Roma Plaza

2 stars
Ave Justo Arosemena And 33 st., Panama City,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
127 reviews
Pet Friendly

Nice staff, very helpful; many speak fairly good English. Safe neighborhood with several... See full review

  • JHJD
  • Oct 17, 2013
MY FAVORITE HOTEL IN THE CITY

I COME TO PANAMA 2 TIMES A YEAR. ROMA PLAZA HAS ALWAYS BEEN MY HOTEL CHOICE. I KNOW MANY OF THE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 2, 2010
The hotel Roma Plaza is a three stars European style building, 7 floors, 133 rooms from 107 to 280 square feets, restaurant, cafeteria, swiming pool, parking garage, room services,free wireless in the ground floor, tours and excellent attention.

Hotel Roma Plaza is a smoke free enviroment hotel. The Hotel Roma Plaza is located in the business center of the city, between the most popular shopping area 2 blocks away, from the Bay of Panama , 20 minutes from the Int.airport,Car rental facilities near, 2 blocks away from the office of the Chamber of Commerce of Panama, airlines, embassies and consulates, banks, public offices, 24-hour clinic, pharmacy, beauty salons and parks, 5 minutes to ALBROOK MALL, 4 minutes MULTICENTRO MALL and 8 minutes to MULTIPLAZA MALL PAITILLA.

HOTEL AMENITIES:
Meeting/banquet facilities

Wireless internet
Restaurant
Internet Access
Room service
Pool
Conference Facilities
Free Parking
Smoke-free hotel
Business center

Roma Plaza Rooms

Standard Single
The bedding option for this room includes 1 double bed with a/c, cable 72 channels and more, hot breakfast buffet include. Non smoking.
Standard Superior
The bedding option for this room includes 1 queen bed with a/c, cable 72 channels, coffee table , minibar and more, hot breakfast buffet include. Non smoking.
Standard Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double bed with a/c, cable 72 channels, small table with two chairs, hairdryer and more, hot breakfast buffet include. Non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Roma Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

8.9687 -79.5354
Area served
Panama.
Nearby airports
Tocumen International Airport.
Area description
The Hote Roma Plaza is located in the business center of the city , between the most popular shopping area 2 block away, from the Bay of Panama 20 minutes from the International airport, car rental facilities, 2 blocks away from the the chamber of commerce of panama airlines, embassies and consulates, banks, public offices, 24 hour clinic, pharmacy, beauty saloons and parks, 5 minutes to Albrook mall, 4 minutes Multicentro Mall and 8 minutes to Multiplaza mall Pitilla.

Nearby points of interest

  • Miraflores Locks: 4.3 mi
  • Panama History Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Jose Church: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Roma Plaza

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Florida
Mar 8, 2010

A pleasant comfortable stay

We enjoyed our stay. Were a bit nervous with the negative reviews but found them to be based on people that did not understand the workings of a "European Hotel" which is stated specifically in the description. Nice to see smiling faces and attentive service. The air conditioning does work just fine but turns off when the room card is removed and must be restarted. No problems, good service, nice breakfast, nice tours arranged at the front desk on the spot, within 45 minutes in one case! Good transportation to the airport. We found the 24 hour coffee shop very nice and inexpensive, certainly for in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Florida
Mar 8, 2010

A pleasant comfortable stay

We enjoyed our stay. Were a bit nervous with the negative reviews but found them to be based on people that did not understand the workings of a "European Hotel" which is stated specifically in the description. Nice to see smiling faces and attentive service. The air conditioning does work just fine but turns off when the room card is removed and must be restarted. No problems, good service, nice breakfast, nice tours arranged at the front desk on the spot, within 45 minutes in one case! Good transportation to the airport. We found the 24 hour coffee shop very nice and inexpensive, certainly for in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington dc metro area
Feb 23, 2010

Don't let the price sucker you in!

I selected the hotel based on price, a 3 star rating and for a 1 night layover stay. However Roma Plaza is more like a motel than a hotel. It is located in a "questionable" neighborhood, the hotel resturant is 24hrs, along w/other stores across the street. The hotel is under renovation therefore its already outdated/dark/dusty/smelly environment looked even worse! The front desk staff were not friendly. The elevator barely fit 2 people with carryon luggage. The hallways were dark, and finding your room was confusing with the many hallways and poor signage. The room was hot and you need the roomkey (only 1) to turn on the lights and ac, it smelled of cheap pine cleanser, the toilet was rusty, the towels were old/rough/shredded, no washclothes, the furniture was cheap/old/rusty, one window was cracked w/tape covering the crack. There was constant noise and traffic outside. The view is terrible. The service in the resturant was slow, however the food was good but not worth staying at the Roma Plaza even for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington dc metro area
Feb 23, 2010

Don't let the price sucker you in!

I selected the hotel based on price, a 3 star rating and for a 1 night layover stay. However Roma Plaza is more like a motel than a hotel. It is located in a "questionable" neighborhood, the hotel resturant is 24hrs, along w/other stores across the street. The hotel is under renovation therefore its already outdated/dark/dusty/smelly environment looked even worse! The front desk staff were not friendly. The elevator barely fit 2 people with carryon luggage. The hallways were dark, and finding your room was confusing with the many hallways and poor signage. The room was hot and you need the roomkey (only 1) to turn on the lights and ac, it smelled of cheap pine cleanser, the toilet was rusty, the towels were old/rough/shredded, no washclothes, the furniture was cheap/old/rusty, one window was cracked w/tape covering the crack. There was constant noise and traffic outside. The view is terrible. The service in the resturant was slow, however the food was good but not worth staying at the Roma Plaza even for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
panama city
Feb 16, 2010

great people, tired hotel

We didnt go anywhere as we had two security guards tell us it was unsafe to walk. Plus noonew could give us an idea where we could go . It was a very scuzzy looking neighborhood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
panama city
Feb 16, 2010

great people, tired hotel

We didnt go anywhere as we had two security guards tell us it was unsafe to walk. Plus noonew could give us an idea where we could go . It was a very scuzzy looking neighborhood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Feb 8, 2010

not great

We left early in the morning and upon return in the evening, the room had not been made up. We paid to take the 7 am airport shuttle, but by 7:20 it had not left and we had to scramble to get a taxi to the airport in order to make our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Feb 8, 2010

not great

We left early in the morning and upon return in the evening, the room had not been made up. We paid to take the 7 am airport shuttle, but by 7:20 it had not left and we had to scramble to get a taxi to the airport in order to make our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jan 8, 2010

interesting

By American standards this was a rough hotel. Noisey airconditioning unit, if your used to the heat not a big deal but this thing sounded like a helicoptor. fairly rough neighborhood, we were only sleeping thier and leaving very early and it was real close to the local airport. for a small amount more could have stayed in a chain hotel that was a bit safer. Staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jan 8, 2010

interesting

By American standards this was a rough hotel. Noisey airconditioning unit, if your used to the heat not a big deal but this thing sounded like a helicoptor. fairly rough neighborhood, we were only sleeping thier and leaving very early and it was real close to the local airport. for a small amount more could have stayed in a chain hotel that was a bit safer. Staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top