$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Thon Hotel Astoria

3 stars
Dronningens gate 21, --, Oslo, 00154
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
8 reviews
Actually Thon Spektrum

This review is really for the Thon Spektrum as my reservation got transferred. The hotel was a... See full review

  • Sijuki
  • Apr 24, 2014
Can't beat the location

Walking distance to Oslo S Central train station and Karl Johan Gate, a shopping street. Plus good... See full review

  • CLM6
  • Nov 27, 2013
If you dont need a minibar or pay tv channels this is a real scoop. You will still be able to purchase beverages in the reception and receive 9 free tv channels. We welcome you to 180 rooms 102 of which face towards our backyard. Al rooms are equipped with sower wc hairdryer trouser press telephone radio as well as staellite tv. In addition to our standard rooms we offer rooms for non smokers and handicap rooms. Our accommodating staff will do their very best to ensure that you enjoy your stay with us. Thon Hotel Astoria is located in the centre of Oslo a mere 50 metres from the main street Karl Johan. Two minute walking distance to the central train station the airport shuttle bus and the airport express train. Most major attractions in Oslo are within walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thon Hotel Astoria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Thon Hotel Astoria Rooms

Small Single Room Non Smoking
Small Single Room Non Smoking
Standard Double Room Non Smoking
Double room with a double bed for up to two persons
Standard Family Room Non Smoking
Double room with twin beds and additionally bedding - suitable for up to four persons
Standard Twin Room Non Smoking
Double room with twin beds 2 x 80-90 cm for up to two persons
Standard Single Room Non Smoking
Standard single room with a single bed - 80-120cm - suitable for one person

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Golf
Dining
Meal plan - bed and breakfast
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Eldorado Kino: 0.1 mi
  • Oslo Railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Oslo Nye Teater: 0.3 mi
  • Aker Brygge: 0.6 mi
  • Det Norske Teatret: 0.7 mi
  • Grunerlokka: 0.8 mi
  • Gamlebyen: 0.8 mi
  • Bislett Stadion: 0.9 mi
  • Bygdoj: 0.9 mi
  • Nasjonalbiblioteket: 0.9 mi
  • St. Hanshaugen: 1 mi
  • Uranienborg: 1.1 mi
  • Mathallen Oslo: 1.3 mi
  • Birkelunden: 1.4 mi
  • Majorstuen and Frogner: 1.6 mi
  • Eldorado Kino: 0.1 mi
  • Oslo Railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Oslo Nye Teater: 0.3 mi
  • Aker Brygge: 0.6 mi
  • Det Norske Teatret: 0.7 mi
  • Grunerlokka: 0.8 mi
  • Gamlebyen: 0.8 mi
  • Bislett Stadion: 0.9 mi
  • Bygdoj: 0.9 mi
  • Nasjonalbiblioteket: 0.9 mi
  • St. Hanshaugen: 1 mi
  • Uranienborg: 1.1 mi
  • Mathallen Oslo: 1.3 mi
  • Birkelunden: 1.4 mi
  • Majorstuen and Frogner: 1.6 mi
  • Fram Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Sagene: 1.8 mi
  • Frognerbadet: 1.8 mi
  • Helsfyr: 1.9 mi
  • Sinsen: 2 mi
  • Korketrekkeren: 2 mi
  • Vigeland Park: 2.1 mi
  • University of Oslo: 2.2 mi
  • Torshov: 2.4 mi
  • Ulleval: 2.6 mi
  • Ullevaal Stadion: 2.8 mi
  • BI Norwegian Business School: 2.8 mi
  • Nordberg: 3.2 mi
  • Njårdhallen: 3.3 mi
  • Høstutstillingen: 3.4 mi
  • CC Vest: 3.8 mi
  • Holmenkollen: 4.5 mi
  • Fornebu: 4.9 mi
  • Furuset: 5.1 mi
  • Sandvika: 7.8 mi
  • Norwegian University of Life Sciences: 16.7 mi

Dining

Breakfast hall
On site breakfast hall and breakfast may or may not be included in room rate. breakfast may be purchased for NOK65

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Thon Hotel Astoria

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve77346
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 30, 2012

Thon Hotel Astoria - Oslo

Convenient to train station. Rooms were clean but tiny. We had a room on the corner and could not open our window because the room on the other side had their window open. Clientele is middle class which is not surprising considering the price of hotel rooms in Oslo. I was propositioned 3 times while standing infront of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Biz Traveler253
Business
Israel
Oct 3, 2012

Extremely uncomfortable room, shady street

The bed was awful - couldn't get a decent sleep during my 4 nights there. The heater was broken and the room was freezing. when I tried phoning the front desk to ask for a repairmen - I found the phone was also not functioning (sticky keys prevented its use). The heater was fixed the next day, though, after informing the front desk personally. The Hotel itself is located in a very good location geographically, but in a shady street - Strip shows available next door, and plenty of "working girls" nearby. Some might consider this as a good thing, but for me it felt pretty uncomfortable trying to explain why I'm not "looking for a good time" every time I returned to the hotel at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Aker Brygg is whithin 10-15 minutes walk and has many good restaurants. I especially recommend Druen - it's a bar/restaurant with great food and excellent service. If you're looking for something a bit more posh, try Lofoten's 5 course meal. A real treat, but at a very high price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stose
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Good Deal

Small room with no frills but good price and quite close to central Oslo. Plenty to do within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex B
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 5, 2012

Great location

5 minutes from central station. Main street is just around the corner. Special thanks to the host Kim, who was very helpful. Cleaners should vacuum floor more thorough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

City center is within 10 minutes of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sijuki
Business
Detroit, Mi
Apr 24, 2014

Actually Thon Spektrum

This review is really for the Thon Spektrum as my reservation got transferred. The hotel was a small room, but typical of what I would expect in Europe, it was very cozy. I enjoyed that the windows opened so I could get fresh air and look at the street below. Staff was nice. Morning continental breakfast was nice as well. lunchmeats, cheeses, scrambled eggs, bread/pastry items, coffee, and juices, yogurt. Bed was comfortable, had several outlets, and a tv. Bathroom was small, but manageable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beresford
Business
Birmingham England
Sep 6, 2012

Adequate tourist hotel

All the facilities you need, comfortable bed, shower, and desk. Apart from the inevitable neighbour who starts thumping around at 6am every day, the nights were quiet except Saturday when there was a lot of bass and shouting from a nearby disco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy Oslo Pass on-line from Viatour, prices are very expensive in Oslo and you need all the help you can get,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLM6
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 27, 2013

Can't beat the location

Walking distance to Oslo S Central train station and Karl Johan Gate, a shopping street. Plus good buffet breakfast .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Mar 25, 2011

Great Location, Great Price

This Hotel was great. It was in a good location close to the main shopping district, tourist stuff, and the central train station. The room was clean and bright. The staff was very helpful and even let me check-in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top