$203 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

4 stars
View map of Slottsgaten 1, PB 4034 Dreggen, Bergen, 5003

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
7 reviews
Great location

The hotel's location is great. Ask to go up to the tower and you will get great all around views of... See full review

  • megp
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great location and great place to stay!

Tremendously enjoyed our stay at the Bergen Clarion. Arrived late, just as dinner service was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 16, 2010
Completely renovated historic building from 1920 the hotel offers a combination of traditional modern style and the warm atmospher of Clarion Collection hotels. Hotel facilities include wireless Internet access/gym & healthclub/sauna & steamroom. 116 charming rooms feature all modern facilities. Some rooms have panoramic views of Bergen harbour. A light evening meal is included in all room rates. Complimentary coffee/tea is available all day. Breakfast available 7:00am to 10:00am. Children stay free if sharing a room with parents or grandparents if no extra bedding is required. Please note that all Choice hotels in Scandinavia are 100% non-smoking properties. Light evening meal included in the room rate. Pet charge: 200 kr per stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret also booked these hotels.

★★★
$107
3.2 / 5 21 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$145
4.0 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$120
3.9 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$120
3.2 / 5 5 reviews
★★★★
$109
3.5 / 5 15 reviews
★★★
$178
4.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★★
$132
3.3 / 5 10 reviews
★★★★
$110
4.0 / 5 8 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
megp
Couples
Washington
Apr 6, 2015

Great location

The hotel's location is great. Ask to go up to the tower and you will get great all around views of Bergen. There is some free food available most of the day. Some of the reception staff were very helpful when asked for directions. A bit on the expensive side (cost/value benefit), but Norway in general is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hipparchia
Couples
Boston, MA
Jun 25, 2012

A solid bet in Bergen

This hotel has a lovely lobby and comfortable dining space. The breakfast and dinner buffets, while perfectly decent, are nothing to write home about. Still, given the insanely high cost of food in Norway, taking advantage of them will save you a pretty penny. As others have said, the rooms are comfortable, if small. The hotel is also in the heart of the touristy Bryggen area; if I were to return to Bergen, I'd probably look for a hotel overlooking the harbor toward Bryggen, rather than in the old harbor area itself. Still, we were satisfied with our stay at the Havnekontoret.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the PIngvinen (means "penguin") for a late-night drink and some popcorn. Great atmosphere.

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ALBF
Couples
Nanuet, NY
May 22, 2012

Nice hotel,great location

Desk welcoming and helpful re restaurants. Be prepared to carry your own bags. Room had limited drawer space, which my wife was not happy with. Great breakfast buffets. PM snack available. On our last night, we ate in at the light dinner buffet and it was more than adequate. It is within easy walking distance to the Brygge and fish market. The Airport bus stops right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dickens restaurant. Good food. Good service

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Location cannot be beat.

A wonderful location. The room was small and the decor a little strange (sort of modern-ish, with dep purples and browns), but the location could not have been better. The first room was a bit dark, had no view and had twin beds (not what we had ordered), but they were pleasant about allowing us to change rooms. We got a smaller room, but a spectacular view overlooking the harbor, which made it quite special for us. The morning and evening buffets were quite nice. We found the concierge to be a little less helpful than I would have anticipated, but I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Richmond, VA
Jul 30, 2010

Nice place

Decent hotel. Staff was very pleasant. Standard room was very small. On our return visit, the room was warm and we could not cool it since there is no air conditioning. Appreciated the good breakfast and decent evening meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Everett, WA
Jun 16, 2010

Great location and great place to stay!

Tremendously enjoyed our stay at the Bergen Clarion. Arrived late, just as dinner service was ending, and front desk personnel encouraged us to go eat first, then check into our room. Food was delicious, still warm, and what we needed after a long day of touring Norway. Room was good size, and included everything one needs. Great location, for everything was within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mudman
Couples
Houston, TX
Feb 16, 2010

Great location and dinner buffet

Everything costs more in Norway, and the[...] price coupled with a free dinner buffet made this a great bargain. Located next to several historical sites at the end of Bryggen Skagge, it is close most of what you want to see. Friendly staff went out of the way to be helpful. Minuses-you can hear the TV in the next room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The train station is an easy 15 minute walk. You can buy a Norway in a Nutshell ticket there. That train/bus/boat trip to the fjords an dmountains was the highlight of our journey.

Back to menu Return to top