$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Mercure Auckland

4 stars
8 Customs Street East, AUCKLAND, 1010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
172 reviews
Location, Location , Location

Very friendly staff at the Mercure Auckland which couldn't have been in a more perfect location.... See full review

  • Sue Sydney
  • May 7, 2014
Marina open forum days

The Mercure is a top spot for an out of town Marina operator like myself when attending working... See full review

  • Tony A
  • Apr 5, 2014
Waterfront hotel with international restaurant and 10 meeting rooms
The Mercure Auckland has a soothing and seductive location right on the waterfront. The calming breezes seem to flow through the lobby with sea-glass green and crisp white colors. All rooms have high-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply) and many have waterfront views. The Mercure Auckland has 10 conference rooms that can accommodate up to 300 people and a restaurant, The Vue Restaurant and Attica Bar, which features international cuisine for breakfast and dinner. The hotel has a gym and undercover valet parking.
Highlights
  • Auckland waterfront location
  • Spacious rooms with views of the harbor or city
  • Vue Restaurant and Attica Bar featuring international cuisine
  • On-site gym
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms (fees may apply)
Rooms
The 189 spacious rooms and suites at the Mercure Auckland feature a soothing color palate of gray, purple and green set alongside crisp white reflected through luxe linens on queen- and king-sized beds with thicker mattresses. All rooms feature a flat-panel LCD satellite television. Some rooms feature a separate sitting area with couch, table and television, while all rooms have air conditioning, a minibar and high-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply). Two kids can stay for free with parents. Bathrooms feature a bathtub and hair-dryers. The hotel provides 24-hour room service.
Features
With its breezy, minimalist lobby with sea-glass colored front desk, the Mercure Auckland adapts to its waterfront setting. The hotel gives guests easy access to a variety of attractions, including Vector Arena, Viaduct Harbour and Queen Street shopping. The glass-enclosed Vue Restaurant and Attica Bar, serving breakfast, dinner and evening cocktails, features internationally inspired cuisine in a spectacular rooftop setting with views of the city and harbor. The Mercure Auckland has a gym, undercover valet parking and a dedicated floor for conferences for up to 300 people.
Transportation
  • Nearest train: Britomart Transport Center (0.1 mi/0.3 km)
  • Auckland Airport (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
Attractions
  • Queen Street (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Viaduct Harbour (0.4 mi/0.8 km)
  • Aotea Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Auckland Town Hall (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • Ten meeting rooms that accommodate up to 300 people
  • High-speed Wi-Fi
  • Audiovisual equipment available

Hotel Map

-36.845 174.7679
Nearby airports
AKL, (AKL), 20.00, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Auckland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Mercure Auckland Rooms

1 Qn bed Std Harbour V
Standard 1 Queen Bed Harbour View. Upgrade to enjoy sensational harbour views from this standard room. It is equipped with broadband internet and Sky TV. Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
1 Qn bed Std
Standard one Queen-size bed. After a busy day exploring or working, relax in a cosy Standard Room. It is equipped with broadband internet and Sky TV and offers views of the city. Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
2 Db beds Sup
Superior Room with 2 double beds. Spread out and relax in the more spacious Superior Room. It is equipped with broadband internet and Sky TV and offers sensational views of the city or harbour (additional surcharge). Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
2 Sg beds Std
Standard 2 Single Beds. After a busy day exploring or working, relax in a cosy Standard Room. It is equipped with broadband internet and Sky TV and offers views of the city. Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
2 Db beds Sup Harbour V
Superior 2 Double Beds Harbour View. Combine space and views with this Superior Harbour view room. Also equipped with broadband internet and Sky TV, you will enjoy sensational views of the harbour. Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
JrSuite
Junior Suite with 1 Queen Bed. Make yourself at home in a stylish and spacious Junior Suite. With a separate lounge, the suite offers the perfect ingredients for relaxation, with broadband internet, Sky TV and city views. Harbour views at additional cos

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Dilworth Building: 0.1 mi
  • Vulcan Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Flight Experience: 0.2 mi
  • New Zealand Maritime Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Park: 0.4 mi
  • Sky Tower: 0.4 mi
  • SKYCITY Auckland: 0.4 mi
  • Viaduct Harbour: 0.4 mi
  • Auckland University: 0.4 mi
  • Auckland Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Aotea Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Auckland Domain: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Mary's Bay: 1.2 mi
  • War Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Dilworth Building: 0.1 mi
  • Vulcan Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Flight Experience: 0.2 mi
  • New Zealand Maritime Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Park: 0.4 mi
  • Sky Tower: 0.4 mi
  • SKYCITY Auckland: 0.4 mi
  • Viaduct Harbour: 0.4 mi
  • Auckland University: 0.4 mi
  • Auckland Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Aotea Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Auckland Domain: 1.1 mi
  • Saint Mary's Bay: 1.2 mi
  • War Memorial Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Chapel: 1.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Newton: 1.3 mi
  • Kinder House: 1.4 mi
  • City Towers: 1.5 mi
  • Auckland Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Rialto Cinemas: 1.7 mi
  • Ponsonby: 1.7 mi
  • Waitemata Harbour: 2 mi
  • Devonport: 2.1 mi
  • Mount Eden Domain: 2.2 mi
  • Northcote: 2.6 mi
  • Birkenhead: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Transport and Technology: 2.7 mi
  • Kelly Tarlton's Underwater World: 2.7 mi
  • Epsom: 2.8 mi
  • Western Springs: 2.8 mi
  • Auckland Zoo: 3 mi
  • Remuera: 3.1 mi
  • Westfield St Lukes: 3.3 mi
  • Greenlane: 3.5 mi
  • Takapuna: 4 mi
  • One Tree Hill: 4.1 mi
  • Stardome Observatory: 4.2 mi
  • Ellerslie: 4.5 mi
  • Pah Homestead: 4.8 mi
  • Avondale: 5.4 mi
  • Mount Wellington: 5.5 mi
  • Westfield Mall: 8.9 mi
  • Papatoetoe: 10.1 mi

Dining

VUE RESTAURANT
Located on the top floor of the hotel, offering views of the bustling city and delicious international and local cuisine with friendly, efficient service and a relaxed atmosphere.
ATTICA BAR
Attica is the inner-city's newest hotspot. Gracing the top floor, the bar offers mesmerizing views over Queen Street, the city's most iconic address. The relaxed & sophisticated atmosphere is perfect for catching up with friends over drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Auckland

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tiressa
Brisbane, Australia
Jun 30, 2014

Displeasing All Around

I booked this room based on the location and it was perfect for where i needed to be, and so close to Brittomart Station. i also had several other rooms booked by friends for the same night. Negatives are below: Ordered food from the restaurant that took an hour to get, the waitress was chewing gum like a cow, and had little knowledge of the foods and drinks except that the servings were small (this she was right about) she let us order a Heineken and about 20 mins later came back to advise it isnt on the menu and when the food came out the plate was extremely hot while the food was room temperature. Later ordering drinks from room service the wait was around 20 - 25 mins to get a few drinks to the room, and then the next order didnt come so we had to go to the bar to get it ourselves. Check out took longer than check in with a long line of people waiting, and only 1 person working, and then there was a wait of 25 mins to get our car from valet which actually took about 45 minutes and came out with damage. This hotel really was great for location but i think i would have been better off further from where i needed to be, with much better service. we wont stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ulli
Germany
Feb 10, 2014

Very bad

Oldfashioned,rattling AC and fridge, a bit dirty, shower not reallly clean, an old 2. star french hotel with 5. star prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Remmals
Business
Dunedin, NZ
Mar 7, 2013

Bad stay

Hotel is in a good location. Hotel is starting to look a little dated. Cleanliness was fine, until the bed bugs came and had their way. I would not recommend this hotel sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Remmals
Business
Dunedin, NZ
Feb 11, 2013

- Great view from bar!, but Bed Bugs and noisy -

I've stayed here a few times recently as the hotel fits within my budget, but my last visit wasn't such a good experience and I certainly won't be going back. Bed Bugs! Called the hotel and the duty manager called right back apologising and promising to check the room and get back to me....that was a week ago....not heard anything.... My suggestion - if you are planning to book here, make sure you check the mattress thoroughly before getting in the bed!! Hotel is starting to look a bit dated - but it is in keeping with the price. Bar area is nice and you get a good view of the city. Street noise is loud, even with the double glazing, you still seem to hear every noisy car going up and down Custom Street. I asked this time for a higher room, but was still woken multiple times in the night by traffic going past. Its a shame my last visit was spoilt by the bed bugs, because the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sals Pizza - just around the corner for authentic NY Pizza!! Yum.

Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Flying Kiwi
Business
Hawkes Bay, NZ
Oct 12, 2012

Cheap, but not so cheerful

Friendly staff but the place is tired. Toilet didn't flush and although they were told about it, nothing was done. Hot water came out of the cold taps for the first 10 seconds - never seen that before. Great location, shame about the water problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KathM
Auckland
Apr 1, 2013

Horrible!

We were very dissapointed with our room at the Mercure. I didn't read any reviews before booking because I thought that the Mercure was a well regarded chain of hotels so I assumed it would be great. How wrong I was - what a terrible mistake. The Room cost $170 for one night and it was absolutley awful. It was in desperate need of renovations and it was dirty. There were marks and paint missing on the walls all around the room. There were black hairs in the shower when we arrived. The menu of hotel services had dirty finger prints and food all over it. Mould surrounded all the window frames. The chair in the room had stains all over it. There was a huge fan vent along the side of the room, and despite the fact that we had the fan turned off, the vent made loud noises throughout the night and I was unable to sleep. All in all horrible - spend your money somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Exhausted nurse
Auckland
Apr 20, 2014

If you like all night party music

Fitful and disturbed nights sleep due to excessive noise and vibration from basement night club party and minimal compassion and understanding from hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Be prepared to party not sleep

Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
new mexico
NY
Oct 9, 2012

Mercure auckland review

This hotel has many problems with it. first they put 2 adults in a room meant for one person and lied telling me that it was the correct room. After I insisted they then moved me to a room with the door lock not completely on. Because they were very slow, I corrected it with a plastic knife. The air from the smoking section of the hotel circulates to the non smoking rooms so you wake up with that nice tickle in your throat. i would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of restaurants a short walk away but the best is the fish and chips(grilled salmon) and chips at the end of the fish market

Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DJ Riot
Brisbane, Australia
Feb 12, 2013

Shabby and noisy

On site parking is very overpriced (the council car park a block away is less than half the price), there is nowhere to pull up legally to unload/load luggage. Staff were rude. The air on in the room sounded like an industrial power plant, even on the lowest setting. Noise from the road was excessive. The room didn't appear to have seen a paintbrush this century.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mercure Auckland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A local
Auckland
Apr 21, 2014

Valet parking - i dont think so!

Average rooms, dreadful service, 1 person on check out desk, waited 50 minutes to get into my car, I paid $40.00 for valet parking and my car was parked and blocked in by 3 cars, 1 person dealing with valet parking, what a shambles. 2 valet parked cars got tickets from a parking attendant while I was waiting for my car. good location if you don't have a car as it is very close to VIaduct and Britomart bars and eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search