$120 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Sonesta Miraflores

4 stars
View map of Alcanfores 329, Miraflores, Miraflores Lima,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Miraflores

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael in Somerville
Somerville, MA, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Great location while safe

All the staff was extremely friendly. I was a little hesitant not knowing much spanish, but they had staff that spoke english well enough to make it easy. The room was always cleaned well even if I left the room a little later than usual. The room service was prompt and polite. The ONLY issue I had was with the air conditioner not really working too well. It only went down to 16C, and even then it was struggling. It kept the room cool enough to sleep well. As another review mentioned, if you aren't down for breakfast at an early hour, there isn't much left to pick from. So I only had breakfast there once, and found some nice little places near Kennedy Park. There are two grocery stores located nearby, usually a 1-2 minute walk away. Security and police presence in the area made me feel a bit safer. I really didn't feel unsafe at all in Miraflores. Security at the hotel was awesome. They were friendly and greeted me kindly every day and even at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were some great little dining places at Kennedy Park. Many of them had areas where you could sit outside with a nice breeze. They all have glass dividers for those worried about security.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WorldT
Business
California, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Great Local

The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Unless you are looking for a more resort type hotel with a pool, health spa or casino, it's a great place to stay. The location was convienient for getting to all parts of Miraflores. I enjoyed my nights here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Astrid and Gaston. Expensive but worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CACQ
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Sep 13, 2011

Good executive business hotel

Excellent stay! Just one exception on first night where hotel staff had a trouble with original room booked due last minute emergency. Final suite they assign to me was very confortable and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Dec 12, 2010

Clean, reliable hotel. Great location

Its a small hotel that had all of the necesary needs,in a great location near all of the wonderful places to eat and see. My only complaint is I had some difficulties with the WiFi in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great indian market with neat oil paintings at a decent price if you negotiate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Nov 11, 2010

Bring your wallet for extra fees

I was charged an outrageous amount for 6 local calls and 1 long distance call last two minutes. Approximately $25.00 U.S. I also tought the bottled water in the mini-refrigerator was complimentary since I prepaid $600 U.S for the room for the week. They charged me $2.00 per 16 oz. bottle. I used 15 bottles because you can't drink the tap water there, so 5 of the 15 bottles were used for brushing my teeth and rinsing. I would have went to the market and purchased two 2 litre bottles if I would have known the water wasn't complimentary. My $600 was supposed to have cobered the taxes, but upon checking out there was another $25 of hotel taxes. The restaurant staff was nice and helpful, but the complimentary breakfast buffet was less than tolerable. The milk for the cereal was room temperature. If you got there 3o minutes before the buffet was over everthing was cold or already taken, so you would be left eating two pieces of toast with an egg cooked to order. The butter, jelly, slat, pepper, etc...were all in packets, so good luch getting the jelly open. I had to use my knife to open the packets and would get jelly all over my hands every time. It was impossible. I had to ask for extra napkins that were the size and thickness of Kleenex tissue. Half of the front desk staff were very good, but two were not good at all. But the maid service was top notch. I tipped the maid, and restaurant staff very well, but didn't tip the front desk staff at all. Ask for a room in the back of the hotel. My room was on the street front. Much street noise and traffic until the wee hours of the morning. The rooms were nice and adequate. I asked for a non-smoking room, but you could smell the smoke in the room as soon as you walked in the door. I got used to it after the first day. The location was excellent. Within 3 blocks walking distance to many shoppes, restaurants, and banks. Internet service was out for one whole day and one half day during my stay. Water was off for 4 hours one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared for the extra charges at the checkout. Learn more than a little english. Because if you get one of the two desk clerks that can't speak good english it can become very confusing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Nov 11, 2010

Bring your wallet for extra fees

I was charged an outrageous amount for 6 local calls and 1 long distance call last two minutes. Approximately $25.00 U.S. I also tought the bottled water in the mini-refrigerator was complimentary since I prepaid $600 U.S for the room for the week. They charged me $2.00 per 16 oz. bottle. I used 15 bottles because you can't drink the tap water there, so 5 of the 15 bottles were used for brushing my teeth and rinsing. I would have went to the market and purchased two 2 litre bottles if I would have known the water wasn't complimentary. My $600 was supposed to have cobered the taxes, but upon checking out there was another $25 of hotel taxes. The restaurant staff was nice and helpful, but the complimentary breakfast buffet was less than tolerable. The milk for the cereal was room temperature. If you got there 3o minutes before the buffet was over everthing was cold or already taken, so you would be left eating two pieces of toast with an egg cooked to order. The butter, jelly, slat, pepper, etc...were all in packets, so good luch getting the jelly open. I had to use my knife to open the packets and would get jelly all over my hands every time. It was impossible. I had to ask for extra napkins that were the size and thickness of Kleenex tissue. Half of the front desk staff were very good, but two were not good at all. But the maid service was top notch. I tipped the maid, and restaurant staff very well, but didn't tip the front desk staff at all. Ask for a room in the back of the hotel. My room was on the street front. Much street noise and traffic until the wee hours of the morning. The rooms were nice and adequate. I asked for a non-smoking room, but you could smell the smoke in the room as soon as you walked in the door. I got used to it after the first day. The location was excellent. Within 3 blocks walking distance to many shoppes, restaurants, and banks. Internet service was out for one whole day and one half day during my stay. Water was off for 4 hours one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared for the extra charges at the checkout. Learn more than a little english. Because if you get one of the two desk clerks that can't speak good english it can become very confusing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, TX
Apr 16, 2010

Excellent 4* Hotel

They were working construction on the streets every morning and all day. Not the hotel's fault. I can see it will be beautiful when they finish it. A minor inconvienence. The restrurant has a small but excellent breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner seem limited considering the cafes within walking distance.Hotel bar is very small. Entire staff is excellent. Be careful, the laundry services are expensive. Several laundries within 100 meters. Telephone calls cost about $1USD each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many excellent local dishes under $6USD. Buy purified water at Vandidas? supermarket 2 blocks to the left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Mar 1, 2010

great hotel but noisy rear rooms

The hotel is in an excellent location in safe Miraflores. Right next to the hotel is a great coffee cafe and two blocks to the left is a 24 hour upscale supermarket called Vivanda where you can get anything you want--snacks, salad bar, sandwiches, etc. It even has a bank and ATM Machines. You can walk to Kennedy Park and enjoy all the restaurants which are much cheaper than the restaurant in the hotel which is overpriced and not good. The complimentary breakfast buffet is adequate. There is a great Italian Restaurant nearby called Mama Lolas. I ate there several times. As I said the rear rooms of the hotel are noisy because directly behind the hotel on the next block is a jazz/ rock and roll club that blasts live performances starting at 11PM till the wee hours of the morning. Ask for a front room. The saff can speak English. The elevator does not go up to the 12th floor because apparently that floor was added later on to the hotel so you have to carry your bags up or down a small flight of stairs and if you have a rear room there (1201) as I did, not only can you hear the gears of the elevator functioning but the noisy jazz club. My room was nice and had a jacuzzi in the bath room. I did not change my room because after a few days I was able to block out the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping center LargoMar is beautiful and has great shops and restaurants and a great view of the Pacific Ocean. It is built on a cliff overlooking the ocean right across the street from the Marriot hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friend of the Seniors
Business
Dahlonega, GA
Jan 27, 2010

Relaxing, Informal, Affordable

This Sonesta is located on a quiet, relatively unbusy street in Miraflores. Too, the hotel has only four rooms on each floor, and a fairly small lobby area, again giving it a restful, relaxed atmoshere. But you are fairly close to a famous tourist shopping area, and several large casinos are quite nearby for those who like the flashing lights. The staff is very courteous and attentive; my room was very comfortable with a spotless bathroom and great climate controls. I found the TV system a bit of a challenge, but once the responsive staff showed me how to run it, I got more channels than I knew what to do with. The room amenities are fairly basic (no coffee pot or ironing board), but it did have a little mini-bar fridge where you could keep bottled water, etc., cold. I thought this hotel was an excellent bargain. and would stay there again in a flash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a slightly funky cafe immediately to the right of the hotel entrance; it serves a great "cafe americano." And if you walk about two blocks to the left, there is an upscale, 24/7 supermarket, Vivianda, which has great pastries, pizza, sandwichs, a salad bar , wine, bottled water, etc., where you can load up on snacks or snag a meal. They take credit cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
Jun 11, 2009

Nice place to stay

Good location in Lima in terms of safety and access to shops and cultural events. English language skills of staff was good. Added additional night to my stay. Hotel offered Orbits rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Miraflores

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
threetravelers
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 23, 2009

Great!

We thought the Sonesta Posada was a great place to stay. It was clean and very comfortable. The room we stayed in had two separate bedrooms and a large bathroom so it was perfect for us since it was me, my husband, and our adult son traveling together. It was within walking distance to some great souvenir shopping and a very good restaurant where we ate ceviche. We also walked to a large and beautiful grocery store in the evening where we bought fresh bread, fruit, cheese, a couple of deli items, and juice for supper. We got a good rate by booking it through Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top