$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

3 stars
Calle 30 con Avenida Peru, Zona 4, Panama City,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
4 reviews
Grand Hotel Soloy July 20011

Hotel Soloy is a great place if if you want to see the real Panama city. Yes the real Panama city.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 30, 2011
Grand Hotel Soloy July 20011

Hotel Soloy is a great place if if you want to see the real Panama city. Yes the real Panama city.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 30, 2011
The Grand Hotel Soloy & Casino is an excellent choice for those who want to be near the best things that Panama City has to offer.The hotel has 200 room and the hotel is on Peru's central avenue. Gran Hotel Soloy & Casino is located just a 100 meters away from more than 1000 department stores and just a10 min. from big Department Store as the Albrook Mall, Multi Plaza and Multi center.

At the Grand Hotel Soloy & Casino you will find an excellent bar and club, open on weekends with karaoke nights, salsa nights, cocktails, drinks and lots of fun.

Its not just about its great location what makes The Grand Hotel Soloy & Casino a reference point in Panama City, Is also about its recognized excellence in care and service, so you can always feel at home.

Amenities:
*Lobby
*Smoke free hotel
*CasinoIf you enjoy playing games and bet and if you feel lucky during your trip, then you must visit our Fiesta Casino. There you will find open bar and music on weekends. Also the slot machines, black Jack.

Hotel Map

8.9674 -79.5381
Area served
Panama.
Nearby airports
Tocumen International Airport (PTY).
Area description
The hotel is on Peru's central avenue.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino Rooms

Standard Plus
Single or double rooms with all the amenities such as: King size bed, air Conditioner, cable television, private bathrooms with hot water and cold water, voice mail, safety boxes, laundry service, phone and Wifi.
Superior Room
Sinlge or double rooms with all the amenities such as: air Conditioner, cable television, private bathrooms with hot water and cold water, shower and bath tub, Plasma TV,, voice mail, safety boxes, laundry service, phone and Wifi.
Suite
With all the amenities such as: King size Bed, air Conditioner, cable television, plasma TV., private bathrooms with hot water and cold water, voice mail, safety boxes, laundry service, phone and Wifi.
Standard Room
1 Double or 2 Double beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, en-suite / private bathroom, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, telephone, voice mail and wireless internet. Rooms cool and comfortable with city view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Miraflores Locks: 4.1 mi
  • Panama History Museum: 5.3 mi
  • San Jose Church: 5.3 mi

Dining

El Faro
"El Faro" Restaurant, Enjoy delicious meals up to 11:00 p.m. If you enjoy playing games and bet and if you feel lucky during your trip, then you must visit the Fiesta Casino. There you will find open bar and music on weekends. Also the slot machines, black Jack. The hotel has a swimming pool with a spectacular view, in the 12th floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
boca raton, florida
Jul 17, 2011

nightmare at hotel Gran Solloy & casino

sorry i will never stay there again, my first night, the room was dirty, some of the room light did not work, the room phone was pull from the wall,and there was a big stain in the bathroom floor, the next day i complain,they say if i wanted another,if i wish to upgrade, i must pay more,the mannager make me wait 45 min before he talk to me,them finally give me another room, i request one in the 3 or 4 floor, he say they are more expensive, i must pay more, so i go a regular room, i had to pay 25 dollars extra everynight for my son to stay with me,everytime you did not fallow the hotel rules, during check in time,i was never was provided with rules on the hotel, went you break a rule, the lock you out in the room, ou have to go back to lobby and asked why your card entry key does not work, they dont allow guess inside the room, you must pay toooo, during my check out time, they told me, the internet booking,[...],only pay for 5 night, not 6, finally i had leave on my own, they wanted to pay for a extra night, plus late check in time,from that last day, they wanted me to check out at 12, lunch time, my plane leave the next day, early at 2 am, sunday, im very mad at you toooo, i used orbitz before, never had a problem with the hotel, please dont send anyone to this hotel, if you dont believe me, you do so researh yourself,thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food was good at another restaurant next to a small hotel called acapulco hotel

Review of Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
boca raton, florida
Jul 17, 2011

nightmare at hotel Gran Solloy & casino

sorry i will never stay there again, my first night, the room was dirty, some of the room light did not work, the room phone was pull from the wall,and there was a big stain in the bathroom floor, the next day i complain,they say if i wanted another,if i wish to upgrade, i must pay more,the mannager make me wait 45 min before he talk to me,them finally give me another room, i request one in the 3 or 4 floor, he say they are more expensive, i must pay more, so i go a regular room, i had to pay 25 dollars extra everynight for my son to stay with me,everytime you did not fallow the hotel rules, during check in time,i was never was provided with rules on the hotel, went you break a rule, the lock you out in the room, ou have to go back to lobby and asked why your card entry key does not work, they dont allow guess inside the room, you must pay toooo, during my check out time, they told me, the internet booking,[...],only pay for 5 night, not 6, finally i had leave on my own, they wanted to pay for a extra night, plus late check in time,from that last day, they wanted me to check out at 12, lunch time, my plane leave the next day, early at 2 am, sunday, im very mad at you toooo, i used orbitz before, never had a problem with the hotel, please dont send anyone to this hotel, if you dont believe me, you do so researh yourself,thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food was good at another restaurant next to a small hotel called acapulco hotel

Review of Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Jul 30, 2011

Grand Hotel Soloy July 20011

Hotel Soloy is a great place if if you want to see the real Panama city. Yes the real Panama city. The Soloy is located in Calidionia one of the last working class neighborhoods in what I consider the real down town Panama city where gentrification is quickly taking hold. The hotel provides a nice buffet for Breakfast. After eating you can take a stroll up Avenida Peru . On Avenida Peru you will be able to sense the heart beat of the city.It is also a great place for an inexpensive lunch Avenida Peru is full of Food stands that sell Patacones Tamales and Chorisso. To be honest the area can get bit gritty. It is best to walk in the morning hours or early afternoon in the direction of La loteria Nacional and the park Porras several blocks away. While there enjoy a hand made snow cone or just sit in the Park for a few moments and enjoy the movement of the city. From there Basilca Don Bsco is located several blocks away. If you should decide to venture past the park or in the other direction I would consult with the hotel staff as to winch areas were safe to walk in and winch ones are not. If you do decide to venture out I recommend not bring large amounts of cash I have been told there are a few pickpockets out there but this should not discourage a short walk out in the neighborhood. However, I do not recommend venturing out at night and exercise caution when walking on on the side streets. The other good thing is that Taxis are inexpensive compared to USA and if you want to hang out in the trendy tourist spots most of those are close by and the Taxi ride will not cost you to much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Another good thing about Hotel Soloy is that it is close to The Machetaso Superstore.It is about two blocks away and has everything from Grocery to bathing suits to souvenirs or RX.It was helpful to me last trip because I forgot some of my medicine and was able to fill them without an RX. It is a good way to kill an hour or two when you have nothing to do or if you need a tube of toothpaste.

Review of Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Jul 30, 2011

Grand Hotel Soloy July 20011

Hotel Soloy is a great place if if you want to see the real Panama city. Yes the real Panama city. The Soloy is located in Calidionia one of the last working class neighborhoods in what I consider the real down town Panama city where gentrification is quickly taking hold. The hotel provides a nice buffet for Breakfast. After eating you can take a stroll up Avenida Peru . On Avenida Peru you will be able to sense the heart beat of the city.It is also a great place for an inexpensive lunch Avenida Peru is full of Food stands that sell Patacones Tamales and Chorisso. To be honest the area can get bit gritty. It is best to walk in the morning hours or early afternoon in the direction of La loteria Nacional and the park Porras several blocks away. While there enjoy a hand made snow cone or just sit in the Park for a few moments and enjoy the movement of the city. From there Basilca Don Bsco is located several blocks away. If you should decide to venture past the park or in the other direction I would consult with the hotel staff as to winch areas were safe to walk in and winch ones are not. If you do decide to venture out I recommend not bring large amounts of cash I have been told there are a few pickpockets out there but this should not discourage a short walk out in the neighborhood. However, I do not recommend venturing out at night and exercise caution when walking on on the side streets. The other good thing is that Taxis are inexpensive compared to USA and if you want to hang out in the trendy tourist spots most of those are close by and the Taxi ride will not cost you to much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Another good thing about Hotel Soloy is that it is close to The Machetaso Superstore.It is about two blocks away and has everything from Grocery to bathing suits to souvenirs or RX.It was helpful to me last trip because I forgot some of my medicine and was able to fill them without an RX. It is a good way to kill an hour or two when you have nothing to do or if you need a tube of toothpaste.

Back to menu Return to top