$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Swissotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 96, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
91 reviews
very nice hotel

very nice hotel and location is perfect . staff is very friendly See full review

  • MEzzeldin
  • Dec 8, 2014
very nice hotel

very nice hotel and location is perfect . staff is very friendly See full review

  • MEzzeldin
  • Dec 8, 2014
Swissotel Amsterdam arguably boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the very heart of the city centre, close to the city's major sites and shopping areas. Amsterdam Central Station is only a short walk from the hotel. Behind its 19th century historical facade, Swissotel Amsterdam offers appealing non-smoking, modern-styled, soundproofed and air-conditioned guestrooms, which provide a calm, comfortable oasis of quiet amidst the hum of bustling city life. All guests have free access to the modern Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness centre featuring state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment. Swissotel Amsterdam offers complimentary use of internet in the Business Centre. Facilities include 3 workstations, a colour printer and copier, scanner, DVD/CD player and burner, multimedia card reader (compatible with different sizes), USB access and photo editing software. A 5.5% city tax is to be paid at the hotel. Swissotel Amsterdam is 100% non-smoking. Kids till 12 years old can stay free of charge in existing bedding. If you guarantee your reservation with a credit card, all cards are verified by means of an authorization on the day of arrival. Please note that we hold the right to cancel your room reservation after 4PM should the credit card be invalid.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Swissotel Amsterdam Rooms

Classic Room
This room type offers one king size bed or twin beds. The bathroom features a bath, shower, toilet and a hairdryer. In-house movies on demand are directly linked to TV, and all rooms feature mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine and an in-room safe. Two telephones with voice mail capability are provided and LAN and wireless connectivity are also available at a surcharge.
Premium Room
This room type offers one king size bed or twin beds and is tastefully decorated and well appointed for your comfort. The bathroom offers a bath, shower, toilet and a hairdryer. In-house movies on demand are directly linked to TV, and all rooms feature mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine and an in-room safe. Two telephones with voice mail capability are provided and LAN and wireless connectivity are also available at a surcharge.
Junior Suite
This room type offers one king size bed and is prominently located on the front side of the hotel, overlooking colourful Dam Square. A highspeed wired LAN connection is offered free of charge. Wifi at a surcharge. These spacious rooms also provide a comfortable lounge area with sofa, foot stool and coffee table and feature a large bathroom with a hairdryer, separate shower and toilet. Junior suites also feature flat screen TV's, a DVD player, a separate CD music player and in-house movies on demand are directly linked to TV, and all rooms feature mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine and an in-room safe, an iron and ironing board and a bathrobe and slippers are also provided. Three telephones,all featuring voice mail capability, are provided.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Single: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Single: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.4 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.4 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Breakfast is an additional 14.50 euro that can be booked during your stay.
Dam Plaza
The modern styled restaurant Dam Plaza is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. * After breakfast, the restaurant is open till midnight and offers a variety of sandwiches, soups, salads, fish and meat dishes, and pastas. * Besides a bite to eat, you can also relax while enjoying a cup of coffee or a nice glass of wine. * This year is the first year you may find terraces all year round in Amsterdam. In Summer enjoy a refreshing drink on our terrace, while in Winter time you may keep yourself warm with a hot chocolate while enjoying all the activities on Dam Square.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 91
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Ravi
Business
London
Jun 25, 2013

Central location, comfortable and clean hotel

Great location near the centre and walking distance from the station. Can get a little noise at night, but the double window deals with that. Clean and comfortable and staff were really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamama
Business
Inverness, Scotland
Mar 15, 2013

Good weekend break hotel

We were mwde very welcome at The Swissotel which is ideally placed for city centre amenities. It is only 10 minutes walk from the railway station. The staff were very helpful when we needed advice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mother daughter grad trip
Business
portland, or
Jul 22, 2012

perfect retreat

This hotel exceeded expectations! It is within walking distance of the main train station. They greet you with a warm towel, and water or orange juice. The rooms are large and modern with exceptional comfort and convenience. Ask for an upper floor in order to not hear street noise. We will stay there again without a doubt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Anne Frank's house is a fairly short and scenic route where you cross three beautiful canals.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chaps
Business
NY, NY
Dec 17, 2011

great

The location is perfect, right in the center, while the rooms are above average, the courtesy, professionalism and willingness to help by the staff is OUTSTANDING! Whatever you need, they will help on the spot. Very well worth the $.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carrottop
Business
germany
Aug 15, 2011

What a wonderful time even in the rain

Everthing was just wonderful. The only little thing I did not really like was the buffet breakfast. It was suppose to open and available till 11 but when we got there at 10:45 there was nothing left and nothing was being replaced. We were not told there was a menu available. But other than that it was wonderful. We had dinner there and it was great. Will be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland
Apr 5, 2011

overall good experience

I went to Amsterdam for vacation with my sister and son. I was shocked at first when a saw how small, dirty and poorly mantained the hotel looked inside. I was, of course, comparing it to the Swissotel Quito, which is one thousand times better than this hotel. I was expecting a high- end hotel like the one in Quito, so my surprise was huge. I guess I could never get over the fact that I tought I was going to a four star hotel and this one looked more like a two star hotel. However, the location is excellent and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. They really made the difference, everybody was very courteous, kind and helpful. I guess I am willing to forget the horrible dirty rooms because of the excellent service and location. By the way, no SPA, although the web site says it has one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the I Amsterdam card, it is really worth it.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle,WA
Jan 27, 2011

Great location,friendly staff

Great location, close to everything.Friendly staff,nice bed linens and good bed(king size). Hotel has free internet in their business center and exercise room. Restaurant has the best breakfast in town.I stayed with my daughter, a student for a week and enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

English breakfast, the best deal.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 9, 2010

Perfect Location

Tram outside the door, walk to almost everything, great food nearby. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gphe
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 5, 2010

Great location

The room I purchased did not match the picture shown on the [...] site and none were available the night of our arrival. When I brought it up with the front desk, manager was called and room upgrade for the remainder of our stay was given. Rooms are generally much smaller than I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever your pleasure in shopping can be found within walking distance of this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top