$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

Travelodge Wellington

4 stars
View map of Corner Boulcott Street & Gilmer Terrace, Wellington, 0

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
23 reviews
Great location

We usually like Best Western and weren't disappointed. The only problem was that, next door they... See full review

  • crusrgirl
  • Feb 9, 2015
Business trip

I had a great time in the small but comfortable room with an amazing view of the beautiful city. See full review

  • Christopher W.
  • Dec 31, 2014
Wellington on a well-healed shoestring
The Travelodge Wellington is steps away from the city’s top restaurants, cafes, shops and the spectacular Wellington harbor-front. The hotel represents great value, with comfortable and stylish accommodations in the city center but without the premium price tag. For the convenience of business visitors, there are conference rooms for up to 120 people and a boardroom that accommodates up to 10 people. An Internet kiosk is available in the lobby.
3 Reasons To Stay :
  • Steps away from Wellington Harbor
  • Stylish rooms with fantastic views of Wellington
  • Restaurant onsite
Travelodge Wellington Rooms
The Travelodge Wellington provides comfortable and well-equipped rooms. The d�cor is warm and inviting, with plush furnishings and sleek tables and chairs. Each of the 132 rooms has an ensuite bathroom, TV and radio, and tea and coffee-making facilities. The hotel is handicapped accessible.   
Things To Do :
  • City Gallery (0.4 miles/ 0.7 km)
  • The Beehive Parliament Building (0.6 miles/1.1 km)
  • Popup Gallery (0.6 miles/1 km)
  • Cable Car Museum (0.6 miles/1.2 km)
  • Wellington Botanic Gardens (0.7 miles/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Wellington City and Sea (0.7 miles/1.2 km)
  • Te Papa Tongarewa Museum (0.9 miles/1.6 km)
  • Weta-Cave (4.9 miles/8 km)
Policies and Fees

Free Wi-Fi access is only up to 100mbs data per 24 hours, per room. Over 100mbs, additional data is available at $9.95 for the remainder of the 24 hours, for up to 4 devices per room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Wellington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Travelodge Wellington Rooms

Triple Room
Bedding can be set up 2 Singles + Sofa bed or 1x King + Sofa bed. Please inform when making reservation. Ensuite bathroom, LCD tv, internet, bar size refrigerator, microwave, iron & ironing board available.
Harbour View Room
Enjoy overnight accommodation with spectacular view of Wellington Harbour.
Executive Room
Located on the top two floors of the hotel. This room offers a few extra home comforts. Enjoy Nespresso coffee freshly brewed in your own coffee machine, IPod docks and extra guest amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Cable Car: 0.3 mi
  • Te Papa Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Zealand Parliament Buildings: 0.5 mi
  • Kilbirnie: 2.5 mi
  • Miramar: 3 mi
  • Seatoun: 4 mi
  • Newlands: 4.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wellington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melane and Staz
Business
BC, Canada
Dec 20, 2011

4-Night Pre-Christmas Trip to the Capital

We found everything at the hotel to be quite exceptional indeed. Recently renovated, we found the contemporary decore well done. Spacious room. No tub to soak in after a long day out. The glass shower was huge! It is also a secure building, not that one has to be concerned about safety. We had no issues walking the streets in evening hours. Although we chose to hit the street running to find some cool local eateries, we are sure the hotel offerings are quite good as well. But be findful that the restaurant was closed Fri-Sun, with room service only being available. What a city! What a location! If you are into walking, then this hotel location is absolutely perfect. Just minutes from the CBD and all this city has to offer in terms of dining and entertainment at it's best! We should have stayed a few more nights, because as we walked about the town, we would stumble upon even more to see... Yikes! We will have to come back to finish off our list of places to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Highlights... 'Beach Babylon' restaurant along Oriental Parade. Servers Emma, Colin and Mikey really made for a fun time. Good food and laughs! Other attractions: Te Papa Museum, Cable Car well worth the trip out to see. Also, kick back and relax in a bean bag chair underneath the public Christmas Tree by Te Papa Museum and enjoy the overhead light displays... you can even place a call to Santa himself in one of the (4) four phone boxes surrounding the tree. Awesome experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ignacy
Business
Athens, GA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Good location in nice city

The location is very good, in the middle of the city with short walk to the harbor. Also easy to access by car and easy parking. An excellent value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JenniferS
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 29, 2010

Fantastic Time

Travelled to Wellington for a vacation and had an amazing time. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, though I almost never needed them. We actually left our stuff in the hotel with no issues for two days while we travelled to the Christchurch and the West Coast. The hotel was located close to everything and we were able to walk everywhere. We would absolutely stay at the Travelodge Wellington again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the Starbucks, just about every other cafe is better. Look out for Meow's, Fidel's, and Fuel if you need a quick cup. Also, for the best pizza ever try Pomodoro's. It's hidden down some alley but it's worth the search.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CasualComfort
Business
Hamilton, Ohio
Jan 9, 2014

Excellent location

Good for walking to most locations in Wellington. Nicely appointed rooms with comfortable beds. The cons are king rooms are small without enough room to do stretches, and view was of other buildings with views. AND shame on Wellington for canceling the New Years Eve celebration. I felt like I was in the only city in the WORLD without fireworks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Exit hotel onto Plimmer steps and you are at Lambton Quay in they heart of the shopping, and near the cable car to the Botanic Garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lordbertrand
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Nov 4, 2011

Great encounter with Wellington and harbour

fantastic 5 days stay in core Wellington and Harbour front

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the harbour and find find dinning by the bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiwinik
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 1, 2012

Central location, great staff

I stayed at Wellington Travelodge in the week between Christmas 2011 and New Year, so rates were very cheap at this business- and government-oriented hotel. Greatest thing about this hotel is that it is on the hill above the harbour, but there is elevator access directly from rooms to Lambton Quay, one if the city's main boulevards. Harbour view is fabulous; staff very accommodating. Wi-fi access is expensive at NZ$30/day (about US$23) but there are coin-op PCs in the lobby for NZ$6/hr AND from some rooms you can get the city's free CBD wireless. Recommended, especially if you can get a good rate in the off-season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy great coffees at any of the Wellington-owned cafes on Plimmer Steps and along Lambton Quay. No need to go to Starbucks - taste the local brews.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew68
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Apr 24, 2012

holiday

Hotel price and location were great. Restaurant and wifi way overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smrTucson
Business
Tucson, AZ
Aug 20, 2012

Travelodge Wellington

Great location, very convienent, room well outfitted with microwave, refridgerator, some basic plates and utensils. Staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timoteostravels
Business
San Diego, California.
Jan 6, 2013

Great location with an even better value!

My room was adjacent to the housekeeping storage room which made for some noisy mornings but they did upgrade me for my last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hashigo Zake craft beer bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mymama
Business
auckland
Jul 28, 2013

one night stay

Good location, good staffs,just some noise in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top