$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Travelodge Wellington

4 stars
View map of Corner Boulcott Street & Gilmer Terrace, Wellington, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wellington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ignacy
Business
Athens, GA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Good location in nice city

The location is very good, in the middle of the city with short walk to the harbor. Also easy to access by car and easy parking. An excellent value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiwinik
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 1, 2012

Central location, great staff

I stayed at Wellington Travelodge in the week between Christmas 2011 and New Year, so rates were very cheap at this business- and government-oriented hotel. Greatest thing about this hotel is that it is on the hill above the harbour, but there is elevator access directly from rooms to Lambton Quay, one if the city's main boulevards. Harbour view is fabulous; staff very accommodating. Wi-fi access is expensive at NZ$30/day (about US$23) but there are coin-op PCs in the lobby for NZ$6/hr AND from some rooms you can get the city's free CBD wireless. Recommended, especially if you can get a good rate in the off-season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy great coffees at any of the Wellington-owned cafes on Plimmer Steps and along Lambton Quay. No need to go to Starbucks - taste the local brews.

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lordbertrand
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Nov 4, 2011

Great encounter with Wellington and harbour

fantastic 5 days stay in core Wellington and Harbour front

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the harbour and find find dinning by the bay

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BOP NZ
Jul 26, 2011

Great location

Location was perfect for us as near university, botanical gardens, cafes and shopping. Room was large, warm and cosy. Staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The botanical gardens are beautiful and peaceful - lovely for strolling or more serious exercise plus a first class cafe.

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
California Kiwis
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2011

Average But Suitable

The hotel was fine overall. Location-wise, it couldn't be much better placed. We were travelling as a family of three. We had a decent view of Wellington from plenty of windows. We were in a room with a king-size bed (for two of us) and the third person was sleeping on a rather rickety, twin-size pullout bed. It looked uncomfortable. Things were surprisingly pricey - breakfast would have been over $20 and, most surprisingly, internet, had we chosen to buy it, was going to be $13 an hour, or $30 or more for the day. Ridiculous. But, the hotel was satisfactory (nothing special), and for our purposes it was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Cable Car up to the Botanic Gardens. It's a cool experience, and the view is GREAT!

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bartlesville, OK
May 23, 2011

Great Place to Stay near CBD

We booked the hotel the night before to our arrival, and they had some trouble finding our reservations. Also the hotel is a little difficult to find if you are driving. We were very thankful for to have our trusty Tom Tom GPS. Other than that there were no other complaints. The room was large, clean and quiet (on the 26th floor). We got the parking and breakfast package which was very worth it. The hotel parking was the most convenient and the buffet breakfast was excellent. It is within the walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Also, fairly close to Te Papa Museum. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Black Harp Irish Pub. Order the beef or pork Roast for two and a couple of Guinness on tap!

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Apr 24, 2011

Nice and economical in central Wellingto

The place was pleasant, clean, econimical for a family, and right in the middle of Wellington. staff were very helpful. We would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 20, 2011

what more could you ask for?

location was awesome, we could easily walk to the harbour and most of the Wellington must-dos. The staff was very helpful with directions. Booking through [...]got us free parking & breakfast - which we loved, loved the restaurant and the food, but would have appreciated a little variety because the buffet was exactly the same all 3 mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many great restaurants on Cuba St., wish we could have sampled more of them! Also recommend renting a bike and biking the harbour - nice break from all the wonderful museums.

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob/Joy
Business
Calgary Ab
Feb 16, 2011

Good hotel for budget minded

This hotel is well situated in reference to the center of town and waterfront. We spent an afternoon just wandering the waterfront area which we enjoyed very much. Forget about driving in the downtown area of Wellington if you are not familiar with the city, it is a potential disaster and parking is a near impossibility. We enjoyed our stay in the travelodge where we found the desk personnel to be friendly and accommodating. The parking is in an attached parkade which is shared with a high rise office building and there seems to be a lack of security making vehicles parked overnight inviting targets for thieves. Aside of what I consider to be a security problem in the parkade, the rooms are fairly small but clean and very suitable for a short stay. I would definitely stay here again for a short time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wellington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls, MN
Feb 6, 2011

TraveLodge

The room was nice, but we were not aware until check out that the parking was not included in the hotel price so that added another $20 to the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top