$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Anker Hotel Oslo

3 stars
Storgata 55, Oslo, 0182
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
33 reviews
wonderful stay

I love the hotel excellent location I enjoyed my walks around staff were most helpful and very... See full review

  • caiafa
  • Dec 17, 2014
Brilliant City Break

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay... See full review

  • Cyberguy
  • Nov 21, 2014
Newly renovated Oslo hotel with free Wi-Fi and summer garden

The newly renovated Anker Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Oslo, between the main street Karl Johan and the vibrant Grunerlokka area. The bus/tram stops right outside the hotel, and the historic, cultural and shopping attractions of Oslo are within easy walking distance. Relax at the sleek lobby bar with light meals and refreshing drinks. Anker Hotel Oslo offers a new event center and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Highlights
  • Newly renovated, sleek decor
  • Central Oslo city center location
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Lobby bar with outdoor garden
  • Bus and tram stop right outside the hotel
Rooms

The Anker Hotel Oslo offers 161 comfortable, newly renovated guest rooms furnished with light wood furniture and attractive color accents. All rooms are equipped with writing desks, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV and en suite bathrooms. Cots are available on request.

Features

The three star Anker Hotel is conveniently located in Oslo's city center close to the vibrant Grunerlokka area. The hotel is furnished throughout with clean, modern lines and neutral tones with attractive bursts of color. Guests stroll along the river Akerselva which passes the hotel, dine at nearby trendy restaurants.

 

Complimentary Norwegian newspapers, television and free wireless Internet access are available in the lobby. The nearby Nautilus fitness center offers discounted day passes which are sold at reception. On-site parking is available (fees apply).

Dining

The Anker Hotel chef prepares breakfast from 6 a.m. to 10 a.m. on weekdays and from 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. on weekends. On sunny days the lobby bar opens onto a partly shaded garden where guests linger and enjoy the summer sun.

Transportation
  • Oslo Gardermoen Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Bus/tram stop outside
Attractions
  • Oslo Botanic Garden (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Oslo Cathedral (Domkirke) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Munch Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Birkelunden (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Storting (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Toyen Park (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • 8 fully-equipped modern meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel, including the bar area

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Anker Hotel Oslo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Anker Hotel Oslo Rooms

Superior Twin Room
Two single beds. Size of bed: 90 cm wide. Possibility for an extra bed: No. The rooms and bathrooms are new from Sept.2010.
Single Rooms
These rooms have one comfortable bed. Size of bed: 90 cm wide.
Standard Twin Room
Two single beds. Size of bed: 90 cm wide. Possibility for an extra bed: Yes.
Double Rooms
One big bed for 2 persons. Size of bed: 180 cm wide.
Superior Triple Room
3 single beds + 1 or 2 sofa beds in a bigger room. Size of bed: 90 cm wide. Possibility for an extra bed: Yes

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grunerlokka: 0.3 mi
  • Oslo Railway station: 0.5 mi
  • Eldorado Kino: 0.6 mi
  • Det Norske Teatret: 0.7 mi
  • St. Hanshaugen: 0.8 mi
  • Oslo Nye Teater: 0.8 mi
  • Birkelunden: 0.9 mi
  • Mathallen Oslo: 0.9 mi
  • Gamlebyen: 0.9 mi
  • Bislett Stadion: 1 mi
  • Bygdoj: 1.1 mi
  • Aker Brygge: 1.1 mi
  • Uranienborg: 1.3 mi
  • Sagene: 1.4 mi
  • Nasjonalbiblioteket: 1.4 mi
  • Grunerlokka: 0.3 mi
  • Oslo Railway station: 0.5 mi
  • Eldorado Kino: 0.6 mi
  • Det Norske Teatret: 0.7 mi
  • St. Hanshaugen: 0.8 mi
  • Oslo Nye Teater: 0.8 mi
  • Birkelunden: 0.9 mi
  • Mathallen Oslo: 0.9 mi
  • Gamlebyen: 0.9 mi
  • Bislett Stadion: 1 mi
  • Bygdoj: 1.1 mi
  • Aker Brygge: 1.1 mi
  • Uranienborg: 1.3 mi
  • Sagene: 1.4 mi
  • Nasjonalbiblioteket: 1.4 mi
  • Sinsen: 1.4 mi
  • Helsfyr: 1.5 mi
  • Korketrekkeren: 1.6 mi
  • Majorstuen and Frogner: 1.7 mi
  • Torshov: 1.8 mi
  • Frognerbadet: 1.9 mi
  • University of Oslo: 2.1 mi
  • Vigeland Park: 2.2 mi
  • BI Norwegian Business School: 2.3 mi
  • Ulleval: 2.3 mi
  • Fram Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Ullevaal Stadion: 2.5 mi
  • Nordberg: 2.8 mi
  • Njårdhallen: 3.4 mi
  • Høstutstillingen: 3.6 mi
  • CC Vest: 4.1 mi
  • Holmenkollen: 4.4 mi
  • Furuset: 4.6 mi
  • Fornebu: 5.5 mi
  • Sandvika: 8.3 mi
  • Norwegian University of Life Sciences: 17.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The chef and his staff will serve you breakfast from 6 am to 10 am on weekdays and from 7 am to 11 am on weekends.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have built a new conference department with 8 rooms. You can rent for the whole day or for a few hours. You can have coffee breaks and lunch buffet. Please specify your request so that we can give you the correct rate. We will try to be the most affordable conference hotel in Oslo. A standard Day Package will cost NOK 450 pr person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Anker Hotel Oslo

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
caiafa
Business
london/wasshington
Dec 17, 2014

wonderful stay

I love the hotel excellent location I enjoyed my walks around staff were most helpful and very attentive I will use and recommend the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cyberguy
Business
Ireland
Nov 21, 2014

Brilliant City Break

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay there again if I was in Oslo. The room was spotless, comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. There was a great selection at breakfast, both hot and cold food. Buffet style so one could help oneself to as much and as often as you wold like. Restaurant closed at night so ate out. There was free wifi downstairs and in the rooms, it got a bit slow in the rooms at night because of other users. There was also free coffee and tea in the lobby at all times. Brilliant hotel. Brilliant holiday. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the No. 30 or 31 bus from outside the bus station and it takes you directly to the hotel. Take the same bus from the hotel to get to the shops and centre of city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xtenkdave
Business
Apopka Florida
Oct 11, 2014

Decent hotel, though a bit far from the center

Stayed for one night en route from Copenhagen to the USA via Oslo airport. It is reasonably convenient for the train station. Room was very satisfactory, everything clean and functional. Check in and out was straightforward and quick. Wifi was free, as was breakfast, which was a buffet with a reasonably good choice including cold cuts, cheese, hard and soft boiled eggs. The only negative is that the place is a bit far from the city center (10 minutes walk or so), and it is on the border of the eastern side of town, where the district becomes a bit more... I wouldn't say rough, but certainly more working class and multi-ethnic. Elderly people, or single women, might feel safer using a taxi at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a quite good Italian restaurant "Trattoria Popolare" about 100 yards north, just across the river.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 29, 2014

Better than expectation

Although the location is a little bit far from the center of the city, it's not difficult to reach travel spots by trams. Room is spacious, view is gorgeous, staffs are kind. I can recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller10
Business
UK
Jul 1, 2014

OK

The hotel is not in the best of areas and you have to walk through a quite run down part of town to get there from the main station. It is convenient for the attractions and the bus and tram service though. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and that is the best part of the hotel. The room was OK, but the bathroom was not not cleaned well when I first arrived, and although I was there for 5 nights, it was not cleaned at all while I was there. The bed had clean sheets, but it had a valance on the base which was absolutely filthy and covered with stains. The breakfast was also OK, but limited. Overall, it is more like a good 2 star hotel and despite the price is very basic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Giorgos
Business
Thessaloniki
Jun 19, 2014

OK breakfast

The hotel is walking distance to the center. Coffee at the lobby is not complimentary. You can use 2 terminals if you don't carry your own laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is very close (no more than 5 min.) to the club Blå. If you are there on a Sunday you should drop by either at 4 pm where the Frank Znort quartet (anything but a quartet) is performing outside. At 8 pm they play inside and they are fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wee wen
Business
Glasgow
Jun 1, 2014

First impression

On our walk from bus station to the hotel I struggled to believe I was in Norway dirty streets,full of groups of homeless Eastern Europeans . Not a pretty sight. Lots of beggars in town,more than any place I have been to. However we did 4 hour bike tour next morning and saw lots of lovely places.we learned to walk a different way to hotel which helped. You could get tram from outside hotel. Hotel seemed bit dated. Didn't feel like it had been refurbished but very clean,,quiet room so overall not unhappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
On the Go Greg
Business
Centreville, Illinois
May 21, 2014

Getting-out-of-my-comfort-zone get-away

I've already recommended Oslo Anker Hotel to family & friends, including their visiting Oslo. Had positive experiences with everyone I came in contact, sightseeing, photo opportunities, & public transportation (subway, bus, tram, & ferry).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the Oslo Pass. Mine was for 72 hours. Free entry to museums, free public transport, etc. Oslo Pass is practical for the adventurous person, meaning one who is inclined to independently get around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
folks on a budget
Business
Austin, TX
May 20, 2014

Good value

Norway is incredibly expensive, so finding a decent hotel close to public transport is imperative. This hotel serves well. Staff was quick to correct any issues. It was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anker Hotel Oslo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sstraveler1
Business
NYC
Sep 29, 2013

Very disappointed

When I went to the hotel and checked in I was sorely disappointed. The room I was given had a very thin mattress that was covered in stains. There was hair all over the bottom of the mattress. I had to leave and cancel the reservation to stay elsewhere because the room was very upsetting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top