$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

3 stars
106 Mandeville Street, Riccarton, Christchurch, 8440
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
13 reviews
Great surprise

Unfortunately due to the earthquakes it was quite challenging to find accommodation in... See full review

  • Tam11
  • Sep 12, 2013
Good location nice hotel

Staff very helpful Changed our room to groundfloor when we told them we were leaving at 3.00am and... See full review

  • Stephen66
  • Aug 4, 2014
The Ashley Hotel Christchurch is an exceptional hotel that combines 45 newly refurbished rooms with exceptional value for money. Every room has received a makeover to deliver a clean, crisp and light experience with new carpet, a beautiful floor to ceiling dark wood headboard, brand new bed and bedding, a 43 inch flat plasma television and new room cabinetry. The Hotel is set back from the main road to ensure guests experience a quiet and relaxed stay while still being close to everything that Christchurch has to offer. The Hotel is conveniently located in Riccarton, within walking distance of Hagley Park, shopping malls, dozens of restaurants and cafes, Christchurch Hospital, train station and other Christchurch attractions/amenities. The Hotel has wireless internet and provides 2 hours free wireless for every room. Hotel also have an internet kiosk and fax services available.

Hotel Map

-43.5302 172.6071
Area served
Christchurch.
Nearby airports
Christchurch International Airport.
Area description
Christchurch.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ashley Hotel Christchurch also booked these hotels.

The Ashley Hotel Christchurch Rooms

Executive Suite
If you require spacious, stylish accommodation, then Executive Suite (One Bedroom) is your ideal option. The layout of the suite is designed with your total comfort in mind. The suite's large lounge is a great space for you to relax in, with comfortable furniture, an LCD TV with SKY channels, a video and DVD player. The large bedroom has a King-size bed. All bedding and electric blankets for those cooler winter nights is provided.
King Studio
King Studios at The Ashley Hotel, Christchurch are stylish, newly refurbished and the ideal Christchurch accommodation. The King sized bed comes with quality bedding and pillows for the ultimate sleep. Be entertained with a 43" plasma television with a choice of several SKY channels,and an alarm clock.
Twin Studio
Twin Studios at The Ashley Hotel, Christchurch are stylish, newly refurbished and the ideal Christchurch accommodation. The studio has two Twin beds with quality bedding and pillows for the ultimate sleep. Be entertained with a 43" plasma television with a choice of several SKY channels,and an alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Botanical Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Hagley Park: 0.7 mi
  • North Hagley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rugby League Park: 0.9 mi
  • Canterbury Museum: 1 mi
  • Addington: 1 mi
  • Rutherford's Den: 1.1 mi
  • Arts Centre Weekend Market: 1.1 mi
  • The Arts Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Antigua Boatsheds: 1.1 mi
  • Court Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cave Rock Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Merivale: 1.3 mi
  • Christchurch Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Hagley Park: 0.7 mi
  • North Hagley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rugby League Park: 0.9 mi
  • Canterbury Museum: 1 mi
  • Addington: 1 mi
  • Rutherford's Den: 1.1 mi
  • Arts Centre Weekend Market: 1.1 mi
  • The Arts Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Antigua Boatsheds: 1.1 mi
  • Court Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cave Rock Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Merivale: 1.3 mi
  • Christchurch Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.4 mi
  • City New Life Church: 1.4 mi
  • Southern Encounter: 1.5 mi
  • Christchurch Cathedral Square: 1.5 mi
  • Christ Church City Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Christchurch Tramway: 1.6 mi
  • Adventure Trailrides: 1.6 mi
  • SOL Square: 1.6 mi
  • Bealey Avenue: 1.7 mi
  • Brooke Gifford Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Victoria Square: 1.9 mi
  • Rugby Park: 2 mi
  • Avon River: 2.1 mi
  • Papanui: 2.1 mi
  • Malvern Park: 2.2 mi
  • Bone Dudes: 2.2 mi
  • Christchurch Art Gallery: 2.2 mi
  • Edgeware: 2.2 mi
  • Richmond South: 2.2 mi
  • AMI Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Richmond: 2.5 mi
  • Philipstown: 2.6 mi
  • Linwood: 2.8 mi
  • Avonhead: 2.8 mi
  • Marehau: 2.8 mi
  • Burnside: 2.9 mi
  • Avonside: 3 mi
  • Anglican Church St Augustines: 3 mi
  • Russley: 3.2 mi
  • North Linwood: 3.3 mi
  • Clearwater Golf Resort: 3.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen66
Melbourne
Aug 4, 2014

Good location nice hotel

Staff very helpful Changed our room to groundfloor when we told them we were leaving at 3.00am and ordered taxi nice modern clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mai n
Blenheim NZ
Jul 3, 2014

Looks are deceiving, not very relaxing stay.

It's a motel, not a hotel. The rooms are nicer than your typical motel though. The bathroom photos look ok, but it is deceiving. The shower head points to neck height so you have to crouch awkwardly to wash your hair. The thin windows and walls do not keep out sound very well. There is a lively bar behind the motel/hotel so if you value your sleep, do not stay here on weekend nights or bring ear plugs. And if you intend to sleep in, good luck. The cleaning lady will bang on your door at 8:30am. That's because there is no 'do not disturb' sign. Since the door is a sliding door, there is no way to hang a 'do not disturb' sign anyway. Overall not the most relaxing part of our trip. But just ok value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tasty cheap Korean eats at Mandu

Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Polarbear
Pakaraka
Jun 15, 2014

Great little hotel

Very simple on what you get here, but they do it well. Good value for money on a nice comfortable room. Would definitely recommend to someone and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NiciC
New Zealand
Jun 9, 2014

Dissapointed

The hotel is in a great area and easy to get to places from, however we thought the pictures are better than what we actually got.. when we arrived it wasn't what we had expected, firstly when we entered our room it seemed fine but there was only one set of dinner plates and cutlery, when it was labeled a double room? and there was white marks all over the blanket at the end of the bed.. leading us to believe it hadn't been washed. The chair in the room had rips in it and the bathroom didn't even look like it had been cleaned before we came in.. the sink was covered in grime and staining, the shower had scum around the edges and all in all just needed a very large clean! Thankfully we only booked in for one night, cause we are not staying here again. we didn't really encounter any staff except the reception staff and she was friendly enough, but this was definitely not what we had expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Polarbear
Pakaraka
May 11, 2014

Weekend Getaway

The staff was polite and friendly and made our stay enjoyable. The location was nice and central to our needs and was close enough to amenaties that it was only a quick walk to anything we needed. Would happily stay here again and would recommend to friends. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Observer
Brisbane
Oct 12, 2013

Bathroom a let down

Room looks modern and clean, bedding is good. However the bathroom looks very old and tired. it doesn't even have a mixer tap and is a nightmare using the sink as you need to turn two taps for hot and cold water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tam11
Business
Gold Coast, Australia
Sep 12, 2013

Great surprise

Unfortunately due to the earthquakes it was quite challenging to find accommodation in Christchurch. Normally I book 4-5 start hotels, but there wasn't any available so I chose The Ashley Hotel and I was very happy with it. First we stayed there 3 nights then went back for another night a few days later just before we flew home. The location was perfect for us, the biggest shopping center is just a short walk away and there are plenty of dining options nearby. The rooms are renovated and nice and clean and the free internet and parking were great benefits. The bathrooms did not get renovated but they were clean, so would definitely stay there again. And the receptionist were pretty friendly as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Good Charlotte
Brisbane
Sep 10, 2013

gaogao

room is very small. My husband and me were in a room near the vehicle entrance, noise!! I was woken up by the truck noise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatieM
Melbourne, Australia
Aug 7, 2013

Pay for what you get

Reasonable hotel, with minimal facilities. But cheap, clean and close to the airport and gardens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to a variety of eateries, which is handy as many in the CBD are closed as a result of the earthquakes.

Review of The Ashley Hotel Christchurch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captainsparky
Business
Wellington, NZ
Jul 3, 2013

Comfortable & practical

Checking in late was no problem and staff were always helpfull & friendly. Room was based on a motel but that was not a problem. Amenities in the room were more than adequate and it was great to find a "normal" sized TV in the room. Bathroom was a little basic but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search