$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

4 stars
449 Memorial Avenue, Burnside, Christchurch, 8053
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
63 reviews
Perfect location

Staying near airport, this worked out perfectly, staff was great. See full review

  • On the road APAC traveler
  • Aug 4, 2014
Service 100%

Top place to stay, easy access to the airport. Clean quiet rooms. See full review

  • Hokiangadad
  • Apr 4, 2014
Relaxation and style just ten minutes from the center of Christchurch

The Copthorne Commodore Hotel delivers direct airport accommodation, and is situated just ten minutes from the center of Christchurch. Charming, award-winning, native New Zealand gardens cover seven acres of land. The hotel offers both active and relaxing activities with a tennis court, gymnasium, sauna, spa, and an indoor swimming pool. There is also The Terrace, the hotel's innovative outdoor entertainment experience, offering outdoor dining with a gas fire and LCD television.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A uniquely modern outdoor entertainment experience
  • Set on seven acres of gorgeous native land
  • Enough technology and creature comforts to keep every generation happily busy
Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport Rooms

Guests who are looking for something out of the ordinary can take advantage of the Copthorne Commodore Hotel's Business Level Superior Plus rooms. Situated on the third and fourth floors, guests staying in these international business-standard rooms have exclusive use of these private and secluded floors. Entry to these is through a distinctive glass elevator with its outstanding views of the Southern Alps mountain range. The rooms have designer bathrooms, a climate-controlled environment, custom-made 'Heavenly' beds, and modern living room furnishings. The high-speed wireless Internet connection (some fees may apply), DVD player and LCD television supply guests with the superb access to information and entertainment. Elegant as well as practical, the Copthorne Commodore Hotel's Superior Plus accommodations also offer plenty of storage space, a closet area, hair-dryer and ironing board. The hotel also has 107 Superior Rooms, which provide superb value for money. All rooms are generously sized at over 390 square feet, provide many features to make pleasure and business travel more enjoyable, and feature Vingcard security access.

Things To Do:
  • Willowbank Wildlife Reserve (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Orana Wildlife Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Hagley Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Christchurch Botanic Gardens (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Canterbury Museum (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cathedral Square (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • Christchurch Tramway (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Christchurch Cathedral (8.1 mi/13.1 km)
  • Kowhai Residential School of Riding (8.3 mi/13.3 km)
  • Adrenaline Forest (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
Policies and fees
NOTE: All credit card transactions at the property incur a 1.5% surcharge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-43.4974 172.5563
Area served
Christchurch.
Nearby airports
Christchurch International Airport.
Area description
Christchurch.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport Rooms

Superior King Room
Superior King rooms offers a warm and relaxed ambience with 1 King bed. In room amenities include satellite TV, mini bar, High speed internet access, refrigerator, iron & ironing board, tea & coffee facilities. Some have microwaves and all have balconies.
Superior Twin Room
Superior Twin rooms offers a warm and relaxed ambience with 2 Queen beds. In room amenities include satellite TV, mini bar, High speed internet access, refrigerator, iron & ironing board, tea & coffee facilities. Some have microwaves and all have balconies.
Business Level (Superior Plus)
All rooms are Non Smoking and on the top two Floors of the Hotel, giving them all spectacular views of the Southern Alps or Port Hills. In room amenities include satellite TV, air conditioning, mini bar, high speed internet access, refrigerator, bathrobes, slippers, iron & ironing board, tea and coffee facilities, in room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burnside: 0.6 mi
  • International Antarctic Center: 0.8 mi
  • Avonhead: 1.1 mi
  • Harewood: 1.3 mi
  • Russley: 1.7 mi
  • Clearwater Golf Resort: 2.5 mi
  • Papanui: 3 mi
  • Willowbank Wildlife Reserve: 3.1 mi
  • Merivale: 3.4 mi
  • Redwood: 3.5 mi
  • Rugby Park: 3.7 mi
  • North Hagley Park: 3.7 mi
  • Malvern Park: 3.8 mi
  • Hagley Park: 3.9 mi
  • Botanical Gardens: 3.9 mi
  • Burnside: 0.6 mi
  • International Antarctic Center: 0.8 mi
  • Avonhead: 1.1 mi
  • Harewood: 1.3 mi
  • Russley: 1.7 mi
  • Clearwater Golf Resort: 2.5 mi
  • Papanui: 3 mi
  • Willowbank Wildlife Reserve: 3.1 mi
  • Merivale: 3.4 mi
  • Redwood: 3.5 mi
  • Rugby Park: 3.7 mi
  • North Hagley Park: 3.7 mi
  • Malvern Park: 3.8 mi
  • Hagley Park: 3.9 mi
  • Botanical Gardens: 3.9 mi
  • Rugby League Park: 4 mi
  • Coringa Country Club: 4.2 mi
  • Canterbury Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Main North Rd: 4.3 mi
  • Arts Centre Weekend Market: 4.3 mi
  • Marehau: 4.3 mi
  • The Arts Centre: 4.3 mi
  • Rutherford's Den: 4.3 mi
  • Court Theatre: 4.3 mi
  • Christchurch Casino: 4.3 mi
  • Cave Rock Gallery: 4.3 mi
  • Antigua Boatsheds: 4.4 mi
  • Bealey Avenue: 4.4 mi
  • Addington: 4.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 4.4 mi
  • City New Life Church: 4.5 mi
  • Edgeware: 4.5 mi
  • Southern Encounter: 4.6 mi
  • Christ Church City Centre: 4.7 mi
  • Christchurch Cathedral Square: 4.7 mi
  • Adventure Trailrides: 4.7 mi
  • Christchurch Tramway: 4.8 mi
  • Avon River: 4.9 mi
  • SOL Square: 4.9 mi
  • Victoria Square: 5 mi
  • Richmond South: 5 mi
  • Richmond: 5 mi
  • Belfast: 5.1 mi
  • Brooke Gifford Gallery: 5.1 mi
  • Bone Dudes: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElleB
Auckland
Jul 20, 2013

Best hotel room

We stayed two nights and decided we'd pay a little extra for a room on the Business level. I haven't seen the other rooms so can't comment whether the extra was worth it or not but it wasn't a lot more anyway. We were impressed with the spaciousness of the room and how well it was fitted out. Very comfortable king bed, beautiful big bathroom with large bath tub, good sized drink making area, good sitting area. Great to stay in a hotel and be able to open doors to the balcony which overlooked a garden so it was totally private and quiet. We've stayed in numerous hotels recently and this was by far and away the best room - even when paying a bit more it's difficult to find one with this much space and access to fresh air on a balcony in a big hotel. The bar and restaurant areas are rather more ordinary. We had dinner there one night - the mains were good but the desserts were awful, so a bit hit and miss. We found the staff friendly and helpful. All in all, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey99
Business
Sydney
May 18, 2013

Perfect

Free shuttle service is fantastic. Superior room very comfortable and clean. Large rooms. Restaurant very good value with delicious food. Staff friendly and attentive. Loved my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G Dudes
Not Provided
Apr 18, 2013

Cycling tour base

A great base for a cycling tour of the West Coast. A good nights sleep at the start and finish!!! Great to have the car parked whilst away on tour. Excellent meals, good service and excellent accommodation. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harks
Madison, wi
Mar 26, 2013

Excellent in every way

From check in through drop off at the airport, this hotel provides a personalized, out of the ordinary, friendly touch. Room and atmosphere of hotel was excellent. I travel frequently, and this hotel is in my top percentile for business or leisure travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olivia Taylor
New Plymouth, NZ
Mar 18, 2013

A Good Option for Travelers

Our stay at this hotel coincided with a large scale refurbishment of the entire hotel. We chose a Commodore Club room which we highly recommend upgrading to as they are modern and beautifully appointed. Not all of the rooms at this hotel have been remodeled yet, though we were told the entire hotel renovation would be finished within the coming months. Again, I've read that the rooms that have not been renovated are outdated and less than desirable. Perhaps when making a booking, double check with the booking agent to ensure that you are placed in one of the renovated rooms. We experienced issues with the air conditioning which seemed to be out of service for our entire building for several hours. While we understand that the renovations had something to do with the A/C troubles, it was difficult to remain in our room due to the heat. And after an early morning from Queenstown and due to travel early again the following morning, our comfort and ability to get good sleep was important. The hotel shuttle to the airport was quick and efficient. The hotel bar, which had also been recently renovated, was beautiful. This hotel seems to be the best option for short term travelers to Christchurch in between flights. Definitely steps ahead of neighboring hotels, especially with the renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickNZ
Auckland, New Zealand
Dec 29, 2012

overachieved

With the major hotels in CC gone, I was not expecting much from this airport hotel, but it surprised us. The rooms were spacious and very clean, and the staff were very helpful. The only inconvenience is the isolation of the room we were in due to construction of a new wing of the hotel, which meant an outdoor walk in the rain, but that was fairly minor overall. No construction noise while we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Restart Mall; it's a unique shopping experience around the rubble of the red zone. Very cool.

Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nola
Canberra
Dec 21, 2012

It ticked all our boxes

We stayed overnight at this hotel and loved everything about it. In a studio room, I could open a window for fresh air, they gave us 2 free drinks vouchers, there was a proper bath, it was a few minutes drive from the airport by the free shuttle, and the room service soup we ordered was cooked in house and delicious. They also have very attractive landscaping around the pool area where we enjoyed our drink. Most important, for people who had to get up at 4 am, the hotel was quiet and the shuttle arrived very promptly when requested. In all, a great place with excellent staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovers of South Island
Auckland
Nov 10, 2012

Airport convenience

You can tell that this hotel is a family run business and the family is very involved. The staff are so friendly and the facilities were immaculate. Beautiful food at the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food

Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KittyW
Brisbane
Sep 26, 2012

Love this place

Everything about this place was relaxed, luxurious, and indulgent. We were honeymooners on our way through and despite the hotel obviously being for business travelers it still covered everything needed and hoped for. The staff were prompt and anticipated every need. The porter service was excellent and the place was impeccably clean. The food delicious and of good size and the wine selection to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerri C
Charlotte
Jul 3, 2012

great hotel very close to airport!

This hotel was very nice and really close to the airport. There was a free shuttle that takes you to the airport 24/7 and free Internet in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel was deicious! Great beer, wine, and food'

Back to menu Return to top

Change search