$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The College Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Roelof Hartstraat 1, Amsterdam, 1071 VE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
4 reviews
wonderful

location was great. the room as well as the space at the college hotel was beautiful. loved our... See full review

  • admire space
  • Aug 31, 2010
Lovely, but dark

This was a stunning building - formerly a monastery, I think, which would explain the single... See full review

  • Maatjes
  • Aug 15, 2009
The College Hotel is housed in a stylish 19th-century building, which began life in 1895 as a school. Today the hotel and restaurant are continuing the tradition of developing talent, as the staff are students at various hotel management schools, managed by experienced professionals. The College Hotel's historic feel is a balance of respect for authenticity and state-of-the-art design. Its high ceilings, large open fireplaces and roomy staircases all combine to create a very special atmosphere in the lobby, the rooms and the restaurant. The facilities of The College Hotel also have a welcoming feel. The hotel has several spacious and stylish meeting and event rooms, which are excellent for hosting important business meetings and social events, dinners and weddings. The College Hotel, which has four stars, has 40 stylish boutique rooms, which are all individually designed, 4 private meeting rooms, a beautiful lounge/bar, a sunny terrace and a restaurant in the former gymnasium. The unique concept, the design and warm hospitality ensures that The College Hotel is visited by ( well known and famous ) international guests from all over the world. A few years ago the Hotel won the Prix Villegiature for the best interior design in a hotel in Europe All rooms have Illy Coffee Machines. Breakfast is 19.50 euro per person. A 5.5% city tax is to be paid at the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The College Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The College Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Luxury Double Room
The room offers double bed along with air-conditioning, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, clothes dryer, disabled facilities, heating, internet access, iron/ ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, modem/ data port connection, non smoking rooms, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio and telephone. Illy Coffee machine
Superior Double Room
The room offers double bed along with air-conditioning, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, clothes dryer, disabled facilities, heating, internet access, iron/ ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, modem/ data port connection, non smoking rooms, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio and telephone, Illy Coffee machine.
Deluxe Double Room
The room offers double bed along with air-conditioning, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, clothes dryer, disabled facilities, heating, internet access, iron/ ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, modem/ data port connection, non smoking rooms, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio and telephone, Illy Coffee machine.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oud-Zuid: 0.1 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.5 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.5 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 0.6 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.7 mi
  • Oud-Zuid: 0.1 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.3 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.5 mi
  • De Appel Art Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.5 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.5 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.5 mi
  • Heineken Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Cuyp Marktet: 0.5 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.5 mi
  • Sarphatipark: 0.6 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.7 mi
  • Beethovenstraat: 0.7 mi
  • Beatrixpark: 0.7 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.7 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.8 mi
  • Pauw: 0.8 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.8 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.8 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.8 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.8 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.8 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.9 mi
  • OT301: 0.9 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.9 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.9 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.9 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 1 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 1 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 1 mi
  • Concerto : 1 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 1 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 1 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 1 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 1 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 1 mi
  • Amsterdam Zuid Railway Station: 1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The college restaurant offers dishes born of classical Dutch cuisine, married with contemporary perspective to offer carefully crafted gourmet fare, created by acclaimed executive chief schilo van coevorden and his team. Situated in the restored, period school gymnasium of the college hotel, a 19th century school building, light and space is balanced, in an open plan kitchen and round tables seating up to 65 guests. The college restaurant offers an inspiring and playful menu created from taste sensations the chef experienced in his childhood- ingredients such as cinnamon, anise, pepper, note, nutmeg and mace are thoughtfully infused in many dishes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for The College Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3
Sort by:
Review of The College Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
admire space
washington, d.c. usa
Aug 31, 2010

wonderful

location was great. the room as well as the space at the college hotel was beautiful. loved our room (211) and every part of the hotel. louge invited a tranquil place to sit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The College Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
minnesota
Nov 25, 2010

unorganized

Arrived and was told that the room I had reserved was not available. I told her I wanted the room I reserved. She said ok and sent me to a room. The room had two single beds and was a lot smaller. I told her that was not the room again. SSHe said I would have to talk with the manager. I went back down stairs and found the manager. She said they were sold out and my room was not available. I checked the hotel website and it showed they had 10 rooms available the same as the room I reserved. She said that was not accurate. I checked another website and it said the same thing. She finally showed me another room. It was a lot smaller room with NO window! It was like a nice closet. It had what looked like a double bed and I was tired so I took it. When I went to go to bed I discovered it was two single beds with a double comforter!!!!!!! I was not happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The College Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
admire space
Business
washington, d.c. usa
Aug 31, 2010

wonderful

location was great. the room as well as the space at the college hotel was beautiful. loved our room (211) and every part of the hotel. louge invited a tranquil place to sit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The College Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maatjes
Business
Brighton, England
Aug 15, 2009

Lovely, but dark

This was a stunning building - formerly a monastery, I think, which would explain the single windows in the room letting in just a slice of God's light - refurbished to very high standards. The room I was given was stunning - vaulted ceilings, good-sized bathroom with bath, and so on. The staff are adorable and very helpful, probably because they are all students in hotel management. This adds a really nice 'feel' to the place. My only wish was for some kind of complimentary coffee/tea service in the morning. A simple coffeemaker with good coffee in all the rooms would be most welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Albert Cuyp market on Albert Cuypstraat, which is open from 9:30 am to about 5 pm, Monday to Saturday, is a joy. Blocks and blocks of excellent food and cheap but cheerful products like flower-patterned bicycle panniers make this well worth the short (20 minutes or so) walk from the hotel. Get the new herring on a brown roll with onions and pickle - it's the sushi of Holland! Exquisite! The Sarphatipark nearby is also very pleasant, and the area is heaving with charming cafes, bars, and a couple of coffeshops that are blissfully free of frat boys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The College Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 6, 2009

Lovely!

I traveled to Amsterdam to have a relaxing four day vacation and the College Hotel was perfect. It's very quiet, tranquil,and modern. The rooms were very comfortable and have a beautiful/sleek design. The hotel staff were always available and willing to assist. I would definitely stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Mike's Bike Tours is a great and inexpensive place to rent bikes. Their tours looked interesting too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top