$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Rydges Auckland

4 stars
View map of 59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street, Central City Auckland, Auckland, 1010

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Auckland

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boceifus
Friends
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Vacation Abroad

Very good, clean and centrally located hotel. The staff was courtesy and even gave us access to free internet during our stay. Very good price for a nice hotel in a foreign country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jul 20, 2011

Great Stay

Great stay; convenient to down town, sky tower and other attractions. Was taken off guard by the shower - the entire bathroom was a wet room for the shower. Don't leave your bathrobe on the floor. Convenient coffee kiosk and bar in the lobby. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Francisco, CA
Mar 17, 2011

Rydges Hotel - Auckland, NZ

This hotel was in a great location in the center of the City with easy access to all attractions. Very clean and nice rooms. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 9, 2011

Good hotel - good location

Great for shopping (stores are close by)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
East Longmeadow, MA
Nov 18, 2010

Great Location

The location of the hotel was excellent. Lots of shopping, restaurants and casino within walking distance. I paid for door to door shuttle to hotel but took Airport Express bus which was just walk around corner and down street. My only downside would be room was a bit small for 3 adults. I also paid extra for harbor view and you have to look hard to find the harbor. Would stay there again if I ever back it back to Auckland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the walk down to the harbor and take the ferry across to Devonport. Once there you can take a bus tour however, we walked to the 2 different dormant volcanos. There's an information office a short walk from the ferry and they will give you a map and bunch of suggestions on how to spend the day there.

Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abuelita Clara
Single
Oregon
Oct 11, 2010

Good location and good service

Hotel breakfast was a little pricey $24NZ but good selection for a cold buffet with meats and cheeses as well as pastry, fruit and yogurt. By and large, staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable but one member of the staff gave me bad information on how to get to the museum by public transportation. I walked way farther than I needed to to pick up the bus in very bad weather. Over all, a very pleasant place to stop in Aukland. I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Victoria Park Market is still mentioned in some guide books as a place to shop. DON'T DO IT! The place is filthy, dilapidated and the goods are of the cheapest quality.

Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Forest Falls, CA
Sep 10, 2010

Newly renovated rooms

We had a newly renovated room, and it was lovely. The staff were helpful, the bar was good, the location was great. Off-season prices [...] were unbeatable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ferry to Rangitoto for a beautiful hike up the volcano is a great way to spend a day.

Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ontario, Canada
Sep 1, 2010

Very clean, central, updated

Very central to harbour, shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Irish pub around the corner! The Muddy Farmer.

Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Aug 5, 2010

Great Location

For the most part the staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. It really just depended on the day. I was very ill when we checked in (5:30am)and they were very kind and let us check in early. (check in is normaly 2pm) I would not reccomend the hotel restaurant. The food was ok but very expensive. There are restaurants and cafes all around the hotel. There are even a few that are open 24 hours right up the street, not easy to find in auckland. The location could not have been better. Its right in the city center and close to the motor way entry. One thing i enjoyed was there was a mini cafe in the lobby. It was so nice to grab a coffee on our way out for a day of sightseeing. I would for sure stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Esquires Coffee is open 24 hours and has good food if you are looking for a light meal or snack.

Review of Rydges Auckland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenwich, CT
Jul 21, 2010

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Very nice hotel. Just right for me for the purposes of my travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Or if you like walking, the Auckland Museum was about a two mile walk--I did it. And I walked a lot around downtown Auckland. Lots to see when you walk it.

Back to menu Return to top