$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

4 stars
38-54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, Queenstown, 9300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
20 reviews
Great location - comfortable place

We traveled with our two teenage daughters, and all of us had a great time. We really enjoyed the... See full review

  • B Weldon
  • Apr 6, 2014
Wonderful stay

My wife and I recently stayed here and had a great time. The location is near impossible to beat,... See full review

  • ATwin
  • Mar 13, 2014
Presenting elegant accommodation and friendly service, the Rydges Lakeland Resort is a perfect venue for an unforgettable vacation in Queenstown. Situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Wakatipu, the Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown is only 5 minutes flat walk along the Lakefront to the centre of town, while the airport is just 10 minutes scenic drive away. This hotel offers 255 immaculate accommodation units that are endowed with contemporary amenities to assure you immense pleasure throughout your stay. Suites, Deluxe and Superior rooms offer spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu for you to enjoy. The Ben Lomond is a stylish and a casual restaurant that offers delicious contemporary New Zealand cuisine for breakfast and dinner. You can also enjoy a wide range of international and local beverages in contemporary and comfortable surrounding of the hotel's bar. The Rydges Lakeland resort offers five conference rooms that can accommodate up to 420 people for hosting your business events. For your comfort and relaxation, the hotel offers a heated outdoor swimming pool, spa services and a sauna. Unlimited Free WI-FI included in all rooms.

Hotel Map

-45.0355 168.6514
Area served
Queenstown.
Nearby airports
Queenstown International Airport.
Area description
With just a five-minute flat walk along the lake to the town center of Queenstown, the hotel is in a prime position for all travelers - from sporting groups to conference delegates. Queenstown is widely known as the Adventure Capital in New Zealand, and set amidst the dramatic Southern Alps, is also one of New Zealand's most scenic regions. The four very distinct seasons make it a year round destination. Situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Wakatipu, Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown boasts breathtaking views over the lake and surrounding mountains. Queenstown's largest hotel is just a 5-minute flat walk along the Lakefront to the center of town; with the airport only a 10-minute scenic drive away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown Rooms

Deluxe Room - Lake View
Breathtaking views overlooking Lake Wakatipu and up to the Remarkable Mountains. Located in the prime position within the hotel. Unlimited Free WI-FI included & balcony available on request. Please note that the balcony request is not guaranteed, and is subject to availability.
Lake View (Junior) Suite
The most Amazing Views Overlooking Lake Wakatipu & some of the most Majestic Scenery in New Zealand. Perfectly suited for families with a bedroom, lounge area and shared balcony. Sofa bed available for additional bedding. Special Amenities & Unlimited Free WI-FI included.
Budget Double
The Best of Both worlds! Private Backpacker Style Accommodation, with Your Own En-Suite & Full Access to All Hotel Facilities! Unlimited Free WI-FI included.
Budget Twin/Quad
The Best of Both worlds! Private Backpacker Style Accommodation, with Your Own En-Suite & Full Access to All Hotel Facilities! Unlimited Free WI-FI included
Superior Lake Facing Room
Oriented towards Lake Wakatipu and up to the Remarkable Mountains. By far our most popular rooms with partial Lake Views. Private Balcony & Unlimited Free WI-FI included

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Steamer Wharf: 0.3 mi
  • Earnslaw: 0.3 mi
  • Town Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Ben Lomond Track: 0.4 mi
  • Ben Lomond: 0.5 mi
  • Queenstown Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Skyline Gondola: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Queenstown Ice Rink: 0.5 mi
  • Bungy Jumping Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Shotover Jet: 0.6 mi
  • Kiwi Birdlife Park: 0.6 mi
  • Anderson Heights: 0.8 mi
  • Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • Fernhill: 1 mi
  • Steamer Wharf: 0.3 mi
  • Earnslaw: 0.3 mi
  • Town Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Ben Lomond Track: 0.4 mi
  • Ben Lomond: 0.5 mi
  • Queenstown Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Skyline Gondola: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Queenstown Ice Rink: 0.5 mi
  • Bungy Jumping Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Shotover Jet: 0.6 mi
  • Kiwi Birdlife Park: 0.6 mi
  • Anderson Heights: 0.8 mi
  • Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • Fernhill: 1 mi
  • Sunshine Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Frankton Track Start Point: 1.2 mi
  • Kelvin Heights Golf Course: 1.3 mi
  • Kelvin Heights: 1.9 mi
  • Jardine Park: 2.1 mi
  • Goldfield Heights: 2.2 mi
  • Queenstown Hill: 2.8 mi
  • Arthurs Point: 3.3 mi
  • Atley: 3.6 mi
  • Kawarau Falls: 4 mi
  • Frankton: 4.1 mi
  • Onsen Hot Pools: 4.2 mi
  • Davis Park: 4.4 mi
  • Queenstown Events Centre: 4.4 mi
  • Lake Johnson: 4.5 mi
  • Helicopter Line: 4.6 mi
  • Lake Dispute: 5.2 mi
  • Jacks Point: 5.5 mi
  • Dalefield: 6.3 mi
  • Malaghans Road: 7.2 mi
  • Walter Peak: 7.5 mi
  • Coronet Peak: 8.4 mi
  • Millbrook Golf Club: 10.1 mi
  • Cardrona: 18.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 20
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATwin
Portland, Oregon
Mar 13, 2014

Wonderful stay

My wife and I recently stayed here and had a great time. The location is near impossible to beat, located right on Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkables and Cecil and Walter peak. The staff is friendly and the rooms while somewhat small are nice, clean and if you have a lake facing room are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Microbe Hunter
Brookline, MA
Nov 7, 2013

Lovely view of Lake Wakatipu

The member of the Rydges hotel chain in Queenstown has an excellent location right across the street from a beautiful lake. It is definitely worth requesting a lake view room. The hotel is spread out in several wings, some of which do not have elevators, but a very strong and accommodating bellman/concierge is anxious to help carry your bags. Rooms are of comfortable size and have all the expected amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to visit Arrowtown and Glenorchy, the former for its interesting history and shops, the latter for the spectacular ride up the coast of Lake Wakatipu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thisbitisawasteoftime
Queenstown New Zealand
Apr 29, 2013

Good place to stay

Very good. The weather was bad at the time but we were still able to sit in the bar upstairs and see the lake etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Queenstown was a lovely place with lots to do or nothing if that's what you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oregon runner
Portland, OR
Oct 29, 2012

Nice view but not worth the downsides

The positives of this hotel are: 1) view (if you get a lakeside room) and 2) location (nice to be by lake and the walk to downtown is easy). However, our room smelled odd, the facility is very dated and the layout is a labyrinth (have to take two elevators to get up to rooms on the top floors, stairs don't continue, etc.) There are better options for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reblou
United States
Dec 14, 2011

Not impressed

We stayed here in December 2011 and were disappointed. There are some good points: five minute walk into town, a nice restaurant, & free internet in the bar area. For us, these things did not outweigh the fact that the room was long overdue for a refurb. Carpet was dirty and worn; dried gum stuck on it that had turned black long ago. No air conditioning. Windows opened, however then the sounds from cars and loud people on the street kept waking us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bartlesville, OK
May 23, 2011

Very nice Hotel

This a little older hotel but in perfect location and excellent price, plus a very friendly and helpful staff. We arrived early for check in not only there was no problems, they also gave us an upgrade with a nice view of the lake. The rooms are fairly large and very clean. The hotel is within walking distance of the downtown area and all the restaurants and shopping and lake activities, etc. Originally we had booked for one night and we decided to stay another night. They gave us the second night at the same low rate, even though they had a large convention at the hotel (Thank you [...]!). Enjoyed our stay very much and highly recommend this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Indian Tandoori. Lamb Curry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kratsy
Asheville, NC, USA
Nov 15, 2010

Satisfied customer

Everything was adequate and we were quite relieved after reading some bad reviews. We were encouraged to upgrade our room upon checking in, but because we were on a budget, we did not. Because the weather was cool and windy, our room next to the pool remained private and there were no noisy guests from the bar on the outside patio near our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington
Jan 28, 2010

Watch out for Ryges Hotel

Be careful for a bait and switch. We booked according to internet information but were given a horrible room meant for overnight backpackers, who meant to do no more than sleep. Even that would have been bad. Grungy room, terrible beds, no refrig, no air conditioning, no cross draft, overlooking buses not the sea. Fortunately they gave us another room when we suggested it was not the room advertized. In the right rooms it is a lovely hotel, but it has rooms worse than the worst backpackers nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
ROME, ITALY
Nov 8, 2009

VERY, VERY GOOD

Except for a bus that started warming up at 7:00 am under our window, it was a perfect stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lBernie
sugarloaf, pa
Oct 17, 2009

Outstanding hotel

Excellent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search