$57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

3 stars
Voorburgstraat 250, Amsterdam, 1059 VD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
132 reviews
Good Value for money but a few important flaws

When we arrived at the hotel there were several customers waiting to check in. We were told to wait... See full review

  • Skyrida
  • Aug 19, 2014
Value for money

Comfortable hotel, not too many extras, but they were supplied as soon as we asked. Eg a safe in... See full review

  • Chrissylewis
  • Aug 2, 2014
A cozy, modern choice near the airport and all Amsterdam attractions
Located conveniently on the quiet outskirts of Amsterdam and minutes from Schiphol Airport, West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam offers up-to-date accommodations in modern, elegantly simple guest rooms to ensure a relaxing retreat for all guests. West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam provides a slate of amenities, including Wi-Fi access, on-site parking and a 24-hour front desk to facilitate business and leisure. A satisfying breakfast buffet, fresh-made meals from the food corner and combination bar and lounge means ample opportunities for refreshment between sightseeing or business meetings.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located between Amsterdam and Schiphol Airport
  • Modern, business-class rooms tailored to both singles and groups
  • Amsterdam's lush Vondelpark and major museums nearby
Rooms

West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam's 195 guest rooms sport an elegant, back-to-basics look that keeps the emphasis on rest, comfort and convenience. West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam offers a series of room types starting with standard single and standard 2-person rooms, which come with one and two twin beds, respectively. Similarly, standard triple rooms are furnished with three twin beds and standard quadruple rooms with four twin beds. All rooms come with cable TVs with satellite channels and On Demand entertainment.

Features

West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam offers modern services in an elegant, three-star business-class setting and affords quick and easy access to all of Amsterdam's business and leisure destinations. Guests enjoy a daily breakfast buffet to start the day's activities. West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam's bar and lounge provides the ideal place to unwind between meetings or at the end of a day's sightseeing. The bar serves delicious refreshments and the lounge features billiards and TVs. Guests can also stop by the hotel's food corner where fresh sandwiches, pizzas and salads are offered throughout the day. Additional services and amenities include a 24-hour front desk, on-site parking and Schiphol Airport shuttle service.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport shuttle service (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (5 mi/8 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (6.5 mi/11 km)
Attractions
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (3.5 mi/6 km)
  • Heineken Experience (3 mi/5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (4.5 mi/7 km)

Hotel Map

52.3487 4.8427
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 7.1 km, Rotterdam Airport - 51.4 km.
Area description
West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam is situated near the highway A10, exits S106 and S107. The hotel is easy accessible by car or by public transportation. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Center, World Trade Center and RAI congress halls and the city center of Amsterdam are only 15 minutes away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
Room with two single beds or one double bed. The room is very specious with modern facilities and equipped with private bathroom, shower and toilet, free highspeed wireless internet and TV. All rooms are non smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Slotervaart: 0.6 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Olympic Experience: 0.6 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Rietveld School of Art & Design: 0.9 mi
  • OT301: 1.3 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1.3 mi
  • Orgelpark: 1.3 mi
  • VU University Amsterdam: 1.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 1.5 mi
  • World Trade Center: 1.5 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 1.5 mi
  • Public Library: 1.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 1.6 mi
  • Slotervaart: 0.6 mi
  • Electric Tram Line Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Olympic Experience: 0.6 mi
  • OCCII: 0.7 mi
  • Rietveld School of Art & Design: 0.9 mi
  • OT301: 1.3 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1.3 mi
  • Orgelpark: 1.3 mi
  • VU University Amsterdam: 1.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 1.5 mi
  • World Trade Center: 1.5 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 1.5 mi
  • Public Library: 1.5 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 1.6 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 1.6 mi
  • Oud-West: 1.6 mi
  • Concert Building: 1.6 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 1.7 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Beatrixpark: 1.7 mi
  • Museumplein: 1.8 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 1.8 mi
  • House of Bols: 1.8 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Osdorp: 1.8 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 1.9 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 2 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 2 mi
  • Melkweg: 2 mi
  • Paradiso: 2 mi
  • Leidse Square: 2 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 2.1 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 2.1 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 2.1 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 2.1 mi
  • Pauw: 2.1 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 2.1 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 2.1 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 2.1 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 2.2 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 2.2 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 2.2 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 2.2 mi

Dining

Bar, Restaurant and Lounge
We serve an international breakfast buffet until 10:00 am with warm and cold dishes. At the end of the day, you can relax in the lounge or in the modern bar where you can enjoy a drink, delicious snacks or a quick, simple meal. There is a pool table in the bar. A number of big TV screens allow you to follow the latest news and sport updates. In the lobby of the Hotel you will find the food corner, where you can order homemade sandwiches, pizzas and salads. The food corner of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam is open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm. The Reception has a small menu available after this time. You can also enjoy your drink or meal on our terrace in front of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 132
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Molly in Dublin
England
Aug 6, 2014

a budget hotel

Very basic room.. shower had no ventilation so there was a damp smell that was unpleasant. But staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bazil
Seattle, WA, USA
Jul 14, 2014

Girls weekend

Close enough to the tram stop.. Just took us a while to find it initially. Other than that it's a great place to stay. Pizza from the lobby was good but cheap. I'd stay there again if I find myself in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Free tours leave from 'Dam' 3 times a day. They're great. Google 360 tours Amsterdam.

Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janne Doe
Kanta-Häme, Finland
Apr 14, 2014

ok'ish hotel for the price

The cons first. Bathroom was in pretty bad state and had some things that shoulda been easily taken care of. Some rooms were being restorated but if this had already been I dont know. I certainly hope it wansnt. Tap for sink was clearly loose. Toilet seat wouldnt keep up, so as males we had to improvise. There was nothing to swipe the wet floor after shower. Cleaning lady hadnt cleaned completely after last customer since we found trash not belonging to us while reviewing the room before check out. Also there were some stains on floor and "clean" beddrobe. Otherwise room was furnished okish but fridge woulda been nice. There was no loud noises during the night or any other disturbance. Staff was friendly and helpful at all times. We didnt use catering services so cant comment on that. Overall, the hotel was good for price we paid, and accommondated two travelers nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There was mall with two big marts just next to hitel which was very convenient. Hotel was 6km from city centre. Still you can get around with tram and other pub trans nicely. Tram number 2 is the one to use, for night bus 328. When you arrive at airport, you should take train to Ams Lelylaan and walk from there/take a cab.

Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LJKH
UK
Apr 12, 2014

Great value

Stayed here for the first time for my Birthday weekend. Staff were great. One of the receptionist allowed me to make a call to the UK for free as myself and companion had no cell phone access. Good location, only a train ride to center. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wee Al
Elderslie, Scotland
Jan 29, 2014

Over all very good

All in all a good hotel at a very good price. At first we thought it would be to far away from the city center but in fact getting away from the center was a welcome break plus with trams round the corner it's a good way to see the city without trying hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than 5 min walk and open till 8pm.

Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jinkssick
amsterdam
Jan 22, 2013

Great little hotel, bit far from center

The night bus 358 and tram 2 will allow you to reach the center. Great price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Albert Heijn and Lidl are round the corner, which will allow you to save some cash.

Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
teambrett
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 20, 2012

room for improvement

the hotel has a nice little eatery in the lobby. The staff was helpful. The room size was probably average for Amsterdam. The bathroom is a toilet shower combo and we found a few bugs in the room but for the price it was decent. The #2 tram is 3 blocks away and makes a quick trip all the way to Centraal Station. A night bus runs you back when the tram stops at midnight or so. All in all the price was great but next time I'll pay a bit more and stay downtown since we didn't spend much time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

get a public transport card. It's the fastest cheapest method to get anywhere.

Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NWVicky
Anacortes Washington USA
Jul 10, 2010

Price is the key issue. Very basic hotel

We had a required layover on our return flight from Copenhagen. What was important to us was a hotel that had a room for 4 adults, price,and an airport shuttle as we got in late and had to return to airport early. I assumed the airport shuttle was free. It was not, instead it was about 17 euro per person each way. If you are two or more, a taxi is much better. (about 30 euro). We found a wonderful taxi driver that drove us from the airport and around Amsterdam so we could get a sense of the city. 60 euros for a wonderful experience. That said, if you were wanting to explore the city, you would likely want to take a taxi to the city center. It isn't far away. This hotel is in a close in suburb. We were told that the nearby train station was not good/safe late at night, so that limits your options. Plus, given the warning, you would likely not want to walk, but instead take a taxi to and from the station, although the neighborhood did not look particularly unsafe to us. Perhaps not the best option to use as a base to explore the city. Lots of singles in the hotel, and the staff was very friendly. They also had a late night snack bar, which worked well for us getting in so late. In summary, a good value for a group or family for overnight/layover. Consider how you will get from the hotel to other parts of the city if you plan to explore Amsterdam.This hotel might not be too good for exploring the city if what we were told about the train station is accurate. Otherwise, it is pretty close in and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have more than two traveling, take care to make sure that you book an appropriate room. (Most european rooms are two single beds with no extra room). Also, check to see if there is a charge for airport shuttle before booking. Taxis may be cheaper.

Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, Louisiana
Jun 6, 2010

Great Hotel Overall

My friends and I spent three nights at the Hem Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised at the overall place. I had gotten two quads for amazing prices (half as much as HOSTELs) so I wasn't expecting amazing rooms. However, what we recieved far succeeded the low expectations. the rooms were nice and clean, and fairly spacious. The location is not bad at all...just outskirts of the city where it's quiet and nice neighborhood (about one minute walk to the tram and 10 minute tram ride to the center of the city). Overall highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of West Side Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
good2 go great 2b home
Boston ma.
Sep 3, 2009

Hem hotel rateing

The hem is about a 15 min. cab ride from amsterdam central. Be careful when takeing cabs they will try to over charge you. 15-20 euros is good.Aside from being a little away from the entertainment center, this is a great hotel, for the price.Tell the hotels barmaid [...], David says hello.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

take the tram

Back to menu Return to top

Change search