$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Auckland City Oaks

4 stars
View map of 188 Hobson Street, Auckland, Auckland, 1036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Auckland City Oaks

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gill 100
Business
Israel
Nov 24, 2013

Very good

Good value for money. Very good location,close to the city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rapuka
Business
Aberdeen Scotland
Dec 23, 2011

great location for airport

Very clean room, good service, helpfull staff, great location for airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BubKz
Business
Sydney NSW, Australia
Dec 2, 2011

Auckland, November 23-26, 2011

Clean and comfortable. Would stay here again. NOT a luxury hotel at all. Our suite (G07) had a wonderful view of the back of the police station. If you want on-site parking, specify when making your reservation, or it will be unavailable. Three blocks to nearest ATM. Staff is friendly and willing, but not terribly knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bond 888
Business
Westminster, CA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Food

Breakfast delivered to your room in basket. No hotel dining room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

free bus in city Taxi is expensive airport=city bus excellent and reasonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johno144
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Good Value in a great location

Good Value in a great location. No Wifi. Plug in internet only for 1 hour per day. My room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana, USA
Mar 31, 2011

Not All That It Seems

This hotel is located in the middle of Auckland CBD which was distance to everything. The room was decent but was given a 2 bedroom standard instead of our one bedroom executive. The front desk service was not very helpful with this matter or others. We asked for a taxi to take us to the Whale and Dophin Safari tour. We were told they knew nothing of this as many other places. We found it after a 15 minute walk straight down the street. The front desk did not know where anything was. Also, the room service was not good. At times, they never came into the room. We had to call numerous times to get someone to clean the room. And only once did they clean the room meaning vaccuming, mopping, cleaning the bathroom. I do not recommend this hotel unless the front service learns more about their own city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Takes about 15 minutes to get to the dock where all the recreation / water activities are located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 15, 2011

Pretty good

Good location-walking distance to ferries, sky tower/casino. Right next door to police station, so felt safe, altho there is a mission a couple of blocks down-had no problems. Neighborhood fairly good, overall. Large room-2 bedrooms, nice balcony. Staff was very helpful-excellent. Free internet in lobby, which is rare in NZ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Indian restaurant-Ravi's (sp?) very good and reasonably priced (for NZ)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sauk Centre, MN
Mar 12, 2011

Great Location & Facility for the Price

I had stayed here in October, 2010. My wife was quite impressed with the spaciousness in the room and the layout with two separate bedrooms, a full kitchen and good sized bathroom and clothes washer-dryer machine. The Hotel is a short walk to the Sky Tower where we had a wonderful buffet up in the Tower which also included time at the observatory part of the Tower. We also took a half day tour of Auckland which gave us many diverse views of the city. We took a Link Bus ($1.60 NZ) from Sky City to the Custom House and a short walk to the ferry to Devonport which was quite relaxing and gave us another view of Auckland. We also had a great fresh fish lunch at the Custom House. The room could have had a light above the sink and mirror in the bathroom. I like a bright light to shave and my wife likes a bright light to put on her make-up. Also, I like a box of tissue in a hotel room and with the kitchen some paper towels. This was a great trip for us even if we couldn't see Christchurch because of the earthquake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sky Tower has a Buffet just below the observation level. It's mostly fresh fish, but it's well prepared and many dishes to go with it including salads and desserts. The bread is excellent, too. The Buffet includes a 30 minute period at the ovservation level before the Buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sauk Centre, MN
Mar 12, 2011

Great Location & Facility for the Price

I had stayed here in October, 2010. My wife was quite impressed with the spaciousness in the room and the layout with two separate bedrooms, a full kitchen and good sized bathroom and clothes washer-dryer machine. The Hotel is a short walk to the Sky Tower where we had a wonderful buffet up in the Tower which also included time at the observatory part of the Tower. We also took a half day tour of Auckland which gave us many diverse views of the city. We took a Link Bus ($1.60 NZ) from Sky City to the Custom House and a short walk to the ferry to Devonport which was quite relaxing and gave us another view of Auckland. We also had a great fresh fish lunch at the Custom House. The room could have had a light above the sink and mirror in the bathroom. I like a bright light to shave and my wife likes a bright light to put on her make-up. Also, I like a box of tissue in a hotel room and with the kitchen some paper towels. This was a great trip for us even if we couldn't see Christchurch because of the earthquake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sky Tower has a Buffet just below the observation level. It's mostly fresh fish, but it's well prepared and many dishes to go with it including salads and desserts. The bread is excellent, too. The Buffet includes a 30 minute period at the ovservation level before the Buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 14, 2011

Great Stay

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It had a garage to park our rental car which was convenient. The room was very clean and modern with a balcony which was nice. Free internet in the lobby. Don't expect much for breakfast, a bottle of juice and small bag of cereal. It takes less than 5 minutes to walk to Sky Tower. I felt very safe but just be aware you do walk past some sort of homeless shelter/food pantry. That being said I would still stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top