$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

3 stars
View map of Calle 30 con Avenida Peru, Zona 4, Panama City,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
3 reviews
Awesome first meet

Staff was attentive hotel was clean and was remodel since I last visited 10 years ago. See full review

  • Bessie
  • Jul 1, 2015
Grand Hotel Soloy July 20011

Hotel Soloy is a great place if if you want to see the real Panama city. Yes the real Panama city.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 30, 2011
The Gran Hotel Soloy & Casino of Panam welcomes you to one of the most symbolic and renowned hotel of the city. A 4 stars accommodation perfect for events, business and vacation in the commercial heart of Panama, the emblematic Peru Avenue. The Hotel is very close to the modern subway of Panama City and only 2 stops far of Allbrook Mall, the biggest shopping center of Central America. From the Gran Hotel Soloy & Casino you will only need 20 minutes by car to reach the Miraflores Lock, the closest lock of the Panama Channel. And in a few minutes by foot you will be in the Cinta Costera. With all the rooms recently renewed, this hotel in the center of Panama is ideal for business trips, conferences and conventions. Free buffet breakfast every day, free WiFi in all the hotel, restaurant , disco bar available for events, parking under surveillance, Air Conditioning, and all the facilities you need. Do not forget to visit the marvellous swimming pool in the top of the hotel, 12th floor, where you can delight the amazing view of all the city. Enjoy the impeccable personalised attention offered by this recognised hotel in Panama.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Deluxe Rooms have been recently remodelled. A spacious room perfect for two people. These rooms have a large bed, plasma cable TV, air conditioning, free WiFi, refrigerator, private bathroom and safe.
Deluxe Double Room
The Double Deluxe Rooms have been recently remodelled. A perfect place for those who need more space. These rooms have two large beds, plasma cable TV, air conditioning, free WiFi, refrigerator, private bathroom and safe. It is possible to add an extra bed to increase its capacity up to 5 people.
Suite Gran Soloy
The most exclusive rooms, the Suite Gran Soloy have been designed to offer more comfort and space to suit your needs. These suites have a lounge with sofas, table and refrigerator, along with a bedroom with a king-size bed and bathroom.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Solarium
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Miraflores Locks: 4.1 mi
  • Panama History Museum: 5.3 mi
  • San Jose Church: 5.3 mi

Dining

El Faro
"El Faro" Restaurant, Enjoy delicious meals up to 11:00 p.m. If you enjoy playing games and bet and if you feel lucky during your trip, then you must visit the Fiesta Casino. There you will find open bar and music on weekends. Also the slot machines, black Jack. The hotel has a swimming pool with a spectacular view, in the 12th floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 3
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3
Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
boca raton, florida
Jul 17, 2011

nightmare at hotel Gran Solloy & casino

sorry i will never stay there again, my first night, the room was dirty, some of the room light did not work, the room phone was pull from the wall,and there was a big stain in the bathroom floor, the next day i complain,they say if i wanted another,if i wish to upgrade, i must pay more,the mannager make me wait 45 min before he talk to me,them finally give me another room, i request one in the 3 or 4 floor, he say they are more expensive, i must pay more, so i go a regular room, i had to pay 25 dollars extra everynight for my son to stay with me,everytime you did not fallow the hotel rules, during check in time,i was never was provided with rules on the hotel, went you break a rule, the lock you out in the room, ou have to go back to lobby and asked why your card entry key does not work, they dont allow guess inside the room, you must pay toooo, during my check out time, they told me, the internet booking,[...],only pay for 5 night, not 6, finally i had leave on my own, they wanted to pay for a extra night, plus late check in time,from that last day, they wanted me to check out at 12, lunch time, my plane leave the next day, early at 2 am, sunday, im very mad at you toooo, i used orbitz before, never had a problem with the hotel, please dont send anyone to this hotel, if you dont believe me, you do so researh yourself,thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food was good at another restaurant next to a small hotel called acapulco hotel

Review of Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bessie
Business
brooklyn
Jul 1, 2015

Awesome first meet

Staff was attentive hotel was clean and was remodel since I last visited 10 years ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jul 30, 2011

Grand Hotel Soloy July 20011

Hotel Soloy is a great place if if you want to see the real Panama city. Yes the real Panama city. The Soloy is located in Calidionia one of the last working class neighborhoods in what I consider the real down town Panama city where gentrification is quickly taking hold. The hotel provides a nice buffet for Breakfast. After eating you can take a stroll up Avenida Peru . On Avenida Peru you will be able to sense the heart beat of the city.It is also a great place for an inexpensive lunch Avenida Peru is full of Food stands that sell Patacones Tamales and Chorisso. To be honest the area can get bit gritty. It is best to walk in the morning hours or early afternoon in the direction of La loteria Nacional and the park Porras several blocks away. While there enjoy a hand made snow cone or just sit in the Park for a few moments and enjoy the movement of the city. From there Basilca Don Bsco is located several blocks away. If you should decide to venture past the park or in the other direction I would consult with the hotel staff as to winch areas were safe to walk in and winch ones are not. If you do decide to venture out I recommend not bring large amounts of cash I have been told there are a few pickpockets out there but this should not discourage a short walk out in the neighborhood. However, I do not recommend venturing out at night and exercise caution when walking on on the side streets. The other good thing is that Taxis are inexpensive compared to USA and if you want to hang out in the trendy tourist spots most of those are close by and the Taxi ride will not cost you to much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Another good thing about Hotel Soloy is that it is close to The Machetaso Superstore.It is about two blocks away and has everything from Grocery to bathing suits to souvenirs or RX.It was helpful to me last trip because I forgot some of my medicine and was able to fill them without an RX. It is a good way to kill an hour or two when you have nothing to do or if you need a tube of toothpaste.

Review of Gran Hotel Soloy and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boca raton, florida
Jul 17, 2011

nightmare at hotel Gran Solloy & casino

sorry i will never stay there again, my first night, the room was dirty, some of the room light did not work, the room phone was pull from the wall,and there was a big stain in the bathroom floor, the next day i complain,they say if i wanted another,if i wish to upgrade, i must pay more,the mannager make me wait 45 min before he talk to me,them finally give me another room, i request one in the 3 or 4 floor, he say they are more expensive, i must pay more, so i go a regular room, i had to pay 25 dollars extra everynight for my son to stay with me,everytime you did not fallow the hotel rules, during check in time,i was never was provided with rules on the hotel, went you break a rule, the lock you out in the room, ou have to go back to lobby and asked why your card entry key does not work, they dont allow guess inside the room, you must pay toooo, during my check out time, they told me, the internet booking,[...],only pay for 5 night, not 6, finally i had leave on my own, they wanted to pay for a extra night, plus late check in time,from that last day, they wanted me to check out at 12, lunch time, my plane leave the next day, early at 2 am, sunday, im very mad at you toooo, i used orbitz before, never had a problem with the hotel, please dont send anyone to this hotel, if you dont believe me, you do so researh yourself,thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food was good at another restaurant next to a small hotel called acapulco hotel

Back to menu Return to top