$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Travelodge Wellington

4 stars
Corner Boulcott Street & Gilmer Terrace, Wellington, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
30 reviews
Excellent location

Good for walking to most locations in Wellington. Nicely appointed rooms with comfortable beds. The... See full review

  • CasualComfort
  • Jan 9, 2014
reasonable

Reasonable price n the room was clean bit a bit small See full review

  • mymama
  • Jul 28, 2013
Wellington on a well-healed shoestring
The Travelodge Wellington is steps away from the city’s top restaurants, cafes, shops and the spectacular Wellington harbor-front. The hotel represents great value, with comfortable and stylish accommodations in the city center but without the premium price tag. For the convenience of business visitors, there are conference rooms for up to 120 people and a boardroom that accommodates up to 10 people. An Internet kiosk is available in the lobby.
3 Reasons To Stay :
  • Steps away from Wellington Harbor
  • Stylish rooms with fantastic views of Wellington
  • Restaurant onsite
Travelodge Wellington Rooms
The Travelodge Wellington provides comfortable and well-equipped rooms. The décor is warm and inviting, with plush furnishings and sleek tables and chairs. Each of the 132 rooms has an ensuite bathroom, TV and radio, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Internet access is also available for a small fee. The hotel is handicapped accessible.   
Things To Do :
  • City Gallery (0.4 miles/ 0.7 km)
  • The Beehive Parliament Building (0.6 miles/1.1 km)
  • Popup Gallery (0.6 miles/1 km)
  • Cable Car Museum (0.6 miles/1.2 km)
  • Wellington Botanic Gardens (0.7 miles/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Wellington City and Sea (0.7 miles/1.2 km)
  • Te Papa Tongarewa Museum (0.9 miles/1.6 km)
  • Weta-Cave (4.9 miles/8 km)

Hotel Map

-41.2857 174.7744
Area served
Wellington.
Nearby airports
Wellington Airport.
Area description
Situated in the town centre, Travelodge Wellington is just a short stroll to lively cafes, shops and the beautiful Wellington Harbor.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Wellington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Travelodge Wellington Rooms

Executive Room
Located on the top two floors of the hotel. This room offers a few extra home comforts. Enjoy Nespresso coffee freshly brewed in your own coffee machine, IPod docks and extra guest amenities.
Triple Room
Bedding can be set up 2 Singles + Sofa bed or 1x King + Sofa bed. Please inform when making reservation. Ensuite bathroom, LCD tv, internet, bar size refrigerator, microwave, iron & ironing board available.
Harbour View Room
Enjoy overnight accommodation with spectacular view of Wellington Harbour.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Cable Car: 0.3 mi
  • Te Papa Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Zealand Parliament Buildings: 0.5 mi
  • Kilbirnie: 2.5 mi
  • Miramar: 3 mi
  • Seatoun: 4 mi
  • Newlands: 4.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wellington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melane and Staz
BC, Canada
Dec 20, 2011

4-Night Pre-Christmas Trip to the Capital

We found everything at the hotel to be quite exceptional indeed. Recently renovated, we found the contemporary decore well done. Spacious room. No tub to soak in after a long day out. The glass shower was huge! It is also a secure building, not that one has to be concerned about safety. We had no issues walking the streets in evening hours. Although we chose to hit the street running to find some cool local eateries, we are sure the hotel offerings are quite good as well. But be findful that the restaurant was closed Fri-Sun, with room service only being available. What a city! What a location! If you are into walking, then this hotel location is absolutely perfect. Just minutes from the CBD and all this city has to offer in terms of dining and entertainment at it's best! We should have stayed a few more nights, because as we walked about the town, we would stumble upon even more to see... Yikes! We will have to come back to finish off our list of places to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Highlights... 'Beach Babylon' restaurant along Oriental Parade. Servers Emma, Colin and Mikey really made for a fun time. Good food and laughs! Other attractions: Te Papa Museum, Cable Car well worth the trip out to see. Also, kick back and relax in a bean bag chair underneath the public Christmas Tree by Te Papa Museum and enjoy the overhead light displays... you can even place a call to Santa himself in one of the (4) four phone boxes surrounding the tree. Awesome experience!

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lordbertrand
Toronto, ON, Canada
Nov 4, 2011

Great encounter with Wellington and harbour

fantastic 5 days stay in core Wellington and Harbour front

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the harbour and find find dinning by the bay

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
BOP NZ
Jul 26, 2011

Great location

Location was perfect for us as near university, botanical gardens, cafes and shopping. Room was large, warm and cosy. Staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The botanical gardens are beautiful and peaceful - lovely for strolling or more serious exercise plus a first class cafe.

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
BOP NZ
Jul 26, 2011

Great location

Location was perfect for us as near university, botanical gardens, cafes and shopping. Room was large, warm and cosy. Staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The botanical gardens are beautiful and peaceful - lovely for strolling or more serious exercise plus a first class cafe.

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
California Kiwis
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2011

Average But Suitable

The hotel was fine overall. Location-wise, it couldn't be much better placed. We were travelling as a family of three. We had a decent view of Wellington from plenty of windows. We were in a room with a king-size bed (for two of us) and the third person was sleeping on a rather rickety, twin-size pullout bed. It looked uncomfortable. Things were surprisingly pricey - breakfast would have been over $20 and, most surprisingly, internet, had we chosen to buy it, was going to be $13 an hour, or $30 or more for the day. Ridiculous. But, the hotel was satisfactory (nothing special), and for our purposes it was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Cable Car up to the Botanic Gardens. It's a cool experience, and the view is GREAT!

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
California Kiwis
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2011

Average But Suitable

The hotel was fine overall. Location-wise, it couldn't be much better placed. We were travelling as a family of three. We had a decent view of Wellington from plenty of windows. We were in a room with a king-size bed (for two of us) and the third person was sleeping on a rather rickety, twin-size pullout bed. It looked uncomfortable. Things were surprisingly pricey - breakfast would have been over $20 and, most surprisingly, internet, had we chosen to buy it, was going to be $13 an hour, or $30 or more for the day. Ridiculous. But, the hotel was satisfactory (nothing special), and for our purposes it was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Cable Car up to the Botanic Gardens. It's a cool experience, and the view is GREAT!

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bartlesville, OK
May 23, 2011

Great Place to Stay near CBD

We booked the hotel the night before to our arrival, and they had some trouble finding our reservations. Also the hotel is a little difficult to find if you are driving. We were very thankful for to have our trusty Tom Tom GPS. Other than that there were no other complaints. The room was large, clean and quiet (on the 26th floor). We got the parking and breakfast package which was very worth it. The hotel parking was the most convenient and the buffet breakfast was excellent. It is within the walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Also, fairly close to Te Papa Museum. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Black Harp Irish Pub. Order the beef or pork Roast for two and a couple of Guinness on tap!

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bartlesville, OK
May 23, 2011

Great Place to Stay near CBD

We booked the hotel the night before to our arrival, and they had some trouble finding our reservations. Also the hotel is a little difficult to find if you are driving. We were very thankful for to have our trusty Tom Tom GPS. Other than that there were no other complaints. The room was large, clean and quiet (on the 26th floor). We got the parking and breakfast package which was very worth it. The hotel parking was the most convenient and the buffet breakfast was excellent. It is within the walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Also, fairly close to Te Papa Museum. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Black Harp Irish Pub. Order the beef or pork Roast for two and a couple of Guinness on tap!

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Apr 24, 2011

Nice and economical in central Wellingto

The place was pleasant, clean, econimical for a family, and right in the middle of Wellington. staff were very helpful. We would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Apr 24, 2011

Nice and economical in central Wellingto

The place was pleasant, clean, econimical for a family, and right in the middle of Wellington. staff were very helpful. We would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top