles, Ca.
Feb 21, 2013

Thanksgiving in Manila

I have to say, my experience staying here was quite good....even by American standards. The only thing I wasn't really tickled about was the city itself. Very dirty air because the majority of vehicles are diesel & there are no pollution controls on them as you would have here in the states. The rooms were clean, staff was friendly, & went out of their way to help me. The breakfast was good, except for the fact you had to go outside to a Restuarant they contracted with for their breakfasts. All in all, if I was staying in the metro/downtown area again, I would highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the huge malls is very close in walking distance from this hotel. Don't even bother to take a taxi. Because the walk will get you familiar with the area AND like I said, this HUGE mall is literally just a few city blocks away & around the corner.

Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Nelson
Kansas
Feb 10, 2013

Christmas vacation

We got a really nice one bedroom with 2 bathrooms (one for guests & one inside the bedroom), a small kitchen & a nice size living room. Staff was really nice from their Doorman, Bellhop, front desk, security, restaurant staff & housekeeping. The only thing that needs improvement is the type of food they serve at the restaurant, more particularly their breakfast. But other than that, I would recommend Malayan Plaza to all my friends and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Podium, Megamall & Shangri-La

Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat Rolling Chef
Alexandria, VA
Jan 19, 2013

Fabulous escape from work pressure and stress

It is clean and comfortable. I enjoyed my morning breakfasts. The staff is very helpful and accomodating. The location is accessible to everything -mall,restaurants and banks. My previous trips did not have all the amenities that i need in a hotel. The doormen are all respectful and quick in assisting with the luggages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brownier
metropolitan New York USA
Mar 31, 2012

comfortable and economical place

comfortable, safe, economical condotel to stay while in Manila , walking distance to major shopping centers,with good dining nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bring lots of money

Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ann lei
Hawaii, USA
Nov 19, 2011

vacay

the staff was really nice..the hotel is close to the malls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Bucks
Belgium
Aug 30, 2011

Recent visit

This was my second stay at this hotel for holiday. Currently I am now in preperations of making reservations once again. Just about everything was great--though I would recomend that the internet costs be reduced. However. all and all, it is a great stay especially with the ever so friendly staff. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Malayan Plaza Hotel (The) Manila

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michael, Seasoned Travler
Charleston, SC
Jul 30, 2011

Gives 4 Stars a Bad Name

This was my fourth trip to Manila, and I was on a very tight budget for the first time. Being accustomed to such true 4- and 5-Star hotels as The Ascott and Shangri-La Makati, I expected a certain level of luxury and amenity from a hotel claiming a 4-Star rating. This hotel provided neither. The reception and service staff were friendly and professional, but the room was physically lacking in many ways. Pieces of the genuine wood flooring popped out when stepped on in certain spots. The 27-inch tube television with poor reception harkened back to the last century, and not in a positive way. The desk chairs were uncomfortable, and the desks placed at odd angles within the room with poor access to electrical outlets. And a layer of grime obscured the view from the room's window. The "fully equipped kitchen" consisted of a medium-sized refrigerator (turned off when we arrived), a small hotplate, electric kettle, and microwave. The hotplate, kettle, and microwave were serviceable, but only one could be plugged in in the kitchen area at a given time, making it necessary to constantly rearrange the kitchen to use them. The bathroom was small and cramped. With a single centrally-placed light fixture, it was difficult to see detail in the mirror. The door to the shower stall fell off twice during our stay. I killed three cockroaches in the bathroom. The shower head was fixed and non-removable, and set too low for a foreigner of more than six-feet. Perhaps the most frustrating was the impossibility to set the water temperature to a comfortable level; it was either blisteringly hot, or luke-warm. And hot water was available for only two to three minutes at a time, making shaving or showering problematic. The hotel elevators are also lacking. We often waited for more than five minutes for one of the three guest elevators to arrive at our floor. And we rode down with a cockroach as an additional passenger on two of our trips to the Ground Floor. For the price, I was skeptical of the Malayan Plaza's claim of 4 Stars; and as it turned out, I had reason to be. For a romantic getaway, this hotel offered neither the setting nor convenience one would expect from a hotel claiming this level of amenity. The Malayan Plaza proves the adage that "you get what you pay for."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many nice restaurants with excellent food and atmosphere within walking distance of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top