Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$132
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 23, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016
4.1 /5
Overall score
100%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

The stylish, 3-star Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama boasts panoramic views of Oslo City and fjord from its quite location in central Oslo. Chic Scandinavian decor features gleaming wood floors and sleek furniture with bright accents. After a free breakfast buffet, guests explore the vibrant Kvadraturen neighborhood boutique shops, cafes, restaurants and bars. Free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel is available.

Rooms

The Thon Hotel Panorama features 118 rooms furnished with hardwood floors, neutral colors with deep blue and orange accents. The upper level rooms feature wooden terraces where guests enjoy panoramic views of the city and fjords. Units have flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Disabled and allergy-free rooms, extra beds and baby cots are available on request. The hotel also has two penthouse suites and long-term apartments.

Property features

The stylish Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama is centrally located, within easy walking distance to Oslo's major historic, cultural and shopping attractions. As the name suggests, the hotel boasts panoramic views of Oslo City and fjord, which are enjoyed from upper-floor terraces. Professional business facilities, including two meeting rooms, make this hotel suitable for business and leisure travelers alike.

After a complimentary organic breakfast, guests explore the Kvadraturen district, one of Oslo's oldest areas which has recently emerged as a vibrant shopping area with designer boutiques, charming cafes and restaurants. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Highlights

  • Panoramic views of Oslo city and fjord
  • Complimentary organic breakfast
  • Central location in Kvadraturen district
  • Some units have balconies

Nearby attractions

  • National Museum of Contemporary Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Storting (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Akershus Fortress (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Theater (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • National Gallery (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

Business

  • Two penthouse meeting rooms hold 10 guests
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Adjoining lounge and rooftop terrace
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel

Transportation

  • Oslo Central Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Flytoget airport express train (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Oslo Gardemoen Airport (30.91 mi/49.7 km)

Dining

Hotel Restaurant
The hotel serves a breakfast buffet with a wide variety of hot and cold dishes* fresh fruit and a range of organic meals.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.4 / 5
$137
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$89

Thon Hotel Opera

★★★★
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$104
Guest score 3.2 / 5
$124
Guest score 3.2 / 5
$89

Thon Hotel Europa

★★★★
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$86

Amenities

Featured

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Elevators
  • Executive level

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Coffee maker in room
  • Family plan

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Maid service
  • Security
  • Wake-up service

Internet

  • High-speed internet

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities
  • Accessible facilities

Room

  • Television with cable
  • Radio
  • Desk with lamp
  • Mini bar
  • Hairdryer in room
  • In room movies
  • Electronic door locks
  • Iron

Reviews

4.1 /5 Overall score

100% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.9/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.5/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 4.4/5
  • Value: 4.1/5

Excellent value hotel in Oslo

Would recommend Thu, Aug 27, 2015
We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and enjoyed it very much. The room is big and very clean. It comes with balcony and kitchen which we didn't expect. Our room has a window overlooking the Harbour, very nice view. The breakfast is one of the best I experienced in hotels and I travel a lot. Even the 24 hr coffee and tea use very high quality coffee and tea like in a 5 star hotel. The location is very close to city center and 10 min walk to train station. I never write hotel review but I want to recommend this hotel to anyone!

| Bridgewater Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good value business hotel

Would recommend Tue, Sep 17, 2013
Facilities and position are excellent for business visitors from abroad. Staff were very helpful with transport advice, restaurant locations and where information was not known they looked it up - very important that visitors obtain correct information. Some business and sightseeing was done. Wi-fi connection was poor - only obtained sufficient signal strength in the bathroom!!

Dining

Greta restaurants at water front but equally good ones behind at more competitive prices.

| Johannesburg SA Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Overall good, but some things to note

Would recommend Sun, Sep 2, 2012
I wanted to love this hotel, but overall better than average, but some issues: Plusses: really good location modern accomodations excellent breakfast Negatives: bathrooms small - shower just a swinging glass divider if you are 4 people, no light shades in the living room. We did get upgraded to a penthouse suite the first day and that was AWESOME, about 10 times the size of our business jr. suite. So, really good for 2-3 people, but kinda small for 4 people.

| NYC Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Oslo Room

Would recommend Mon, Aug 20, 2012
This hotel was fine for the price and the staff was very nice. My only suggestion is that during summer months make sure that the hotel does not convert to a "Thon Junior" hotel. Prior to our arrival date, the hotel was geared to appeal to and serve children and their families. This is great if you have children and are looking for such a vacation. But others may be looking for something quieter. This temporary conversion was not a problem for us because we were gone most of the day, but had I known I would have not chosen this hotel.

Money saver

The breakfast was very good! Don't miss it.

| San Diego, CA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama

Would recommend Sat, May 21, 2011
Excellent location. We were able to walk everywhere and see all the sights. Breakfast included was excellent.

Money saver

Purchase the Oslo Pass. Seniors get a discount and almost all museums and transportation in the city are free.

| Easton, Maryland Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good location, great breakfast!

Would recommend Sun, Apr 25, 2010
My husband and I traveled to Olso for 3 nights in March 2010 (we're currently living in Helsinki), and we really enjoyed our stay at Thon! Note that there is another Thon near this one, closer to the central station, that looks to be more of a city hotel (we went there first on accident); I would recommend this one based on first impressions. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a nice girl who upgraded us to an apartment room; the view from the room was fantastic, and although there wasn't adequate lounge space (Scandinavian minimalist style), it was a good home base for a busy weekend. They were also very helpful throughout our stay, providing us with directions to the ski slopes, etc. The breakfast at this hotel is key, since Oslo is prohibitively expensive; fill up in the morning on delicious Norwegian pancakes and other hot selections so that you can just get one meal out per day. Also, the round-the-clock coffee/latte machine and biscotti downstairs are great. The harbour, Karl Johans Gate (the main drag) and many museums are also located within walking distance. The only thing negative I would say is that although it's located in a good spot for sightseeing, exploring and transportation, the few blocks that take you from Johans Gate to the hotel can be a little shady at night. We would definitely stay again!

Dining

Restaurant tip: One day we went to the nearby The Dubliner pub, and although it cost over $100 US for a meal for two with a few rounds, their fish and chips are fantastic (and believe it or not, this is one of the more affordable options)!

| Helsinki, FI Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama

Would recommend Sat, Jul 11, 2009
No complaints.

| USA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good value, great location

Would recommend Fri, Jul 10, 2009
The hotel had everything that was advertised. We were fortunate in getting upgraded to a room with a view and balcony, and the facilities were generally clean and well maintained. The location is convenient for walking to the central train station and the harbor area. Included breakfast was substantial and with plenty of room for guests.

Attractions

It is an easy walk from the hotel to the harbor area, with numerous restaurants and a ferry to interesting museums. We had no need for a car, which would be a burden in the central area of Oslo.

| Dallas, TX Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Modern hotel in great location,

Would recommend Sun, Jul 5, 2009
Overwhelmingly recommend this hotel for sightseeing etc in Oslo. We found location superb & enjoyed the modern decor etc. Staff were super & very helpful on a number of diff ocassions. We checked in past midnight & were told we were upgraded from a standard room as they had none available. Our upgraded room on the 9th floor had an awesome view & was a small suite. Bedroom was tiny so small only one side of queen bed had a night table . Also the room clearly had not been checked..one bedside light did not work, the shower head did not stay put in one place & the soap/gel dispenser in the shower was completely absent, the shower gel bottle was laid on its side on the handle.. it clearly needed some maintenance!! It was the end of a long holiday for us & we did not bother asking for these things to be repaired as they did not impact us in a significant way. Having said that we would have preferred to have had a room that had been more carefully managed.

| philadelphia pa Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

modern hotel great location

Would recommend Wed, Jun 24, 2009
We spent two nights here and were upgraded to a nicer room than we booked originally. The location was great--near galleries and some very nice restaurants. Also 5-10 min walk to the train station and to the university area and Rathaus and wharf. There is a computer for checking email and everyone was very friendly. The breakfast buffet was adequate but sort of unorganized and it took a long time to get things replenished once they were out of something. There is free fruit, candies, coffee and espresso in the lobby for guests. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Dining

There is a great Italian bistro across from the Grims Grenka hotel on Kongens Gate and the Engebret Cafe has wonderful food--sort of traditional Norwegian fare but with a sophisticated and modern twist. It was our best meal in Norway!

| Ohio Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Oslo Nye Teater 0.2 mi
Oslo Domkirke 0.2 mi
Oslo Railway station 0.3 mi
Aker Brygge 0.5 mi
Det Norske Teatret 0.8 mi
Nasjonalbiblioteket 0.9 mi
Gamlebyen 0.9 mi
Bislett Stadion 0.9 mi
Bygdoj 0.9 mi
Grunerlokka 1 mi
St. Hanshaugen 1.1 mi
Uranienborg 1.2 mi
Mathallen Oslo 1.5 mi
Birkelunden 1.5 mi
Fram Museum 1.7 mi
Majorstuen and Frogner 1.7 mi
Frognerbadet 1.9 mi
Helsfyr 2 mi
Sagene 2 mi
Vigeland Park 2.1 mi
Sinsen 2.2 mi
Korketrekkeren 2.2 mi
University of Oslo 2.3 mi
Torshov 2.6 mi
Ulleval 2.8 mi
Ullevaal Stadion 2.9 mi
BI Norwegian Business School 3 mi
Nordberg 3.3 mi
Høstutstillingen 3.3 mi
Njårdhallen 3.4 mi
CC Vest 3.7 mi
Holmenkollen 4.5 mi
Fornebu 4.8 mi
Furuset 5.2 mi
Sandvika 7.7 mi
Holocaust Center 16.6 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$132
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 23, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016