$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Swissotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 96, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill in Sandy Springs
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 19, 2011

Swissotel Amsterdam

The room was excellent -- big enough for two of us, sound and light privacy in the bathroom. The staff was also excellent -- courteous, good sense of humor, very competent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2007

Friendly, helpful staff

Staff were very friendly and helpful. One called an canal boat co. and located a canal boat cruise that was w'chair accessible. Another offered to help my spouse see if he could get on a tram in his w'chair. In addition, the variety and quality of breakfast food were fabulous. The location is convenient, esp. if you use the trams. Having complimentary use of Internet in business center was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

An shopping center in a beautiful former post office building and a supermarket are within a few blocks. These are interesting to visit just to see what is for sale even if you do not need or want to purchase anything. Also a department store is across the street.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Oct 30, 2008

Couldn't ask for better

The Swissotel Amsterdam was great. The location is perfect as it is maybe 4 steps to Dam square. As Amsterdam is a walking city, the hotel is perfectly situated. The rooms were very clean and bigger than i had expected. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly when i had to deal with them. Overall i would give this property a 9/10 and would deff stay here the next time i am in Amsterdam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dame Square, train station are all within a 3 min walk Van gogh museum is about a 10 min walk away

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 19, 2009

Swissotel Amsterdam

All around terrific experience at the Swissotel Amsterdam. It is in the center of everything and a convenient 10-15 minute walk from the main Central Train Station. Service was efficient from start to finish and upon checking in we were upgraded to a nicer room (Ask for #435) when we mentioned to the manager ([...]great man BTW) that we were on our honeymoon. We didn't eat at the restaurant so you are on your own there. You can't go wrong staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bike rental shop is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and so worth it while in Amsterdam....you'll thank yourself!

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChattanoogaChick
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Mar 24, 2011

Fantastic Service!

The staff at the Swissotel are the best Ive ever experienced! They were helpful with directions to different tourist spots as well as recommended some excellent local hangouts and restaurants! One night when my boyfriend wasnt feeling well we called down to the front desk to see if anywhere would deliver... the staff at Swissotel actually called up a delivery place, placed our order, and brought it up to our room! They catered to our every need and I dont think our experience could have been better! The hotel is in the best location in town, right on Dam Square next to the Palace. The room was very nice, clean, and updated and the Housekeeping service brought us bottled water, wine, and mentos every day free of charge! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Across Dam square in the alley by the Krasnapolsky hotel is a little place called Wynand Fockink... it's a place which makes their own distilled liquors and cordials. It's a great place to visit, not many people seem to know about it, but they make some of the BEST cordials Ive ever tasted... they will mix and match anything you'd like!

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 5, 2011

Worth every penny!!!!

From the moment we arrived everything was taken care of. The happy and polite staff, beautiful room and the fantastic location made our vacation great. (we were able to walk everywhere:-)For 1st time visitors this is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wok to Work was the best. Its close to central station just off of Damrak. Yum!!

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bright Days
Business
Rupert, Idaho
May 13, 2014

Amsterdam

Wonderful stay. The staff were the best I've experienced for a very long time. Only smiles and helpfulness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greg&jill (hotshotgdh[@])
Business
Sydney,Australia
May 26, 2010

Fabulous in every aspect..

For our 40th wedding anniversary and first return visit to holland after 50 years,we chose Swissotel as a modern, deluxe boutique non-smoking home.. located right in the centre of old Amsterdam. our queen bedroom was perfect, from the welcome letter and complimentary bottle of wine with nibbles-to the Nespresso coffee machine which we used every day.Our room was quiet,the spotles bathroom included a deep bath-cozy- for two..Amsterdam is a very lively place,we mostly walked everywhere, but also used the trams from right opposite the hotel. We rolled our 40 kilo of luggage to the hotel - from Centraal station in about 10-15 minutes,no problem.All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull,they speak various languages and are happy to assist with anything at all,in fact we 'lost' our visa card in an ATM.. and they assisted us with the process to obtain emergency funds..all with good humour,patience and no charges for the phone calls..We were treated like Royalty and definitely will revisit Swissotel Amsterdam

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Whilst walking and sightseeing, do try and talk to the locals..they are very friendly,love to talk english and show you their city. do watch-out for their bikes and scooters, visit the canals,markets and historic buildings.. just enjoy all there is..

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Solihull UK
Jul 5, 2009

Loved this Hotel

Location was fantastic. Hotel staff were simply the best. Had a quiet room on the 6th floor which was to be a 'business class' room. It had everything I needed but only wish the Television had been a little bigger. But so many good things about this hotel. Free internet, fast, VERY fast elevators. Clean and comfortable rooms with comfy beds. I will not hesitate to book again and think it was wonderful hotel for the price. We shopped locally, a blue and white store with good salads and sandwiches, drinks, etc just a few doors from the McDonalds just next door to hotel. We had a fridge so we put store bought goods for breakfast and snacks. Probably more good about this hotel but can't think at the moment. just really really nice time. Loved Anne Frank house and Van Gogh museum. Book online in advance so no wait in the long lines. Oh, Aircon was perfect, worked really well and I had no trouble staying very cool during a hot spell in A/dam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
whiteleyspark
Business
UK
Jul 16, 2014

Brilliant Hotel Couldn't have asked for more

From being greeting with the Red Carpet entrance to leaving the following day everything was marvellous. No faults at all. Staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to make you feel welcome and did everything to make our stay good. Upon checkout they stored our case until later in the day and even gave us a bottle of water each for our journey home. Only little things but you could tell that this hotel really cares about its customers. Have to say the Red Carpet outside the entrance is a really nice touch. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The street that is at 1'0'clock as you walk out of the hotel across the road has lots of lovely dining to taste.

Back to menu Return to top