$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Melia Panama Canal

4 stars
View map of Old School of Americas - Gatun Lake, Residencial Espinar, Colon,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Panama Canal

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.4

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 26, 2011

Lovely Hotel

The hotel is beautiful in that "old elegance" kind of way. The staff friendly. If you want just relaxation, this is the place. You need not leave the hotel; just stay by the pool, or walk and sit near the lake. Breakfast buffet was included, and that was scrumptous. You need a taxi or a car to get to and from the hotel; there is no public transportation that brings you near. I suggest you go out for dinner or lunch, as the menu is limited and the price high. Most of the employees speak English and those that didn't, found someone that did to communicate. Yes, I would go again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Panama is inexpensive as far as clothing and food, alcohol. Go to the local mall for all (Guatro Alto).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, florida
Sep 6, 2010

the worst vacation ever

nightmare vacation, about 2 hours driving from the airport to the hotel when we got there the hotel was empty, no staff available to help us with the luggage, the pool bar was closed at 5.00pm, they had problems with the a/c, we went to sleep and when we wake up about 10.30pm they kitchen was closed ( no soda, we beg for a bottle of water becuase they don't have a mini bar in the rooms or vending machines) the casino was closed, and the neiborghood is so bad that you are risking your life if you drive to the closest supermarket, this is not what you have in mind for vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, florida
Sep 6, 2010

the worst vacation ever

nightmare vacation, about 2 hours driving from the airport to the hotel when we got there the hotel was empty, no staff available to help us with the luggage, the pool bar was closed at 5.00pm, they had problems with the a/c, we went to sleep and when we wake up about 10.30pm they kitchen was closed ( no soda, we beg for a bottle of water becuase they don't have a mini bar in the rooms or vending machines) the casino was closed, and the neiborghood is so bad that you are risking your life if you drive to the closest supermarket, this is not what you have in mind for vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry and Debbie
Business
Munising, Michigan
Apr 20, 2010

Great Service and a Wonderful Place

We went on a fishing charter from hotel which was great caught some Peacock Bass, relaxed by the pool which is very large and clean, dining area clean polite and great food. Disco lounge going up while there, cant wait to go back. All around great service and polite people that help out greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Duty Free Zone, stores from all over the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Been lots of places
Business
Marquette, MI
Dec 8, 2009

Hidden Jewel

This hotel was formerly an American Military Officers' jungle training school, located on our old base, but it is elegant in both architecture and grounds and has the largest and most beautiful pool I've ever enjoyed. You will need a taxi for anything other than relaxing at the resort, because it is far removed from everything. Peaceful, clean, quiet, serene, luxurious and with a helpful and friendly staff - although some are very limited in English while others are fluent. The hotel will arrange transportation and tours for a reasonable cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

This hotel is a 20-minute taxi ride from everything (very isolated and private), but you wouldn't want to walk anywhere in Colon anyway. Hotel has a casino, gift shop, restaurant (good food, reasonable prices - lunch buffet $20.00), unbelievable pool and beautiful grounds on a lake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los NGELES
Jul 23, 2009

great location

Short stay but very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Canal was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los cabos Mexico
Jul 22, 2009

it was like stepping back in time..

we went to colon for the purpose of shopping in the free zone, which by the way, is closed sat., and sun.. the resort was Very creepy at night, it has a Very old feel to it....however, during the day the grounds made up the uneasiness of the nights.. the fact that the resort is surrounding by water is amazing, it looks so beautiful .. I loved all the big old trees on the property as well.. and there is a zipline right there, so there are fun things to do during the day.. the pool was also very nice and big...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the duty free zone is closed on sat. and sun..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelind dad and son
Business
brooklyn, ny
Jul 18, 2009

great hoter poor service

the hotel is great but the staff was a bit slow with some of my recuest. at times i had to hunt them down to get something I needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

there is a mini mal ans supermarkets 3miles away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama
Jul 15, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

First when I made my reservation I wanted to use my triple AAA card. I have stayed here five days and have not been able to sleep very well, noisy,bugs. The staff was hard to communicate with I am not that fluent in spanish at all. Then I started getting charged all these extra charges like a local call within my room cost 75 cents a minute, the internet did not work with my computer because they did not have the yellow cord, i am in online college and need my laptop internet access all the time. In order to use there business center I have to pay $3.00 an hour for int. access. The other issue is the mini bar I have over $25 that I have to pay for stuff that I did not eat or drink. I bought my drinks and snacks from the store in the hotel lobby. I am not having a very happy stay considering it costs me alot to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get to walk down to the lake make sure you bring your camera to take beautiful pics of the nature around you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2blessed
Business
austin texas
Jul 6, 2009

more than that

The hotel had everything .. I did not have to leave to have an enjoyable vacation. Excellent in all areas.. However the surrounding streets were somewhat less desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was great. The buffet was fit for a queen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top