$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

4 stars
38-54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, Queenstown, 9300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
20 reviews
Great location - comfortable place

We traveled with our two teenage daughters, and all of us had a great time. We really enjoyed the... See full review

  • B Weldon
  • Apr 6, 2014
Wonderful stay

My wife and I recently stayed here and had a great time. The location is near impossible to beat,... See full review

  • ATwin
  • Mar 13, 2014
Presenting elegant accommodation and friendly service, the Rydges Lakeland Resort is a perfect venue for an unforgettable vacation in Queenstown. Situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Wakatipu, the Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown is only 5 minutes flat walk along the Lakefront to the centre of town, while the airport is just 10 minutes scenic drive away. This hotel offers 255 immaculate accommodation units that are endowed with contemporary amenities to assure you immense pleasure throughout your stay. Suites, Deluxe and Superior rooms offer spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu for you to enjoy. The Ben Lomond is a stylish and a casual restaurant that offers delicious contemporary New Zealand cuisine for breakfast and dinner. You can also enjoy a wide range of international and local beverages in contemporary and comfortable surrounding of the hotel's bar. The Rydges Lakeland resort offers five conference rooms that can accommodate up to 420 people for hosting your business events. For your comfort and relaxation, the hotel offers a heated outdoor swimming pool, spa services and a sauna. Unlimited Free WI-FI included in all rooms.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown Rooms

Deluxe Room - Lake View
Breathtaking views overlooking Lake Wakatipu and up to the Remarkable Mountains. Located in the prime position within the hotel. Unlimited Free WI-FI included & balcony available on request. Please note that the balcony request is not guaranteed, and is subject to availability.
Lake View (Junior) Suite
The most Amazing Views Overlooking Lake Wakatipu & some of the most Majestic Scenery in New Zealand. Perfectly suited for families with a bedroom, lounge area and shared balcony. Sofa bed available for additional bedding. Special Amenities & Unlimited Free WI-FI included.
Budget Double
The Best of Both worlds! Private Backpacker Style Accommodation, with Your Own En-Suite & Full Access to All Hotel Facilities! Unlimited Free WI-FI included.
Budget Twin/Quad
The Best of Both worlds! Private Backpacker Style Accommodation, with Your Own En-Suite & Full Access to All Hotel Facilities! Unlimited Free WI-FI included
Superior Lake Facing Room
Oriented towards Lake Wakatipu and up to the Remarkable Mountains. By far our most popular rooms with partial Lake Views. Private Balcony & Unlimited Free WI-FI included

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Steamer Wharf: 0.3 mi
  • Earnslaw: 0.3 mi
  • Town Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Ben Lomond Track: 0.4 mi
  • Ben Lomond: 0.5 mi
  • Queenstown Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Skyline Gondola: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Queenstown Ice Rink: 0.5 mi
  • Bungy Jumping Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Shotover Jet: 0.6 mi
  • Kiwi Birdlife Park: 0.6 mi
  • Anderson Heights: 0.8 mi
  • Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • Fernhill: 1 mi
  • Steamer Wharf: 0.3 mi
  • Earnslaw: 0.3 mi
  • Town Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Ben Lomond Track: 0.4 mi
  • Ben Lomond: 0.5 mi
  • Queenstown Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Skyline Gondola: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Queenstown Ice Rink: 0.5 mi
  • Bungy Jumping Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Shotover Jet: 0.6 mi
  • Kiwi Birdlife Park: 0.6 mi
  • Anderson Heights: 0.8 mi
  • Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • Fernhill: 1 mi
  • Sunshine Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Frankton Track Start Point: 1.2 mi
  • Kelvin Heights Golf Course: 1.3 mi
  • Kelvin Heights: 1.9 mi
  • Jardine Park: 2.1 mi
  • Goldfield Heights: 2.2 mi
  • Queenstown Hill: 2.8 mi
  • Arthurs Point: 3.3 mi
  • Atley: 3.6 mi
  • Kawarau Falls: 4 mi
  • Frankton: 4.1 mi
  • Onsen Hot Pools: 4.2 mi
  • Davis Park: 4.4 mi
  • Queenstown Events Centre: 4.4 mi
  • Lake Johnson: 4.5 mi
  • Helicopter Line: 4.6 mi
  • Lake Dispute: 5.2 mi
  • Jacks Point: 5.5 mi
  • Dalefield: 6.3 mi
  • Malaghans Road: 7.2 mi
  • Walter Peak: 7.5 mi
  • Coronet Peak: 8.4 mi
  • Millbrook Golf Club: 10.1 mi
  • Cardrona: 18.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Jan 28, 2010

Watch out for Ryges Hotel

Be careful for a bait and switch. We booked according to internet information but were given a horrible room meant for overnight backpackers, who meant to do no more than sleep. Even that would have been bad. Grungy room, terrible beds, no refrig, no air conditioning, no cross draft, overlooking buses not the sea. Fortunately they gave us another room when we suggested it was not the room advertized. In the right rooms it is a lovely hotel, but it has rooms worse than the worst backpackers nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Oct 28, 2011

I will not come to this hotel again

My room was on 9th floor, it is so old that it has unpleasent smells, I have to open the windows even it was cold outside. The sheets look clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sdhphoto
Business
st. louis
Nov 18, 2009

unbearable the worst.. feel cheated

was deceived by both [...] and the hotel... was bearly what one would calla backpackers rooms... and things went from bad to worse.. if you are interested contact me for details...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Feb 26, 2010

JUST HORRIBLE

Our hotel experience was horrible, they said wireless internet was available in the hotel, well it was just not in our room, there were no hangers in the room, the event calendar in the room was for the wrong month, it was soooooo hot in our room, and the outlets in the bathroom did not work. Also the phones were down for days as well as the 'computer room' where you had to pay for internet. And lets not forget the $8.60 charge to make two 2 minute local calls. The worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flame restaurant was AMAZING it was priced about the same as everywhere else but the portions were HUGE and the food was super!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reblou
Business
United States
Dec 14, 2011

Not impressed

We stayed here in December 2011 and were disappointed. There are some good points: five minute walk into town, a nice restaurant, & free internet in the bar area. For us, these things did not outweigh the fact that the room was long overdue for a refurb. Carpet was dirty and worn; dried gum stuck on it that had turned black long ago. No air conditioning. Windows opened, however then the sounds from cars and loud people on the street kept waking us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oregon runner
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 29, 2012

Nice view but not worth the downsides

The positives of this hotel are: 1) view (if you get a lakeside room) and 2) location (nice to be by lake and the walk to downtown is easy). However, our room smelled odd, the facility is very dated and the layout is a labyrinth (have to take two elevators to get up to rooms on the top floors, stairs don't continue, etc.) There are better options for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kratsy
Business
Asheville, NC, USA
Nov 15, 2010

Satisfied customer

Everything was adequate and we were quite relieved after reading some bad reviews. We were encouraged to upgrade our room upon checking in, but because we were on a budget, we did not. Because the weather was cool and windy, our room next to the pool remained private and there were no noisy guests from the bar on the outside patio near our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelley
Business
California, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Clean place

was decent, had a funky smell in the halls, but a good stay overall. Quiet location with an easy walk to the center of queenstown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
returning kiwi
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Rydges resort looking tired

While the location is perfect and the outside of the hotel is very impressive, the rooms are looking very tired. Wall paper looking old and a little dirty, The bathroom mirror gilt all coming off, and the swimming pool walls and steps needed a good clean. You are paying for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lehotma
Business
Seattle
Feb 15, 2014

You get what you pay for

Great location, great rate. Bare bones room. The hotel seems much nicer than our room and rate would indicate. It is possible that they have some very inexpensive rooms just to help out people like us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the gondola on a pretty day. Breathtaking. Worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top