Avalon Grand Panama

3 stars
Las Cumbres, in front of, Via Transistmica, Panama, Rep. de Panama, Panama City, Rep. de Panama
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
30 reviews
What a GRAND stay

The Avalon Grand Panama is such a beautiful resort. The people are so helpful and personable that I... See full review

  • Jezzbell
  • Apr 19, 2011
This was a very nice hotel with

This was a very nice hotel with friendly staff. Restaraunt has good food. The water park is great... See full review

  • Michael
  • Jan 20, 2011
Relaxing Panama City property with pools for children and adults

The welcoming, six-story Hotel Bahia Suites is conveniently on Via Espana by Balboa Avenue, one of the main thoroughfares in Panama City. Features include an on-site restaurant serving complimentary daily breakfast as well as shimmering swimming pools with separate areas for children and adults. Guest rooms have 24-hour room service, flat-panel cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. An on-site restaurant serves three squares daily, and laundry facilities, tour services and an Internet cafe are available.

Highlights
  • Central location Panama City location near the Bridge of the Americas
  • On-site grill-style restaurant
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free daily breakfast
  • Complimentary access to on-site water park which features nine water slides and a kiddie pool
Rooms

All of the 74 air-conditioned guest rooms at the six-floor Hotel Bahia Suites have one or two queen beds and offer complimentary wireless Internet access, 26-inch, flat-panel cable TVs, telephones, in-room safes and bathrooms with hair-dryers and showers. Room service is also available. Alternately, family rooms and suites are more spacious. Some suites feature Jacuzzis.

Features

The family-friendly Hotel Bahia Suites is not far from Panama Old Cathedral, Palacio de las Garzas and the Bridge of the Americas. Amenities here range from an on-site restaurant serving complimentary breakfast to fitness and laundry facilities and an Internet cafe. Other highlights include a 24-hour front desk, computer rental, dry cleaning service and ticket and tour assistance.

 

Welcoming, comfortable guests rooms are air conditioned and equipped with flat-panel cable TVs and complimentary wireless Internet access. On-site parking is free of charge and a porter is on hand to help guests with luggage. A friendly, multilingual staff only furthers the appeal.

Recreation

Enjoy the on-site amenities here, including tennis courts, a full-service spa and beauty salon. A water park is a hit with the kids: it features nine water slides and a kiddie pool. For the adults: swimming pools.

Transportation
  • Tocumen International Airport (12.3 mi/19.8 km)
Attractions
  • Reprosa - Treasures of Panama (1.5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Albrook Mall (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Panama (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Miraflores Canal Locks (9 mi/14.5 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Computer rental available
  • Internet cafe
Policies and fees

European Plan: For all children traveling with parents with this plan, policy is as follows: Children from 0 to 12 years old: Free of charge, sharing room with parents with existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

9.0789 -79.5317
Area served
Las Cumbres City, Panama
Nearby airports
PTY - Tocumen International
Area description
The Avalon Grand Panama is located in the heart of the rainforest, 15 minutes drive to Panama City, 20 minutes drive to the Panama Canal and within a one-hour drive to most sightseeing attractions, cultural marketplaces, museums, archeological sites and historical areas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Grand Panama also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Avalon Grand Panama Rooms

Junior Suite
Two king beds. Rainforest view. Private Balcony. Cable/satellite TV. Complimentary bottled water. Minibar . Microwave. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Air-conditioning
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed and one sofa bed. Rainforest view. Private Balcony. Cable/satellite TV. Complimentary bottled water. Minibar . Microwave. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Air-conditioning.
Villa
One king bed or two double beds. Rainforest view. Balcony/patio. Hacienda-style dcor. Some have a kitchenette. Minibar. Cable/satellite TV. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Air-conditioning.

Amenities

Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • San Jose Church: 4.2 mi
  • Panama History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Miraflores Locks: 7.1 mi

Dining

Avalon Grill
International cuisine served a-la-Carte open all evenings for lunch and dinner, featuring American Cuts and Panamanian local dishes.
Avalon Bar & Lounge
A full-service cocktail lounge. Enjoy any of our Barman vast variety of cocktails, specialty Margaritas and coolers complemented by the large variety Domestic and International Brands of Beverages and Spirits.
The Avalon view restaurant
Features panoramic views of the rain forest and surrounding mountains within a Sun-lighted ambiance. This restaurant offers a wide array of flavors from International and authentic Panamanian cuisine, and features an excellent buffet-style and a-la-Carte service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Grand Panama

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
2.7
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael
Not Provided
Jan 20, 2011

This was a very nice hotel with

This was a very nice hotel with friendly staff. Restaraunt has good food. The water park is great for a hot day or for kids entertainment. The location is away from city noise and shopping and you will need taxi or car. The rooms are very large and beds comfortable. I would return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brainiaccc
london
Aug 18, 2013

natural hotel

I am not happy because on the website it was not any up to date information about the water park timetable and when I went there it was closed and is open just for sun day which is not fair for summer holidays time and I missed the water park unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C. J.
Los Angeles, California
Jul 1, 2013

NOT AS ADVERTISED

Unfortunately, this hotel was not as you see online. The amazing looking pools and water park were completely shut down. We were told it runs only on the weekends but by the look of it, it didnt look like any had used it for years. The hotel rooms were very very big which was a nice surprise. If you don't have the amenities that you advertise online then please DO NOT list them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hedi
Toronto, ON, Canada
Mar 8, 2012

Disapointing

Must have been a great Hotel 30 years ago !!!! The Building had a Musty Moldy Smell thruout. Rooms, Hallways, Lobby, were cleaned Dayly and are acceptable. Staff very limited in Englich and not very accomadating. Included Breakfast could be inproofed greatly!! However a la card Food in the Restaurant was Enjoyable Good Food. In Room TV : 20 year old Unit with BAD PICTURE and no Englich Channels at all. WE WILL NOT RETURN TO THIS HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andrew1023
Panama
Feb 10, 2012

Not so good

The photos showed something that we didn't find when we were there. You probably could find better options for this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AGBAQ
Barranquillita, Barranquilla, Atlantico, Colombia
Dec 8, 2011

Problematic

Expensive taxi from airport. The smell of mold was most prominent. Rooms and spaces were huge. Mostly empty space. Very low quality space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
[@]Hagerstown MD, 21742.
May 16, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

1- The staffwas fantastic, specially [...] great worker. in reallity all the staff was awsome.2- The bathroom floor need a little bit more cleanning because they have mildew stains and it is kindof gross.3-The food I order was always very good.4- My only bad experience while I was there was the night before my last night the hotelwas roobed while I was slleping, I thank GOD that those bad men did not go into the guess room because, that could have been a tragedy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The distance is a litle farawy form the airport. other than that my experience was great. I'm planning to travel next year with my kids I just hope the security is better. Thanks for everything, [...].

Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Costa Rica
Apr 26, 2011

Know what to expect

The hotel is just o.k.- I think you need to know what to expect before hand. If you are looking for a slightly below average hotel (based on US standards) that is a good deal and that your children will enjoy then this is a good choice. Good news first- The rooms are very large, the decor is acceptable and the water park is excellent for kids- PLEASE NOTE: Park is only open on weekends- so plan accordingly! Now the bad stuff: Do not expect anything at all fancy- The service leaves much to be desired and the breakfast as well- we could barely stomach the food (but we are particular eaters)- but they definitely do try- Just don't have the training and likely funds to do it right... Room was surface cleaned but if you lifted anything up- it was filthy! We had to request that the bed sheets be changed- I think they missed that after the previous guests... But they did do it promptly (with out a smile) The water park needed some TLC also- but worked. The children were none the wiser and they had a great time. If it wasn't for the water park, my husband and I would have had a horrendous time. With some renovations and customer service and other training and new cooks- this hotel has the potential to really be good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Unless you are coming to this hotel for the water park, you will need to go elsewhere for recreation. Down town Panama city is a short drive away $20 by taxi one way; So if you don't want to spend that on taxi fares- spend the extra money for a nicer hotel down town.

Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aray0610
Miami, Florida. USA
Apr 25, 2011

Too far...

The hotel is actually more than 30 minutes away from everything (18km) that's not counting traffic which is horrible and taxi fares expensive. There's no complimentary transportation offered and no nearby malls just a couple of indoor flea-market-type shopping centers. The service at the restaurant is poor, the waiters are unfriendly, unprepared teenagers, the gym is cluttered with broken machines and old, rusty-looking dumb bells. The rooms: they are HUGE and clean but furnished with old, broken pieces. Don't you even dream about privacy since you can hear your neighbor's wispers. This is more like a local, family oriented weekend hang out place, it is very annoying people running and screaming in the hallways. In a positive note, the place is indeed located in the middle of a park, it has a nice view and the maids are hard working women, the rooms are sparkling clean and the air conditioning works like a champ... If you are a city guy looking for fun and shopping this is not the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The nice restaurants and malls are all very distant: Albrook, MetroMall and others are a nice ride away. Calle Uruguay is like 20-25 min drive.

Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jezzbell
Connecticut
Apr 19, 2011

What a GRAND stay

The Avalon Grand Panama is such a beautiful resort. The people are so helpful and personable that I couldn't have asked for a better stay. Besides the exquisite views and beautiful accommodations the location of the resort was great for us, just 25 to 35 minutes away (depending on traffic and destination) from all of our HOT spots. We drove to Gamboa, Amador, Mira Flores, saw the Canal, Panama City, San Fillepe, ate at great restaurants, and at the end of the day left the city behind to be in a tranquil unbelievably beautiful resort. I was extremely happy with the fact that the staff spoke English, even though I can speak Spanish, and that they were so interactive. I am very impressed and happy with this resort, it really is GRAND!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Amador, Gamboa, San Fillepe, Mira Flores, are just a few of the local cities we visited and each place offered its own beautiful lifestyle to the whole Panama experience. From boat riding on the waters, visiting ruins, shopping, food, people, art, architecture, all in all PANAMA is GREAT. I cannot wait to make it back someday and see that part of the world again.

Review of Avalon Grand Panama

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cateyes
Silver Spring, MD
Apr 15, 2011

"It could have been better"

This was our first time in Panama, we stayed out most of the time. It was really not much to do in the hotel, everything we read about monkeys or birds flying around the hotel never happened. We went for a walk to see and experience the hanging bridge(no bridge) apparently is getting so old that no one can cross it. The staff was very friendly, the restaurant food was not that great, the room was clean but it needs a lot of maintenance. The water leaking from the ac units was visible on the walls, doors look old, the shower head had water flowing only from one side. After our second day the water was either too hot or too cold, so we had to shower at the speed of lightning not to get burnt or turned into icebergs. On our 5th night the room was infested with bugs(scarabs)It needs lots of maintenance! it is not a 3 1/2 star hotel, it is not what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Metro Mall (nice),one restaurant at Terraza's "Sushi" Japanese style was SUPER! we strongly recommend it.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search