$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

5 stars
90 Federal Street, Auckland, Auckland, 1010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
62 reviews
awesome..great...perfect place

We stayed here on our first trip to auckland. Service is great. Hotel was clean, comfy and classy.... See full review

  • vane a
  • May 18, 2014
Perfect

Loved it, excellent rooms, location and food. Highly recommended. See full review

  • Chavela
  • Apr 25, 2014
Ideally situated in the heart of Auckland, with many of the citys most impressive attractions and eateries literally on our doorstep, the SKYCITY Grand Hotel offers guests a truly five-star experience. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our friendly and attentive team is here to attend to your every need. Experience the newly-refurbished Premium Luxury Rooms, enjoy FREE Wi-Fi for guests with no data cap or time limit^, the tranquil East Day Spa plus a number of award-winning restaurants and the iconic Sky Tower just on the door step of the hotel. Subject to network availability. Acceptable use policy applies. Free Wi-Fi offer available until further notice. Luxuriate in one of the Grand Hotel's exquisitely appointed guest rooms, enjoy a quiet drink in the modern, sophisticated Lobby Bar or breakfast at Gusto Restaurant. Treat yourself at the rejuvenating East Day Spa. The Lobby Bar offers lounge style service. A unique escape for a quiet drink or a stylish, yet secluded venue for a business meeting, The Lobby provides a calm oasis in the heart of the city. There is an impressive selection of fine champagne by the glass and Heineken on tap. Relax with live entertainment Thursday to Saturday. You can also admire the artwork by some of New Zealand's most renowned artists. Up to 30 minutes of free Wi-Fi (maximum 30MB download) in The Lobby. In addition, our fully equipped and complimentary fitness centre is second to none, boasting a 25 metre heated lap pool, sauna and spa pool. **NON SMOKING PROPERTY** Please note SKYCITY GRAND Hotel has a no party policy. A valid credit card (NOT debit card) is required upon arrival. An imprint of your credit card will be taken and the final bill will be settled on check out. Guests paying by debit card will need to present a valid credit card on arrival. NZ$200 Cash Bond + Nightly rate will be required upon check-in if paying Cash / EFTPOS / Visa Debit. Please note that you may be asked for photo ID at time of check in. Please note that a surcharge of 1.5% will apply to all payments made by credit cards. This surcharge will not be itemised on your bank statement, but will be included in the transaction total. Age restriction: Persons under 18 years of age must be accompanied by an adult when staying at SKYCITY. By submitting a booking on this website, you warrant that at least one of the guests who will be staying at the relevant SKYCITY hotel is 18 years of age or over. Valid photo identification may be requested on arrival. If sufficient identification cannot be presented, SKYCITY reserves the right to refuse to honour the booking. ***Please note: Federal Street is being converted into a shared space for pedestrians and traffic which may cause some disruption while this is being completed. SKYCITY aim to keep disruption to a minimum and apologise for any inconvenience caused.***

SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland Rooms

Premium Luxury King or Twin Room
King Room: Newly refurbished the spacious and airy room features a King size bed, bath and separate shower, wall-mounted plasma TV, Sky TV, 24-hour room service, free Wi-Fi and an in-room safe. Rooms are non-smoking and suitable for up to two adults. Twin Room: Newly refurbished the spacious and airy room features two double beds, bath and separate shower, wall-mounted plasma TV, Sky TV, 24-hour room service, free Wi-Fi and an in-room safe. Rooms are non-smoking and suitable for up to two adults. 55 wall mounted plasma television Bathrobes Luxury bathroom products Mini-bar* and refrigerator Pillow menu** Self controlled air conditioning In-room movies* Tea and coffee making facilities Working desk iHome (alarm clock, radio and iPod docking station) Soundproof and blackout curtains Iron and ironing board Hairdryer In-room safe
Premium Luxury Harbour View King Room
Newly refurbished the spacious and airy room features a King size bed, bath and separate shower, stunning harbour views, wall-mounted plasma TV, free Wi-Fi, pillow menu and an in-room safe. Rooms are non-smoking and suitable for up to two adults.
City View Luxury Room (1 King Bed)
Luxury City View King Rooms consist of one king bed (also available as King + Single), separate bath and shower, writing desk, refreshment bar, tea/coffee making facilities & bathrobes. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults only. All rooms are non-smoking. Complimentary WIFI.
City View Room with Breakfast
Indulge in one night's accommodation in a luxury room followed by a delicious breakfast for two at Gusto at the Grand (value up to $39 per person). Complimentary WIFI.
Harbour View Luxury King Room
Harbour View King Rooms consist of one king bed, separate bath and shower, writing desk, refreshment bar, tea/coffee making facilities & bathrobes, plus stunning views of Auckland harbour. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults only. All rooms are non-smoking. Complimentary WIFI.
Superior Suite
Enjoy the spacious suites, consisting of a separate lounge, dining and office area, along with a guest bathroom. The private bedroom has a king sized bed, separate bath and shower. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. All rooms are non-smoking. Complimentary WIFI.
Grand Presidential Suite
The ultimate in luxury. Our Grand Presidential Suites offer a truly exceptional VIP experience. For your entertainment 55" plasma televisions, MYSky TV with in-room movies, DVD Player, Playstation, high end magazines, and minibar with full wet bar. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. All rooms are non-smoking. Complimentary WIFI.
Premium Luxury King Suite
Newly refurbished the spacious and airy suite features a super King size bed, separate lounge and dining room, bath and separate shower, stunning harbour views, 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi. Rooms are non-smoking and suitable for up to two adults.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

-36.8491 174.7622
Area served
Auckland.
Nearby airports
Auckland Airport.
Area description
Located in the city of Auckland, the Skycity Grand Hotel is just across the road from the main Skycity complex, including all its restaurants and casino outlets. The hotel is just a kilometer from the train station Britomart and 35 kilometers away from the Auckland Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • SKYCITY Auckland: 0 mi
  • Sky Tower: 0 mi
  • Aotea Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Flight Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Auckland Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vulcan Lane: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dilworth Building: 0.4 mi
  • New Zealand Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Viaduct Harbour: 0.4 mi
  • Auckland University: 0.5 mi
  • Saint Mary's Bay: 0.9 mi
  • Newton: 0.9 mi
  • Auckland Domain: 1 mi
  • SKYCITY Auckland: 0 mi
  • Sky Tower: 0 mi
  • Aotea Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Flight Experience: 0.2 mi
  • Auckland Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Vulcan Lane: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dilworth Building: 0.4 mi
  • New Zealand Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Viaduct Harbour: 0.4 mi
  • Auckland University: 0.5 mi
  • Saint Mary's Bay: 0.9 mi
  • Newton: 0.9 mi
  • Auckland Domain: 1 mi
  • War Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • City Towers: 1.4 mi
  • Ponsonby: 1.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Kinder House: 1.4 mi
  • St Stephen's Chapel: 1.5 mi
  • Auckland Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Rialto Cinemas: 1.6 mi
  • Mount Eden Domain: 1.9 mi
  • Waitemata Harbour: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Transport and Technology: 2.3 mi
  • Western Springs: 2.4 mi
  • Devonport: 2.5 mi
  • Epsom: 2.5 mi
  • Auckland Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Birkenhead: 2.6 mi
  • Northcote: 2.7 mi
  • Westfield St Lukes: 2.9 mi
  • Remuera: 3 mi
  • Kelly Tarlton's Underwater World: 3.1 mi
  • Greenlane: 3.4 mi
  • One Tree Hill: 3.8 mi
  • Stardome Observatory: 4 mi
  • Takapuna: 4.3 mi
  • Ellerslie: 4.5 mi
  • Pah Homestead: 4.5 mi
  • Avondale: 5 mi
  • Mount Wellington: 5.5 mi
  • Westfield Mall: 9 mi
  • Papatoetoe: 10 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jtwall
fort bragg, ca
May 6, 2010

Great Bargain

I got a great rate which included a lavish daily breakfast buffet and good exercise facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

A visit to the Auckland Museum is a must.

Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jtwall
fort bragg, ca
May 6, 2010

Great Bargain

I got a great rate which included a lavish daily breakfast buffet and good exercise facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

A visit to the Auckland Museum is a must.

Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Dec 9, 2010

WAY outside of Auckland

The hotel was much farther from Auckland than they made it seem. The building was really small... from the lobby to the rooms and bathroom. The bedding/beds were old and our room had no A/C. It wasn't the worst place I've ever been but I couldn't wait to leave! It kinda gave me the creeps. At least the safe was nice and it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
wash. d.c
Dec 17, 2010

the good and bad

the hotel is nor 4 star by any stretch. the bathroom is tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

need to take taxi to just about everything

Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Dec 9, 2010

WAY outside of Auckland

The hotel was much farther from Auckland than they made it seem. The building was really small... from the lobby to the rooms and bathroom. The bedding/beds were old and our room had no A/C. It wasn't the worst place I've ever been but I couldn't wait to leave! It kinda gave me the creeps. At least the safe was nice and it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
wash. d.c
Dec 17, 2010

the good and bad

the hotel is nor 4 star by any stretch. the bathroom is tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

need to take taxi to just about everything

Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Jun 13, 2010

[...]

[...]As far as the hotel, no way is this this a 5 star. A bathroom light was broken and Maintenenace arrived in an hour to fix it. It could not be fixed then and he said it would have to be fixed during the day as the electricity would need to be shut off. I checked-out 3 days later and nothing was ever done. Although the shower stall was small (the floor was flooded after every shower) it had the best water pressure of any hotel I have stayed in. I requested an early check-in via email prior to arrival. Room was not ready but a room with a harbor view was at $30 more per night. Only because I had just goten off of a 12 hour flight and elected to pay the extra.So overall, ok hotel[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Jun 13, 2010

[...]

[...]As far as the hotel, no way is this this a 5 star. A bathroom light was broken and Maintenenace arrived in an hour to fix it. It could not be fixed then and he said it would have to be fixed during the day as the electricity would need to be shut off. I checked-out 3 days later and nothing was ever done. Although the shower stall was small (the floor was flooded after every shower) it had the best water pressure of any hotel I have stayed in. I requested an early check-in via email prior to arrival. Room was not ready but a room with a harbor view was at $30 more per night. Only because I had just goten off of a 12 hour flight and elected to pay the extra.So overall, ok hotel[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edwinam
Hawaii
May 26, 2013

Newbee in NZ

Spent our first three nights in Auckland and booked the Sky City Grand for its location and free wi-fi. It was perfect - centrally located. A short walk to the Wharf, Art Gallery, Britomart. And a comfortable stroll to Parnell. We then headed to Queenstown. After our time in Queenstown, we decided to book our last two nights in Auckland with the Sky City Grand due to our initial good experience. Their sauna is great and it was perfect to relax our trip with. We also enjoyed our dinners at the hotel's The Grill. Both very affordable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Auckland Art Gallery is free admission. Beautiful gallery and free guided tours 2x a day.

Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Active Travelers
Danvile, CA
Sep 27, 2009

It was Grand!

The staff was very helpful in meeting all of our needs. The room were very comfortable and the beds were the best we had in all of New Zealand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top