Roma Plaza

2 stars
Ave Justo Arosemena And 33 st., Panama City,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
71 reviews
Pet Friendly

Nice staff, very helpful; many speak fairly good English. Safe neighborhood with several... See full review

  • JHJD
  • Oct 17, 2013
MY FAVORITE HOTEL IN THE CITY

I COME TO PANAMA 2 TIMES A YEAR. ROMA PLAZA HAS ALWAYS BEEN MY HOTEL CHOICE. I KNOW MANY OF THE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 2, 2010
The hotel Roma Plaza is a three stars European style building, 7 floors, 133 rooms from 107 to 280 square feets, restaurant, cafeteria, swiming pool, parking garage, room services,free wireless in the ground floor, tours and excellent attention.

Hotel Roma Plaza is a smoke free enviroment hotel. The Hotel Roma Plaza is located in the business center of the city, between the most popular shopping area 2 blocks away, from the Bay of Panama , 20 minutes from the Int.airport,Car rental facilities near, 2 blocks away from the office of the Chamber of Commerce of Panama, airlines, embassies and consulates, banks, public offices, 24-hour clinic, pharmacy, beauty salons and parks, 5 minutes to ALBROOK MALL, 4 minutes MULTICENTRO MALL and 8 minutes to MULTIPLAZA MALL PAITILLA.

HOTEL AMENITIES:
Meeting/banquet facilities

Wireless internet
Restaurant
Internet Access
Room service
Pool
Conference Facilities
Free Parking
Smoke-free hotel
Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Roma Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.8 out of 5

Roma Plaza Rooms

Standard Single
The bedding option for this room includes 1 double bed with a/c, cable 72 channels and more, hot breakfast buffet include. Non smoking.
Standard Superior
The bedding option for this room includes 1 queen bed with a/c, cable 72 channels, coffee table , minibar and more, hot breakfast buffet include. Non smoking.
Standard Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double bed with a/c, cable 72 channels, small table with two chairs, hairdryer and more, hot breakfast buffet include. Non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Miraflores Locks: 4.3 mi
  • Panama History Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Jose Church: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Roma Plaza

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 71
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
2.7
Value:
3

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny,ny
Apr 7, 2010

needs better maintenance

The staff was friendly, had a great tour guide from the hotel, however rooms walls were dirty, rooms were crampy, not a lot of space, not great for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

use the hotel tours they are cheaper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, VA
Dec 6, 2009

Roma Plaza

The pictures of the hotel show something completely different than what the hotel really is. We had a regular room with 2 double beds, the room was so small I could barely move, so we switched to a bigger room. The "upgrade" which we paid for, was to a bigger room, but the same low quality furniture, probably from the 80's. If you are on a budget this is a good choice, because you are still in the city, blocks away from everything. But if you could spare $30 more a night you can stay in much better hotels. Oh did I mention I saw a cockroach on my last night crawling into my bed?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many good places, fancy and non fancy. If you ask the taxi drivers they will take you to good places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Small Planet Traveler
Business
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Oct 17, 2009

Not fancy but good value

This basic hotel offers good value for the price. The rooms are worn but clean with air-conditioner, cable TV, and hairdryers. Patronized mostly by Central Americans and budget travelers. The 24 hour restaurant is a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel offers airport transfers in its own van for $10 a passenger.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL: 33458
Aug 30, 2009

You get what you pay.

Surrounding area is not Safe. Hotel is not in a good Neighbour Hood. Can not go out after dark by walking. They advertise, Airport Pickup, but it is not Free. At the Airport, they never told that it will cost $21.00 for Trip to Hotel. Waited more then 40 Minutes for Driver to arrive to pickup. You can pay less money by Taxi to go by your self and save time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta, GA
Aug 28, 2009

Roma Plaza

The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was adequet. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning especially the coffee. In the first room AC leaked and the staff moved us the next morning when it was discovered and were gno qestions asked. Overall we were given great service by the friendly staff. We also enjoyed the wireless internet provided in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jun 18, 2009

A disapointment

I have stayed here before and it was O.K. But this time, the receptionist was not very attentive, gave me a substandard room (small room with only one bed) when I paid or a room with two double beds. I was so tired when I arrivedthat I didn't want to go downsatirs to argue wit her. My travel-mate and I had to share our little double bed together.The bathroom was dirty and needed a major renovaion. The "free" breakfast the next morning was lousy. Panama is not known for being very "client friendly". This place needs a service-attitude makeover. ORBITZ should give me a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami,fl
May 31, 2009

good

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oldsmar, FL
Jun 5, 2008

Better Options

There are better options out there. Most of the staff was polite and helpful, given what they had to work with. The front desk people were abrupt, rude and gave you the distinct impression that you were wasting their time. The management of the hotel needs to address this as it is a consistent complaint among travelers. Otherwise, you might tip the scale to stay. The food in the restaurant was awful. I fed mine to the many starving cats in the area. McDonald's (where I never go) was around the corner and became a much preferred option. There were also roaches in the room, which I guess can't be totally controlled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chi-Guey
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 9, 2008

personal touch

The room is somewhat comfortable, clean bathroom. The room was kind of small, and has no window, like a insided cabin when you take a cruise, may be because I only paid for a standard room rate. The hotel staff were very friendly, breakfast was pretty good. Hotel location is in the downtown area, a little old and rundown. Overall, it worth what you paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Casino is closed by. Negotiate with taxi drivers by the hotel, otherwise, take one on the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GamerDad
Business
Vancouver, BC
Sep 21, 2007

Spartan but Neat

The Roma Plaza is an older hotel in an older part of the city. It caters mostly to budget travelers and those that speak Spanish. Few of the staff spoke much English, but they tried their best to be helpful and were very pleasant. The rooms are spartan and the bed was thin and firm, but it was neat and clean. The complementary breakfast was nice and the restaurant served reasonably priced meals 24 hrs per day. Free wireless internet is available in the lobby and restaurant, but unfortunately not in the rooms. Overall, I found my stay reasonably comfortable and the value satisfactory. I'd give it two stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Roma Plaza is just two blocks off of Balboa Ave. and the waterfront. It's a 20 min. walk or short bus ride to the MultiCentro Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top