$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Olmenlaan 52, Zwanenburg, 1161JX

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JerryJ
Business
Washington DC
Jul 8, 2011

Great spot to hook up with the Airport

Nice clean hotel - comfortable. Earlier posts had said that there was only one eating place nearby... not the case anymore. Very nice Chinese Restaurant a block away. Another early post had said that you could not get an early shuttle to the airport... not the case anymore. They provided a prompt shuttle at 5:30am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
May 30, 2011

Extremely convenient!

Very conveniently location for a traveler who needs to sleep overnight near Schiphol to catch up a flight the next morning. The hotel is simple and clean, similar to what you would routinely encounter in the US in e.g. Super 8 or Days Inn. Shuttle service to/from Schiphol is quick (ca 15 min) and on time. Good deal overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sole Mio cafe in downtown Zwanenburg is just 5-7 min walk from the hotel. It is a very friendly place with good, reasonably priced food. Importantly, it is open long hours after the hotel's own restaurant is already closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Island, Ne
Mar 2, 2011

Comfortable and convenient

We booked Hotel Zwanenburg because they offered shuttle service from Schipol Airport and we were only staying one night with little time to sightsee. The hotel is comfortable and there is a restaurant onsite although it is closed on Sat. night. The owner gave us walking directions to the downtown area 5 minutes away where there were several restaurants. This is a great place if you need a shuttle and aren't planning a lot of time in Amsterdam as it is not near the city. The cost was very reasonable also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

you have to call the hotel when you arrive at Schipol. We spent about 20 minutes figuring out where to go and then found out we needed to call also. Would have been good to know that before we arrived -- it would have saved us some time and walking around in circles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam
Nov 15, 2010

Hotel review

If you like a small quite town then this is the place to relax. However if you like nightlife then this place is to far from all that. You need a car renatal. The staff was friendly. The only complaint I had was I called three times and ask for someone to give me a another remote control for the TV. I called three times and all I got was not good results. Before departing the next day I voiced my complaint about it. Regardless of where I spend my money I do expect good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I had to walk to far to catch the bus and had to catch two buses home. I got a hotel back in downtown amsterdam. The other hotel was nice but just to far for me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Nov 17, 2009

good for a sleeping place

Shuttle service worked great....it was located far from any type of restaurants or businesses...it would have been nice to have been closer to restaurants or cafes. The breakfast buffet was fair...although not sure it was worth the 8 Euros

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 30, 2009

Minimal

The staff were not friendly at all. The worst part was that I booked the hotel for its airport shuttle but turns out there is no shuttle early in the morning. So they booked me a taxi that ended up costing 41 Euro! almost the cost of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Major City Traveler
Business
Virginia
Jul 7, 2009

My parents loved it!

My parents stayed in this hotel on their way back to the States from a European cruise. It was the perfect place to recuperate from a very busy schedule of tours and a different port every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel offers free shuttle to and from the airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thoamsjeffrey
Business
Palmetto, FL
Jun 25, 2009

Zwanenburg Hotel review

The hotel was suitable for someone just looking for a place to sleep and spend one night. Easy access to the bus and train systems made it easy to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the bus station which connects to train and tram service for trips to city center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Canaveral , Florida
Jun 22, 2009

Excellent POlace for Bussines/Working ba

Very pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent shuttle service to and from airport. Not always available, but very accommodating. Free wireless internet. Loved the small restaurant. Great food. Very Good breakfast. Not overly exaggerated, but had the essentials. It is a small hotel and the rooms are not very large or the TV. But it is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown of the town is only about 3 blocks away. Many shops. Not a tourist "trap"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Zwanenburg Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 18, 2009

Great way to use a layover!

My biggest gripe with Orbitz is that they don't let me book a hotel at an intermediate destination as part of my travel package when my trip includes an overnight layover at an airport. This almost always happens on my trans-Atlantic return flights. Even so, I have found that it is well worth the extra effort to separately search for and book a hotel for the overnight stay. Instead of having to arrange last-minute accommodations at an expensive, noisy airport hotel, I have been able to find pleasant places to stay at reasonable rates and in beautiful locations - all offering free shuttles from and to the airport. The Zwanenburg Hotel is just such a place, located about 20 minutes away from the Schiphol Airport near Amsterdam. My only frustrating moment during my stay was the initial contact. At the airport, I had a bit of trouble with my cell phone, and so I called them using a pay phone to let them know I had arrived. They looked up my reservation and immediately dispatched a van to collect me. After a pleasant drive among the checkerboard farm fields, we arrived at the hotel, located in a very charming Dutch village. I travel light, so it didn't matter that my room was two flights up, but I was a bit puzzled until I realized that what I call the "third floor" is known as the "second floor" in Europe. After dropping off my luggage in my room, there was still enough daylight for me to take a very pleasant walk around the block, admiring the tiny, beautiful gardens and neat brick houses. Then I had a very delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant before turning in. My room was clean and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and a complete, European-style breakfast was available the next morning, though it wasn't included in the original booking price. The previous evening, my hosts had worked out when I had to be back at the airport in order to make my flight, so I arrived in plenty of time. I suppose, if I were younger, I might have preferred to live it up in the Amsterdam red-light district during my overnight stay. However, a restful night, and a chance to absorb a bit of local color are far more my speed these days. If you are like me, and have an overnight layover at Schiphol, I highly recommend the Zwanenburg Hotel as your answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The village is very lovely, with tiny, well kept gardens and brick houses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top