$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Travelodge Wellington

4 stars
Corner Boulcott Street & Gilmer Terrace, Wellington, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
21 reviews
Excellent location

Good for walking to most locations in Wellington. Nicely appointed rooms with comfortable beds. The... See full review

  • CasualComfort
  • Jan 9, 2014
one night stay

Good location, good staffs,just some noise in the morning See full review

  • mymama
  • Jul 28, 2013
Wellington on a well-healed shoestring
The Travelodge Wellington is steps away from the city’s top restaurants, cafes, shops and the spectacular Wellington harbor-front. The hotel represents great value, with comfortable and stylish accommodations in the city center but without the premium price tag. For the convenience of business visitors, there are conference rooms for up to 120 people and a boardroom that accommodates up to 10 people. An Internet kiosk is available in the lobby.
3 Reasons To Stay :
  • Steps away from Wellington Harbor
  • Stylish rooms with fantastic views of Wellington
  • Restaurant onsite
Travelodge Wellington Rooms
The Travelodge Wellington provides comfortable and well-equipped rooms. The décor is warm and inviting, with plush furnishings and sleek tables and chairs. Each of the 132 rooms has an ensuite bathroom, TV and radio, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Internet access is also available for a small fee. The hotel is handicapped accessible.   
Things To Do :
  • City Gallery (0.4 miles/ 0.7 km)
  • The Beehive Parliament Building (0.6 miles/1.1 km)
  • Popup Gallery (0.6 miles/1 km)
  • Cable Car Museum (0.6 miles/1.2 km)
  • Wellington Botanic Gardens (0.7 miles/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Wellington City and Sea (0.7 miles/1.2 km)
  • Te Papa Tongarewa Museum (0.9 miles/1.6 km)
  • Weta-Cave (4.9 miles/8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Wellington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Travelodge Wellington Rooms

Executive Room
Located on the top two floors of the hotel. This room offers a few extra home comforts. Enjoy Nespresso coffee freshly brewed in your own coffee machine, IPod docks and extra guest amenities.
Triple Room
Bedding can be set up 2 Singles + Sofa bed or 1x King + Sofa bed. Please inform when making reservation. Ensuite bathroom, LCD tv, internet, bar size refrigerator, microwave, iron & ironing board available.
Harbour View Room
Enjoy overnight accommodation with spectacular view of Wellington Harbour.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Cable Car: 0.3 mi
  • Te Papa Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Zealand Parliament Buildings: 0.5 mi
  • Kilbirnie: 2.5 mi
  • Miramar: 3 mi
  • Seatoun: 4 mi
  • Newlands: 4.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wellington

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 21
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wayne1234
Business
Kelowna, british columbia
Jan 18, 2014

Small rooms

Great location, within easy walking distance of most of the things to do and see in Wellington. Rooms are clean but very, very small! Good for business single traveller but not for holiday. Totally ridiculous price for parking and the first hotel on our stay in New Zealand that charges for wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ignacy
Business
Athens, GA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Good location in nice city

The location is very good, in the middle of the city with short walk to the harbor. Also easy to access by car and easy parking. An excellent value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melane and Staz
Business
BC, Canada
Dec 20, 2011

4-Night Pre-Christmas Trip to the Capital

We found everything at the hotel to be quite exceptional indeed. Recently renovated, we found the contemporary decore well done. Spacious room. No tub to soak in after a long day out. The glass shower was huge! It is also a secure building, not that one has to be concerned about safety. We had no issues walking the streets in evening hours. Although we chose to hit the street running to find some cool local eateries, we are sure the hotel offerings are quite good as well. But be findful that the restaurant was closed Fri-Sun, with room service only being available. What a city! What a location! If you are into walking, then this hotel location is absolutely perfect. Just minutes from the CBD and all this city has to offer in terms of dining and entertainment at it's best! We should have stayed a few more nights, because as we walked about the town, we would stumble upon even more to see... Yikes! We will have to come back to finish off our list of places to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Highlights... 'Beach Babylon' restaurant along Oriental Parade. Servers Emma, Colin and Mikey really made for a fun time. Good food and laughs! Other attractions: Te Papa Museum, Cable Car well worth the trip out to see. Also, kick back and relax in a bean bag chair underneath the public Christmas Tree by Te Papa Museum and enjoy the overhead light displays... you can even place a call to Santa himself in one of the (4) four phone boxes surrounding the tree. Awesome experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bartlesville, OK
May 23, 2011

Great Place to Stay near CBD

We booked the hotel the night before to our arrival, and they had some trouble finding our reservations. Also the hotel is a little difficult to find if you are driving. We were very thankful for to have our trusty Tom Tom GPS. Other than that there were no other complaints. The room was large, clean and quiet (on the 26th floor). We got the parking and breakfast package which was very worth it. The hotel parking was the most convenient and the buffet breakfast was excellent. It is within the walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Also, fairly close to Te Papa Museum. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Black Harp Irish Pub. Order the beef or pork Roast for two and a couple of Guinness on tap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 20, 2011

what more could you ask for?

location was awesome, we could easily walk to the harbour and most of the Wellington must-dos. The staff was very helpful with directions. Booking through [...]got us free parking & breakfast - which we loved, loved the restaurant and the food, but would have appreciated a little variety because the buffet was exactly the same all 3 mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many great restaurants on Cuba St., wish we could have sampled more of them! Also recommend renting a bike and biking the harbour - nice break from all the wonderful museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob/Joy
Business
Calgary Ab
Feb 16, 2011

Good hotel for budget minded

This hotel is well situated in reference to the center of town and waterfront. We spent an afternoon just wandering the waterfront area which we enjoyed very much. Forget about driving in the downtown area of Wellington if you are not familiar with the city, it is a potential disaster and parking is a near impossibility. We enjoyed our stay in the travelodge where we found the desk personnel to be friendly and accommodating. The parking is in an attached parkade which is shared with a high rise office building and there seems to be a lack of security making vehicles parked overnight inviting targets for thieves. Aside of what I consider to be a security problem in the parkade, the rooms are fairly small but clean and very suitable for a short stay. I would definitely stay here again for a short time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls, MN
Feb 6, 2011

TraveLodge

The room was nice, but we were not aware until check out that the parking was not included in the hotel price so that added another $20 to the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan Beach, CA
Oct 14, 2010

3 days in Wellington

The hotel was in an excellent part of the city giving access to where we wanted to go. The room was small and crowded but the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See the museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JenniferS
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 29, 2010

Fantastic Time

Travelled to Wellington for a vacation and had an amazing time. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, though I almost never needed them. We actually left our stuff in the hotel with no issues for two days while we travelled to the Christchurch and the West Coast. The hotel was located close to everything and we were able to walk everywhere. We would absolutely stay at the Travelodge Wellington again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the Starbucks, just about every other cafe is better. Look out for Meow's, Fidel's, and Fuel if you need a quick cup. Also, for the best pizza ever try Pomodoro's. It's hidden down some alley but it's worth the search.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top