Swissotel Amsterdam ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$144
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016

Fabulous in every aspect..

Would recommend Wed, May 26, 2010
For our 40th wedding anniversary and first return visit to holland after 50 years,we chose Swissotel as a modern, deluxe boutique non-smoking home.. located right in the centre of old Amsterdam. our queen bedroom was perfect, from the welcome letter and complimentary bottle of wine with nibbles-to the Nespresso coffee machine which we used every day.Our room was quiet,the spotles bathroom included a deep bath-cozy- for two..Amsterdam is a very lively place,we mostly walked everywhere, but also used the trams from right opposite the hotel. We rolled our 40 kilo of luggage to the hotel - from Centraal station in about 10-15 minutes,no problem.All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull,they speak various languages and are happy to assist with anything at all,in fact we 'lost' our visa card in an ATM.. and they assisted us with the process to obtain emergency funds..all with good humour,patience and no charges for the phone calls..We were treated like Royalty and definitely will revisit Swissotel Amsterdam

Entertainment hint

Whilst walking and sightseeing, do try and talk to the locals..they are very friendly,love to talk english and show you their city. do watch-out for their bikes and scooters, visit the canals,markets and historic buildings.. just enjoy all there is..

| Sydney,Australia Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Location, Solid Service.

Would recommend Sun, May 9, 2010
Wonderful location, very central to the old city. Easy to stop in for a break and then go out again to explore the town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are smaller than what we have in the USA, but were a good size for Europe. Location was key!! Easy to get to the sites, restaurants, and shopping and public transportation too.

| NJ Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location, good staff, average hote

Would recommend Sun, Apr 18, 2010
We were unlucky enough to be stuck beyond the original week due to the EU overreaction to a volcano, but the manager was good [...]. This is a big plus for the staff. As for the hotel, don't expect to come any where close to Swissotel standards that are in Singapore. Both the London and Amsterdam location are older hotels with small rooms and few ammenities that don't cost extra. If you are looking for a clean hotel with nice staff and in a great location, this is for you.

| Ormond Beach, Florida Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Two Night Stay

Would not recommend Thu, Apr 15, 2010
No parking available. City taxes not included in the booking charges.

Nightlife hint

Right on Street Car line, short distance to boats and Metro.

| Kusel, Germany Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Stay

Would recommend Wed, Apr 7, 2010
Nice stay would gladly stay again. Conveniently located.

| San Francisco Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location

Would recommend Mon, Apr 5, 2010
The room I purchased did not match the picture shown on the [...] site and none were available the night of our arrival. When I brought it up with the front desk, manager was called and room upgrade for the remainder of our stay was given. Rooms are generally much smaller than I expected.

Shopping hint

Whatever your pleasure in shopping can be found within walking distance of this hotel.

| Bakersfield, CA Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

So So

Would not recommend Thu, Dec 10, 2009
The only other Swissotel I have stayed in is the one in Lima, Peru, and it was beautiful. This one in Amsterdam, not so much.I'll echo all the comments you read here about the location - it's excellent. Trams 4, 9, 16, 24, and 25 stop right in front of the hotel, and a bunch of others one block behind the hotel. It's a 10 minute walk to Central Station, or the next stop on any of the trams headed north.The staff has been nice, no complaints there.The gym is adequate (open 24/7); actually that was one of the reasons I chose the Swissotel was so that I could use the treadmill and not many hotels in Amsterdam seem to have a gym. The three computers with free internet access 24/7 was very nice as well.[...]. This was a great rate, and would have been even more disappointed if I would have spent more money than this.The hotel has ZERO character. The hallways looks like a cheap cruiseship. The first room I was given had stains on the toilet, used soap by the sink, and an almost empty water bottle. It was an ugly room, very uninviting and sterile.I returned to the lobby and was provided a different room right away. This room was clearly a newer, more updated room. It actually had wood, so some contrast in the room and exactly as is shown in the previous reviewer's pictures. Clearly some rooms are much nicer than others decor-wise, however the room was still pretty skimpy.So if you want some character in your room, don't stay here. Otherwise it was adequate, but did not meet the expectations I had of Swissotel.The last hotel I stayed at in Amsterdam was a modern B&B called The Weber and I loved it, very cool minimalist place by the Leidseplein. I would stay there again, while I would not at the Swissotel.

| IAH Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Swissotel Amsterdam - a good choice

Would recommend Tue, Dec 8, 2009
Location of the hotel is ideal. We especially noticed that when exploring different areas - where we were was perfect. You can walk to anywhere of interest - we never used public transportation. Came from the airport into town with the train, and you can easily walk to hotel from Amsterdam Centraal Station (main train station). Hotel rooms are pleasant and clean, comfortable beds, super clean bathroom with granite tile flooring and granits sink surround. Conveniences we're used from the U.S. that you often don't find in European hotels. Some nice added touches like warmed towels as the towel rack is a towel heater at the same time. Grohe shower fixtures where you actually set the desired temperature (yes, its in Celcius, not Fahrenheit). Nespresso machines is great. Small fridge in every room - intended as minibar but you can use it for a few items yourself. Safe is big enough to hold even larger size laptops - that was important. 1st floor (which would be called 2nd floor in the U.S.) has a convenient room with 3 PCs for free internet access (if you want wireless from your room, it's 15 Euros per day). Didn't take their breakfast as 20 Euros per person is overpriced. Couple of bakeries are a good option as they sell good coffee as well and have a few tables where you can sit down. I've read reviews where people complained about the water pressure in the shower: that's not due to the hotel, but it's the European way to conserve water. Showers are more like a 'soft rain' rather than a water massage :-) The hotel staff was extremely friendly - you don't see that much in many hotels.

Shopping hint

Across the street is a upscale department store called Bijenkorf - comparable to Harrods in London, or Bloomingdales in the U.S. On 5th floor is also a restaurant that's convenient with high quality food items and all fresh made juices (Jamba-Juice "like").

| Santa Clara, CA Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly!!!

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 26, 2009
Front Desk Staff was GREAT and had excellent Knowledge of the city. Unfortunate for us,construction crews are working on the building not 15 feet from our room and no one warned us!! Construction started at 0700 with air hammers breaking concrete and lasted until 1830 on some evenings (you could set your watch to their schedule). We tried to change rooms, but the house was full. We paid for a "Premium" room, and received what we considered a smaller than average size room. There was nothing special about the accomidations except that they were clean. We were disappointed

| Phoenix, Arizona Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great Location and Service

Would recommend Mon, Oct 26, 2009
Hotel was spotless and the staff very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again for sure. The location couldn't have been better

Dining

There is a great place for a breakfast buffet just down the street on the way to Central Station

| Albuquerque Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5