Avalon Grand Panama

3 stars
Las Cumbres, in front of, Via Transistmica, Panama, Rep. de Panama, Panama City, Rep. de Panama
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
24 reviews
What a GRAND stay

The Avalon Grand Panama is such a beautiful resort. The people are so helpful and personable that I... See full review

  • Jezzbell
  • Apr 19, 2011
Mr. Albert Benjamin, joyful resort

The hotel staff was super professional and courteous, the room was very clean. Will return next... See full review

  • Mr. Albert Benjamin
  • Feb 24, 2010
Relaxing Panama City property with pools for children and adults

The welcoming, six-story Hotel Bahia Suites is conveniently on Via Espana by Balboa Avenue, one of the main thoroughfares in Panama City. Features include an on-site restaurant serving complimentary daily breakfast as well as shimmering swimming pools with separate areas for children and adults. Guest rooms have 24-hour room service, flat-panel cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. An on-site restaurant serves three squares daily, and laundry facilities, tour services and an Internet cafe are available.

Highlights
  • Central location Panama City location near the Bridge of the Americas
  • On-site grill-style restaurant
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free daily breakfast
  • Complimentary access to on-site water park which features nine water slides and a kiddie pool
Rooms

All of the 74 air-conditioned guest rooms at the six-floor Hotel Bahia Suites have one or two queen beds and offer complimentary wireless Internet access, 26-inch, flat-panel cable TVs, telephones, in-room safes and bathrooms with hair-dryers and showers. Room service is also available. Alternately, family rooms and suites are more spacious. Some suites feature Jacuzzis.

Features

The family-friendly Hotel Bahia Suites is not far from Panama Old Cathedral, Palacio de las Garzas and the Bridge of the Americas. Amenities here range from an on-site restaurant serving complimentary breakfast to fitness and laundry facilities and an Internet cafe. Other highlights include a 24-hour front desk, computer rental, dry cleaning service and ticket and tour assistance.

 

Welcoming, comfortable guests rooms are air conditioned and equipped with flat-panel cable TVs and complimentary wireless Internet access. On-site parking is free of charge and a porter is on hand to help guests with luggage. A friendly, multilingual staff only furthers the appeal.

Recreation

Enjoy the on-site amenities here, including tennis courts, a full-service spa and beauty salon. A water park is a hit with the kids: it features nine water slides and a kiddie pool. For the adults: swimming pools.

Transportation
  • Tocumen International Airport (12.3 mi/19.8 km)
Attractions
  • Reprosa - Treasures of Panama (1.5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Albrook Mall (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Panama (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Miraflores Canal Locks (9 mi/14.5 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Computer rental available
  • Internet cafe
Policies and fees

European Plan: For all children traveling with parents with this plan, policy is as follows: Children from 0 to 12 years old: Free of charge, sharing room with parents with existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Grand Panama also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Avalon Grand Panama Rooms

Junior Suite
Two king beds. Rainforest view. Private Balcony. Cable/satellite TV. Complimentary bottled water. Minibar . Microwave. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Air-conditioning
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed and one sofa bed. Rainforest view. Private Balcony. Cable/satellite TV. Complimentary bottled water. Minibar . Microwave. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Air-conditioning.
Villa
One king bed or two double beds. Rainforest view. Balcony/patio. Hacienda-style dcor. Some have a kitchenette. Minibar. Cable/satellite TV. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Air-conditioning.

Amenities

Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • San Jose Church: 4.2 mi
  • Panama History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Miraflores Locks: 7.1 mi

Dining

Avalon Grill
International cuisine served a-la-Carte open all evenings for lunch and dinner, featuring American Cuts and Panamanian local dishes.
Avalon Bar & Lounge
A full-service cocktail lounge. Enjoy any of our Barman vast variety of cocktails, specialty Margaritas and coolers complemented by the large variety Domestic and International Brands of Beverages and Spirits.
The Avalon view restaurant
Features panoramic views of the rain forest and surrounding mountains within a Sun-lighted ambiance. This restaurant offers a wide array of flavors from International and authentic Panamanian cuisine, and features an excellent buffet-style and a-la-Carte service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Grand Panama

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 24
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
3.9

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hedi
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Mar 8, 2012

Disapointing

Must have been a great Hotel 30 years ago !!!! The Building had a Musty Moldy Smell thruout. Rooms, Hallways, Lobby, were cleaned Dayly and are acceptable. Staff very limited in Englich and not very accomadating. Included Breakfast could be inproofed greatly!! However a la card Food in the Restaurant was Enjoyable Good Food. In Room TV : 20 year old Unit with BAD PICTURE and no Englich Channels at all. WE WILL NOT RETURN TO THIS HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AGBAQ
Business
Barranquillita, Barranquilla, Atlantico, Colombia
Dec 8, 2011

Problematic

Expensive taxi from airport. The smell of mold was most prominent. Rooms and spaces were huge. Mostly empty space. Very low quality space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jezzbell
Business
Connecticut
Apr 19, 2011

What a GRAND stay

The Avalon Grand Panama is such a beautiful resort. The people are so helpful and personable that I couldn't have asked for a better stay. Besides the exquisite views and beautiful accommodations the location of the resort was great for us, just 25 to 35 minutes away (depending on traffic and destination) from all of our HOT spots. We drove to Gamboa, Amador, Mira Flores, saw the Canal, Panama City, San Fillepe, ate at great restaurants, and at the end of the day left the city behind to be in a tranquil unbelievably beautiful resort. I was extremely happy with the fact that the staff spoke English, even though I can speak Spanish, and that they were so interactive. I am very impressed and happy with this resort, it really is GRAND!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Amador, Gamboa, San Fillepe, Mira Flores, are just a few of the local cities we visited and each place offered its own beautiful lifestyle to the whole Panama experience. From boat riding on the waters, visiting ruins, shopping, food, people, art, architecture, all in all PANAMA is GREAT. I cannot wait to make it back someday and see that part of the world again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Apr 2, 2011

Third Stay at the Avalon

Yet again a short but pleasurable stay, rooms were clean and large with two big comfortable beds, shower wasn't very hot this time but small price to pay considering the cost. A bit out of the city but once you are in the taxi it doesn't make much difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ozdon
Business
Florida
May 23, 2010

Bad idea

Room was nor worty more than one star and 45 min from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Everywhere
Mar 21, 2010

Only stayed one night but .....

This was a really great place especially for the price. We arrived late (2 am) to a cheerful English speaking lady. The rooms were humungus, two massive beds, all very clean as was indeed the whole place, Breakfast was included which was really nice, super fast free internet only not in the room we were in but i went to the reception which was again huge with loads of comfortable chairs. We had just come from the Marriott in Fort Lauderdale and I liked this place just as much. Air was very effective, a nice balcony and view. All in all a great place at a good price... OK one thing spoilt it, I asked them to call a taxi to take us to Allbrook Airport, it arrived on time and took us in a timely manner arriving about 20 min later but then demanded $25 for the fare, I queried it but no $25 it was, now to people in the US this may seem OK but bearing in mind you can get a taxi from any where in the city to anywhere in the city for about $4, we felt we were "Overcharged" my fault I should have asked before getting in, this is Panama!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a price for a taxi before getting in!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Albert Benjamin
Business
Cleveland,Ohio
Feb 24, 2010

Mr. Albert Benjamin, joyful resort

The hotel staff was super professional and courteous, the room was very clean. Will return next year for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

don't drive if you plan on drinking ,take a cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Humble
Oct 10, 2008

beautiful property

The check-in process was smooth, and the room was a two-king beds suite, large and clean. The area around the hotel is run-down, but not really unsafe. If travelling with kids there is a large waterpark right next door. The full complimentary breakfast was a bonus. Itwas in a dining room overlooking the treetops where we saw so many different birds, more than we had seen at the other rainforest resort. On checking out, the staff made sure we had directions back to the airport, as driving in Panama is horrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top