$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Trinity Hotel

3 stars
166 Willis Street, Wellington, Wellington, 6000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
200 reviews
Super helpful staff

Cosy, modern room, clean and perfect location. Outside street noise a little loud but not much that... See full review

  • Beccah
  • May 3, 2014
Very happy!

We had one of the best experiences at this hotel that I've ever had before. The staff were super... See full review

  • Happy Graduate Students
  • Jan 27, 2014
Wellington’s convenient stopover
Featuring up-to-date facilities ideally situated in the heart of the vibrant Capital, Trinity Hotel creates a convenient haven for discerning travelers in this part of Wellington. Created with both business and leisure in mind, the Trinity Hotel offers affordable style apart from a central location. Wellington’s shopping, entertainment, restaurants and bars are all just steps away, while the onsite Eclipse Restaurant and Bar serves breakfast, lunch and dinner of contemporary New Zealand cuisine, classic cocktails and fresh brews. Trinity Hotel Wellington is also close to cafe and nightlife of Cuba Mall and Courtenay Place as well as the boutique shops of Lambton Quay. The beautiful Harbourfront and Te Papa Tongerawa Museum is just a short stroll away.
3 Reasons To Stay :
  • Perfect central location in Wellington
  • Private gym with 24-hour access
  • Restaurant onsite
Trinity Hotel Rooms
Recent refurbishments at Trinity Hotel has left all 60 rooms decorated and furnished to an exceptional standard. Décor in each room is subtle and sophisticated, with gentle touches of color that add a relaxing atmosphere. Care has been taken to add quality linens and premium furnishings. Room options include premium double, Queen, Twin and single rooms, each offering cable TV, minibar, Wi-Fi, coffee and tea-making facilities, and opening windows. A handicapped accessible room is available on request.
Things To Do :
  • Museum Of Wellington City and Sea (0.5 miles/ 0.9 km)
  • The Embassy Theatre (0.6 miles/1 km)
  • Cable Car (0.6 miles/1.1 km)
  • Te Papa Museum (0.7 miles/1.2 km)
  • Mount Victoria (0.8 miles/1.3 km)
  • Botanical Gardens (0.9 miles/1.5 km)
  • Oriental Bay (1.2 miles/2 km)
  • Wellington Zoo (2.4 miles/4 km)
Policies and fees
NOTE: Trinity Hotel is not on the earthquake-prone list and therefore incurred no damages in the strong quakes of July and August. The hotel has had an assessment by structural engineering firm, Dunning Thornton, as has been passed at an acceptable level.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-41.2906 174.7738
Area served
166 WILLIS STREET, TE ARO, WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND
Nearby airports
Taxis cost around NZ $25-$35 and shuttles NZ $15.00 per person from Wellington Airport. The journey takes about 15-20 minutes, depending on traffic. You can hire a taxi or shuttle after collecting your baggage at the exit door.
Area description
Located on the corner of Willis and Dixon streets, Trinity Hotel is central to the CBD Shopping and Entertainment districts of inner Wellington. Only 10-15 minutes walk to Te Papa Museum, the Cable Car, Victoria University, the waterfront, theatres, art galleries and the famous Courtenay Place and Cuba Street restaurants, bars and shopping boutiques.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Trinity Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Trinity Hotel Rooms

Trinity Queen Room
Trinity Queen Rooms have a comfy Queen Size bed for the nights sleep. Our overall in room facilities include Ensuite bathroom, Wireless Broadband Internet access, Fax/modem telephone line, Hairdryer, Ironing equipment, Opening windows, tower fan, Sky TV and Tea/coffee making facilities. This room has a minibar also. Maximum Occupancy is for 2 persons.
Trinity King Premium Room
Trinity Premium King Rooms have a comfy King Size bed for the nights sleep. Our overall in room facilities include Ensuite bathroom, Wireless Broadband Internet access, Fax/modem telephone line, Hairdryer, Ironing equipment, Opening windows, tower fan, Sky TV and Tea/coffee making facilities. This room has a minibar also. Maximum Occupancy is for 2 persons.
Trinity Twin Room
Trinity Twin rooms have 1 Queen Size bed and 1 Single bed in the room which are very comfortable for the nights sleep. Our overall in room facilities include Ensuite bathroom, Wireless Broadband Internet access, Fax/modem telephone line, Hairdryer, Ironing equipment, Opening windows, tower fan, Sky TV and Tea/coffee making facilities. This room has a minibar also. Maximum Occupancy is for 2-3 persons.
Trinity Twin Single Room
Trinity Twin Single rooms have 2 Single comfy beds in the room which are very comfortable for the nights sleep. Our overall in room facilities include Ensuite bathroom, Wireless Broadband Internet access, Fax/modem telephone line, Hairdryer, Ironing equipment, Opening windows, tower fan, Sky TV and Tea/coffee making facilities. This room has a minibar also. Maximum Occupancy is for 2 persons.
Trinity 2 Nighter
Trinity Double Rooms have a comfy Queen Size bed for the nights sleep. Our overall in room facilities include Ensuite bathroom, Wireless Broadband Internet access, Fax/modem telephone line, Hairdryer, Ironing equipment, Opening windows, tower fan, Sky TV and Tea/coffee making facilities. This room has a minibar also. Maximum Occupancy is for 2 persons.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Te Papa Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car: 0.5 mi
  • New Zealand Parliament Buildings: 0.9 mi
  • Kilbirnie: 2.2 mi
  • Miramar: 2.8 mi
  • Seatoun: 3.8 mi
  • Newlands: 5.2 mi

Dining

Eclipse Bar & Restaurant
Eclipse is open from 7:00 am until late daily (except dinner service on Sunday). It is a perfect spot for a special cocktail or quiet afternoon brunch and espresso. Secure, underground parking available - booking essential. We are here to serve you with professional staff 24 Hours a day and most importantly, we offer a competitive price on all room configurations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Trinity Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 25, 2011

We stayed 6 nights. The staff

We stayed 6 nights. The staff were friendly, helpful and assisted immediately when a situation occurred unrelated to the hotel. While the rooms are not huge they are comfortable, clean and attactive. The location is very central, a handy walk to everything. We highly recommend the Trinity Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FirsttimetoAdelaide
Brisbane
Apr 9, 2013

Good good good!

Well worth the money and better than other hotels I've stayed at in this vicinty. Staff very helpful. Room a good size and spotless. Bed comfortable. Would be my first choice for any future visits to Wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tamanir
France
Apr 1, 2013

Wrong place to stay

The bathroom was correct, but the room was sad with a blindwindows. When I checkout the clerk had refused to give me a copy of the bill. I had to insist a long time and to say I was going to introduce a complain to obtain that document. I had to pay for the parking of my car 15$ per day, more expensive that the carpark in Town. I don't recommend that hotel. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John123
Nelson, NZ
Apr 1, 2013

Weekend in Wellington

Nice generous size room for the money, well appointed and lovely big open shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huge cupboard
Sunny Sussex, UK
Feb 24, 2013

Served its purpose

Lack of toilet paper in the room on arrival did not bode well for the stay, nor did the lack of milk in the room fridge. Things got better however after a whinge. Hotel was ideally situated for us and we were able to walk to the central city locations, pubs, ferry (Day Bay), cable car, Te Papa etc..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Klondike
Bathurst
Nov 23, 2012

Good base for Wellington Visit

Hotel is within walking distance of key tourist .sites (Te Papa) and wheeled suitcase walk of airport bus. My room was small and furnishings a bit shop worn, but clean and comfortable. There is some street noise but it was tolerable. (You can open/shut the window, which is a bonus given most hotels today.) Desk staff were friendly and helpful. Okay hotel restaurant & bar, but there is a great bar just down the street in a 19th C building ("Practice"). If you have a car, there is limited parking available. For a foot traveller, you are unlikely to find many other 3 star hotels closer to the CBD & tourist sites. One negative - very expensive wifi. It's free at the tourist office, Te Papa and elsewhere. Otherwise, I recommend Trinity Hotel for a short stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Give yourself a full day to see Te Papa (free entry) and the nearby harbour area. You can start the morning with coffee in the Museum's cafe, which opens before the Museum. Mac's pub nearby is a great place to end the day. Te Papa is about a 15 minute stroll from the hotel. You can visit the tourist office on the way.

Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LoneRanger
Business
Auckland
Nov 21, 2012

Tired and disappointing

We needed a mid priced hotel for two nights business trip. We had stayed here before and found it pleasant enough. Now two year later it was really pretty low quality. Very small room, broken shelves and fridge door, dusty dirty edges, cheap sheets, very poor external soundproofing (we kept checking to see if the windows were open!), chipped cabinetry.... Clearly needs someone fresh to come through and do an audit on visitor experience. Staff were fine, and good location. But felt little better than the best room in a backpackers. Wont be staying there again if we can help it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iain G
Business
Auckland, New Zealand
Nov 2, 2012

Staying in Willis Street

Handy to the southern end of the city, Trinity affords easy access to the shopping and business precincts of Wellington. Rooms are small and bare, but are clean and the beds comfortable. Good value for money all things considered when staying for one or two nights. The staff are very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kiwi traveller
New Zealand
Sep 18, 2012

good value for money in convenient location

The hotel lived up to my expectations. The room was a good size, but not huge. Location very handy and easy to find. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the wifi though not free was a good deal. The only unsatisfactory thing was discovering large quantities of long hair tangled around the cover over the shower drain. This was dealt thoroughly with as soon as I requested it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stef n Glen
Whakatane
Sep 6, 2012

holiday with our 18 yr old University daughter

The staff were outstanding! Right down to the cleaning ladies! the reception staff could not do more for us - - very friendly and accomodating, right down to helping me locate a dress I'd left there. The reception also allowed us to leave the car there after we'd checked out, to see a bit more of Wellington.The view from our room of the old cathedral was stunning! The only thing we thought of that could be improved in was that we all suffered sore backs from the beds. Not sure if possible to look into that, but we will definitely come back to The Trinity Hotel again. The situation was perfect, so central, and we didn't need to take the car out of carpark. THANK YOU Trinity Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The General Practitioner on Willis St, and the Cafe Pasha on Dixon St were both FABULOUS!

Review of Trinity Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jilu
wellington
Aug 13, 2012

I feel really bad experiance

stay was ok but some things was really bad ! i plan to check out in mrng 3 am untill 3.15 am i wait in loby no one was ter in reception ! my credit card is charged twice without my permission. i dnt want to stay here any more ! but check in staff was really good.i stay here on 12 th aug till 13 th aug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

every thing is ter in walking distance

Back to menu Return to top

Change search