Roma Plaza

2 stars
Ave Justo Arosemena And 33 st., Panama City,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
71 reviews
Pet Friendly

Nice staff, very helpful; many speak fairly good English. Safe neighborhood with several... See full review

  • JHJD
  • Oct 17, 2013
MY FAVORITE HOTEL IN THE CITY

I COME TO PANAMA 2 TIMES A YEAR. ROMA PLAZA HAS ALWAYS BEEN MY HOTEL CHOICE. I KNOW MANY OF THE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 2, 2010
The hotel Roma Plaza is a three stars European style building, 7 floors, 133 rooms from 107 to 280 square feets, restaurant, cafeteria, swiming pool, parking garage, room services,free wireless in the ground floor, tours and excellent attention.

Hotel Roma Plaza is a smoke free enviroment hotel. The Hotel Roma Plaza is located in the business center of the city, between the most popular shopping area 2 blocks away, from the Bay of Panama , 20 minutes from the Int.airport,Car rental facilities near, 2 blocks away from the office of the Chamber of Commerce of Panama, airlines, embassies and consulates, banks, public offices, 24-hour clinic, pharmacy, beauty salons and parks, 5 minutes to ALBROOK MALL, 4 minutes MULTICENTRO MALL and 8 minutes to MULTIPLAZA MALL PAITILLA.

HOTEL AMENITIES:
Meeting/banquet facilities

Wireless internet
Restaurant
Internet Access
Room service
Pool
Conference Facilities
Free Parking
Smoke-free hotel
Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Roma Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.8 out of 5

Roma Plaza Rooms

Standard Single
The bedding option for this room includes 1 double bed with a/c, cable 72 channels and more, hot breakfast buffet include. Non smoking.
Standard Superior
The bedding option for this room includes 1 queen bed with a/c, cable 72 channels, coffee table , minibar and more, hot breakfast buffet include. Non smoking.
Standard Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double bed with a/c, cable 72 channels, small table with two chairs, hairdryer and more, hot breakfast buffet include. Non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Miraflores Locks: 4.3 mi
  • Panama History Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Jose Church: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Roma Plaza

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
2.9
Value:
3.3

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DMolina
Business
Honduras
Jan 27, 2011

It was not a good experience

It was not that I expected... laddy from the front gave me a small room, different that I pay for (a double bed room) for 4 dollars plus...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Niskayuna, NY
Jan 25, 2011

Ok for overnight stay

Only used this as an overnight stay between flying into international airport (arrived about 11 PM) and flying out of regional airport (departed about 12 noon). Breakfast buffet was good/adequate. Free wireless and couple free computers to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Bender
Business
New York
Jan 11, 2011

Perfect Price Panama Hotel

Stayed 3 nights at Roma Plaza. Hotel is one of the best priced and was very clean and has English speaking front desk staff. Restaurant attached is open 24/hours and breakfast is included. First two nights stayed in a room facing the street - street noise was loud at times, so not for a light sleeper. Last night stayed in a room facing the back, which was super quiet, but no windows. Marina is close by and a nice place to walk to during the day or night -however not much available near by for restaurants or nightlife. Taxis are only $2-3 to most other areas in the city so still saves to stay here and taxi to other locations as needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the marina only a short walk away where all the locals hang out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
honey mj
Business
Sacramento ca
Jan 5, 2011

good for the price

The AC works great! the room was clean and has pool on top of hotel which was clean. The food wasn't good but over all its a good deal, but not a good neighbor hood for walking at night during the day is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take taxis to Beirut restaurant !! the best place we ate in panama city even for vegetarians !! its 3 dollars in cab to get there by marriot hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 30, 2010

You get what you pay for

I have stayed here several times, the rooms are clean, the service is friendly, and the rates are very reasonable. The noise level from the outside can be high at times from traffic outside. The hotel has a cab service that is more expensive (still cheap by US standars) than street cabs but are cleaner. Also note that street cabs will generally charge you more if you are a tourist anyway, they don't use meters. They have a breakfast buffet that varies daily that is free with the room. There is free wifi in the lobby. I would reccomend this hotel to someone who is looking for a no frills hotel on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 26, 2010

my worst hotel experience ever

It started with staff harassing me that I am only one there and I can't invite my friend to the breakfast or pay 11 dollars more, so fine, I didn't invite my friend and stayed there alone. They made me pay 77 dollars at the end anyway, insisting I had people stay with me, and I did not (front desk Merlene). I was late to airport and had no time to argue. I left a cell phone in the room, it was stolen by maides, they were rude and not helpful. Location is unsafe, prostitutes outside, dangerous for even locals. Noone in the right mind should stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

you can go bullet dodging outside

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
Aug 17, 2010

Roma PLaza Hotel

THe rooms are quite small and most certainly need to be updated. The furniture is quite old and needs to be replaced. Upon arrival I upgraded to a suite because the reserved room was way too small. The breakfast which was included in the room rate was great and provided a variety of breakfast/brunch items every day. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location leaves little tobe desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK CITY
Aug 2, 2010

MY FAVORITE HOTEL IN THE CITY

I COME TO PANAMA 2 TIMES A YEAR. ROMA PLAZA HAS ALWAYS BEEN MY HOTEL CHOICE. I KNOW MANY OF THE STAFF BY NAME, ALWAYS ENJOY THE POOL, AND LOOK FORWARD TO THE BUFFET BREAKFAST. THEY PUT MY CAR RENTAL IN A SECURE GARAGE UNTIL I NEED IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 BLOCKS BEHIND ROMA IS THE CALEDONIA SHOPPING AREA, ON AVE CENTRAL/ESPANIA. GREAT DEALS. ALSO THERE IS A PARK AND OLDER CITY ARCHITECTURE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, Ilinois, South of the capital
Jul 7, 2010

Great Hotel- Roma Plaza

We as a family of 7 stayed at the Roma Hotel and enjoyed overall. Grant you it was one night since we were travelling to move on to Chiriqui. Everything about the hotel was good; the buffet breaksfast was great. The World Socher games were going on, it was nice to have the plasma TV to watch it, while we ate. The only concern I had was parking, I had a rented car and the bell boy wanted to park it because there is no parking right next to the hotel. They park the cars at a very secure area. It was just that the insurance of the car did not cover the bell boy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The best way to get around Panama - City Panama is using local safe transportation'- Taxis, and coach buses to the interior and when you get there then rent a car.It is impossible and dangerous to drive in the city.I was born in Panama and I do well in the traffick, the problem is too many one way streets that have appear over night. I got a ticket and it was impossible to pay it. The laws have change and they are ticketing everyone and it is impossible to fix it or to bribe a police man.The new President is trying to reform the lawlesness of the past. Meanwhile foreigners do not appear in the traffick computer system so you have to wait months to pay it. I left the money with my sister to pay it. It got complicated if I wanted to pay it. You appear in the computer only if you have the cedula (a form of ID in place of the drivers liscence).[...] I had not gone to Panama in 10 years!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roma Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nl_photo
Business
Boulder, CO
May 13, 2010

Ok for a quick overnight

For the price we paid, I was hoping for a little nicer accommodations but also I didn't expect too much at the same time. I know 'nice' affordable hotels are hard to come by in PC, so we only used this for a quick night before we flew up to San Blas (excellent!). The room was clean enough with outdated furniture, but the A/C worked really well thankfully. The bathroom was also outdated with both shower knobs labeled 'hot' (we got a kick out of that). Hotel location was just a couple blocks from the waterfront but not in the best area either. If you are not familiar with PC, you can get to the 'wrong' side of town pretty quick. Overall, I would certainly stay here again for a quick overnight or two but certainly wouldn't want to call it home for any extended period of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Located fairly central in between the Tocumen and Albrook airports.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top