$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Melia Panama Canal

4 stars
Old School of Americas - Gatun Lake, Residencial Espinar, Colon,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
28 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Perfect Hotel, food, location, people, rate - everything about it, will certainly come back. See full review

  • Mimitoon
  • Jul 4, 2014
Renew hotel, Old style, Not so good location

It's a Old style hotel, with new addes, It's stile in renovations, The location it's far from... See full review

  • DAAPP
  • Nov 22, 2014
Luxe hotel near Panama Canal with pool, health club and massages

Situated on a peninsula on Gatun Lake, near the city of Colon and the region's Free Trade Zone, the Melia Panama Canal is a luxurious, modern property stocked with creature comforts. Amenities range from a business center, massage treatments, laundry and babysitting services and a gift shop brimming with local crafts. The property has its own heliport and offers guided tours of local attractions as well as bird-watching and fishing excursions.

Highlights
  • On-site heliport
  • All rooms feature views of the pool or Gatun Lake
  • Two restaurants, one with themed dining nights
  • Swimming pool and health club
  • 24-hour rooms service
Rooms

All 310 guest rooms at the tony Melia Panama Canal have one king or two twin beds awash in tropical hues. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TVs, in-room safes and direct-dial telephones. Elegant private bathrooms feature bathtubs, cosmetic mirror and hair-dryers. High-speed Internet access is included. Executive rooms are oversized and offer views of Gatun Lake or the pool.

Dining

The intimate, secret-feeling Melia Panama Canal has two restaurants, one casual with buffet and a la carte offerings that trot the globe. Wednesdays, for example, feature Panamanian faves, while tacos and margaritas take center stage on Tuesdays. Its companion, a casual steakhouse, serves imported cuts of meat. Craving privacy? 24-hour room service is available as well.

Recreation

Pool and piano bars are on site, and tours to local attractions or bird-watching or fishing excursions can be arranged. Additionally, the Melia Panama Canal houses a pool and health club, plus massage services. Beyond the property, visitors can explore the area's treasury of historic sites, plus ecological tours, sport fishing and beyond. Other available activities on site include boat ride and fishing on Gatun Lake, visit to Indian Island Village as well as tennis court and basketball court.

Transportation
  • Tocumen International Airport (37.3 mi/60 km)
Attractions
  • Free Trade Zone (3.7 m/5.9 km)
  • Gatun Locks (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Fort San Lorenzo (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Business
  • Event space at Hernando Colon Convention Center for up to 800 people
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Panama Canal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Melia Panama Canal Rooms

STANDARD DELUXE LAKE VIEW
Room offers 1 King or 2 Twin beds along with a magnificent lake view, are all equipped with Air conditioned, cable TV, safe, two telephones with direct dialing, computer data port, elegant bathrooms with hair dryers and cosmetic mirror.
STANDARD DELUXE LAKE VIEW
King or 2 Twin beds along with a magnificent lake view,luxuriously furnished, business style desk, are all equipped wit Air conditioned, cable TV, safe, two telephones with direct dialing, computer data port, elegant bathrooms with special amenities, hair dryers and cosmetic mirror.
STANDARD DELUXE POOL VIEW
Room offers 1 King or 2 Twin beds along with a magnificent pool view, are all equipped wit Air conditioned, cable TV, safe, two telephones with direct dialing, computer data port, elegant bathrooms with hair dryers and cosmetic mirror.
STANDARD EXECUTIVE POOL VIEW
Room offers 1 King or 2 Twin beds along with a magnificent pool view,luxuriously furnished,business style desk, are all equipped wit Air conditioned, cable TV, safe, two telephones with direct dialing, computer data port, elegant bathrooms with special amenities, hair dryers and cosmetic mirror.
Deluxe Room All Inclusive
Open bar of national drinks from 11:00 h to 23:00 h in bars where applicable.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet at Restaurant Miraflores, Snack menu in Pool or Lobby Bar (at designated hours)
+Live music (Friday and Saturday)
+zumba classes (Saturday & Sunday)**
+One hour of free kayak. Use of facilities.
+Access pass + roundtrip transfer to Free Zone, Colon, Panama
+Free wifi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Center with meeting rooms for up to 800 persons.

Dining

MIRAFLORES RESTAURANT
The most varied breakfast buffet and for lunch the presentation of local and International dishes served in the buffet or a la carte.
PIANO BAR
Ensures and Intimate atmosphere, with the most varied selection of cocktails and entertainment, including live music.
Open from 5:00PM to 11:00PM
POOL BAR
Pool side bar. Open from 11:00AM to 6:00PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Panama Canal

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Been lots of places
Business
Marquette, MI
Dec 8, 2009

Hidden Jewel

This hotel was formerly an American Military Officers' jungle training school, located on our old base, but it is elegant in both architecture and grounds and has the largest and most beautiful pool I've ever enjoyed. You will need a taxi for anything other than relaxing at the resort, because it is far removed from everything. Peaceful, clean, quiet, serene, luxurious and with a helpful and friendly staff - although some are very limited in English while others are fluent. The hotel will arrange transportation and tours for a reasonable cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

This hotel is a 20-minute taxi ride from everything (very isolated and private), but you wouldn't want to walk anywhere in Colon anyway. Hotel has a casino, gift shop, restaurant (good food, reasonable prices - lunch buffet $20.00), unbelievable pool and beautiful grounds on a lake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los NGELES
Jul 23, 2009

great location

Short stay but very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Canal was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los cabos Mexico
Jul 22, 2009

it was like stepping back in time..

we went to colon for the purpose of shopping in the free zone, which by the way, is closed sat., and sun.. the resort was Very creepy at night, it has a Very old feel to it....however, during the day the grounds made up the uneasiness of the nights.. the fact that the resort is surrounding by water is amazing, it looks so beautiful .. I loved all the big old trees on the property as well.. and there is a zipline right there, so there are fun things to do during the day.. the pool was also very nice and big...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the duty free zone is closed on sat. and sun..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelind dad and son
Business
brooklyn, ny
Jul 18, 2009

great hoter poor service

the hotel is great but the staff was a bit slow with some of my recuest. at times i had to hunt them down to get something I needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

there is a mini mal ans supermarkets 3miles away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama
Jul 15, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

First when I made my reservation I wanted to use my triple AAA card. I have stayed here five days and have not been able to sleep very well, noisy,bugs. The staff was hard to communicate with I am not that fluent in spanish at all. Then I started getting charged all these extra charges like a local call within my room cost 75 cents a minute, the internet did not work with my computer because they did not have the yellow cord, i am in online college and need my laptop internet access all the time. In order to use there business center I have to pay $3.00 an hour for int. access. The other issue is the mini bar I have over $25 that I have to pay for stuff that I did not eat or drink. I bought my drinks and snacks from the store in the hotel lobby. I am not having a very happy stay considering it costs me alot to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get to walk down to the lake make sure you bring your camera to take beautiful pics of the nature around you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2blessed
Business
austin texas
Jul 6, 2009

more than that

The hotel had everything .. I did not have to leave to have an enjoyable vacation. Excellent in all areas.. However the surrounding streets were somewhat less desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was great. The buffet was fit for a queen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 15, 2009

Melia Panama Hotel

Beautiful view of the Lake from our room. Very friendly staff and excellent food. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 3, 2008

A very good place to stay

I was greatly recieved, and made very at ease & comfortable, every thing that I requested,was given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

there is a great shopping mall,with great prices & quality goods

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top