$157 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Swissotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Damrak 96, Amsterdam, 1012 LP
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
79 reviews
Brilliant Hotel Couldn't have asked for more

From being greeting with the Red Carpet entrance to leaving the following day everything was... See full review

  • whiteleyspark
  • Jul 16, 2014
Amsterdam

Wonderful stay. The staff were the best I've experienced for a very long time. Only smiles and... See full review

  • Bright Days
  • May 13, 2014
Swissotel Amsterdam arguably boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the very heart of the city centre, close to the city's major sites and shopping areas. Amsterdam Central Station is only a short walk from the hotel. Behind its 19th century historical facade, Swissotel Amsterdam offers appealing, modern-styled, soundproofed and air-conditioned guestrooms, which provide a calm, comfortable oasis of quiet amidst the hum of bustling city life. All guests have free access to the modern Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness centre featuring state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment. Swissotel Amsterdam offers complimentary use of internet in the Business Centre. Facilities include 3 workstations, a colour printer and copier, scanner, DVD/CD player and burner, multimedia card reader (compatible with different sizes), USB access and photo editing software. A 5.5% city tax is to be paid at the hotel. Swissotel Amsterdam is 100% non-smoking. Kids till 12 years old can stay free of charge in existing bedding. If you guarantee your reservation with a credit card, all cards are verified by means of an authorization on the day of arrival. Please note that we hold the right to cancel your room reservation after 4PM should the credit card be invalid.

Hotel Map

52.3735 4.8935
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 11.5 km, Rotterdam Airport - 55.6 km.
Area description
20 kilometers from Schiphol Airport, 800 meteres from central train station, 55 kilometers from The Hague-home to the Dutch government and the Peace Palace, 5 kilometers from RAI exhibition center. In the heart of the financial district of Amsterdam short stroll to the exciting night life of Amsterdam most tourist attractions at walking distance from hotel Public transportation stops in front of hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Swissotel Amsterdam Rooms

Classic Room
This room type offers one king size bed or twin beds. The bathroom features a bath, shower, toilet and a hairdryer. In-house movies on demand are directly linked to TV, and all rooms feature mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine and an in-room safe. Two telephones with voice mail capability are provided and LAN and wireless connectivity are also available at a surcharge.
Premium Room
This room type offers one king size bed or twin beds and is tastefully decorated and well appointed for your comfort. The bathroom offers a bath, shower, toilet and a hairdryer. In-house movies on demand are directly linked to TV, and all rooms feature mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine and an in-room safe. Two telephones with voice mail capability are provided and LAN and wireless connectivity are also available at a surcharge.
Junior Suite
This room type offers one king size bed and is prominently located on the front side of the hotel, overlooking colourful Dam Square. A highspeed wired LAN connection is offered free of charge. Wifi at a surcharge. These spacious rooms also provide a comfortable lounge area with sofa, foot stool and coffee table and feature a large bathroom with a hairdryer, separate shower and toilet. Junior suites also feature flat screen TV's, a DVD player, a separate CD music player and in-house movies on demand are directly linked to TV, and all rooms feature mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine and an in-room safe, an iron and ironing board and a bathrobe and slippers are also provided. Three telephones,all featuring voice mail capability, are provided.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Single: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Single: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.4 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.4 mi

Dining

Dam Plaza
The modern styled restaurant Dam Plaza is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. * After breakfast, the restaurant is open till midnight and offers a variety of sandwiches, soups, salads, fish and meat dishes, and pastas. * Besides a bite to eat, you can also relax while enjoying a cup of coffee or a nice glass of wine. * This year is the first year you may find terraces all year round in Amsterdam. In Summer enjoy a refreshing drink on our terrace, while in Winter time you may keep yourself warm with a hot chocolate while enjoying all the activities on Dam Square.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PFT
Phoenix, Arizona
Oct 26, 2009

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly!!!

Front Desk Staff was GREAT and had excellent Knowledge of the city. Unfortunate for us,construction crews are working on the building not 15 feet from our room and no one warned us!! Construction started at 0700 with air hammers breaking concrete and lasted until 1830 on some evenings (you could set your watch to their schedule). We tried to change rooms, but the house was full. We paid for a "Premium" room, and received what we considered a smaller than average size room. There was nothing special about the accomidations except that they were clean. We were disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIH
Business
IAH
Dec 10, 2009

So So

The only other Swissotel I have stayed in is the one in Lima, Peru, and it was beautiful. This one in Amsterdam, not so much.I'll echo all the comments you read here about the location - it's excellent. Trams 4, 9, 16, 24, and 25 stop right in front of the hotel, and a bunch of others one block behind the hotel. It's a 10 minute walk to Central Station, or the next stop on any of the trams headed north.The staff has been nice, no complaints there.The gym is adequate (open 24/7); actually that was one of the reasons I chose the Swissotel was so that I could use the treadmill and not many hotels in Amsterdam seem to have a gym. The three computers with free internet access 24/7 was very nice as well.[...]. This was a great rate, and would have been even more disappointed if I would have spent more money than this.The hotel has ZERO character. The hallways looks like a cheap cruiseship. The first room I was given had stains on the toilet, used soap by the sink, and an almost empty water bottle. It was an ugly room, very uninviting and sterile.I returned to the lobby and was provided a different room right away. This room was clearly a newer, more updated room. It actually had wood, so some contrast in the room and exactly as is shown in the previous reviewer's pictures. Clearly some rooms are much nicer than others decor-wise, however the room was still pretty skimpy.So if you want some character in your room, don't stay here. Otherwise it was adequate, but did not meet the expectations I had of Swissotel.The last hotel I stayed at in Amsterdam was a modern B&B called The Weber and I loved it, very cool minimalist place by the Leidseplein. I would stay there again, while I would not at the Swissotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thebigkim
NYC
Oct 6, 2011

swissotel/amsterdam

Hotel is very clean and modern and but having to pay for internet access in a hotel for 200 hundred a nite is unacceptable. location is perfect for walking all over the city. staff is very courteous and super helpful in pointing you in the right direction for lunch dinner or just sight seeing in general very nice staff. would stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask staff they pointed me to the right direction in regards to meals every time

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lensgrinder
USA
Dec 4, 2010

Very good location, clean hotel

Location in Dam Square is excellent. Staff are friendly. Hotel is clean. Rooms are modest. Mine looked directly into a crowded department store, but it was a very quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of "coffeehouses" nearby.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jun 12, 2009

Ok Place

Hotel location is awesome -- A couple blocks from the Train Station and close to the "Red Light" district and many other places. The staff was helpful if you have any questions --Hotel resturant was ok, nothing to jump up and down for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

About 3 blocks North of the Hotel, across from the water in front of the Goverment Bldgs is a resturant called "Wok", this is a great place to have Dinner (It's a little expensive) but the great atmosphere makes up for the expense.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Flyer 44
Uk
May 28, 2014

Central location but somewhat disappointing.

We spent 3 nights here, 2 couples in 2 rooms both at the back of the hotel. Rooms looked out over Burger King in a very busy street. There was significant noise from this street at all times, delivery lorries and people shouting in the wee small hours. The glazing did not mask this sufficiently and we all suffered from a lack of sleep. The rooms could do with a makeover, scuffed paintwork, dated marble tiling, poor over bath shower. Could not get Nespresso machine to produce a decent cup of coffee in either room. Staff at front desk were fine although forgot to ask us ( both couples) to sign an area of our registration form so they deactivated our room keys to bring us to the desk. We also felt they could have mentioned the daily room fee at check-in. No doubt it is in the small print somewhere but we were told of the charge on check-out. Not a major problem, but it may have been for some. We are regular travellers and have experienced many hotels. Overall, we were underwhelmed by this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tysklaerer
Kusel, Germany
Apr 15, 2010

Two Night Stay

No parking available. City taxes not included in the booking charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on Street Car line, short distance to boats and Metro.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gphe
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 5, 2010

Great location

The room I purchased did not match the picture shown on the [...] site and none were available the night of our arrival. When I brought it up with the front desk, manager was called and room upgrade for the remainder of our stay was given. Rooms are generally much smaller than I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever your pleasure in shopping can be found within walking distance of this hotel.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joey1234
NY
Feb 24, 2013

Quick trip

Great location for a short stay. Close to the train station and central sites. Rooms were rather smallish but clean. 12.50€ per day for Internet in room, should be free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Canada
Oct 15, 2010

Perfect Location

The hotel is about a 5-8 min. walk from Central Station and the walking wasn't bad at all. We got in at about 11AM and our room wasn't ready which was understandable because the site clearly states that it's not until 4PM. The reception stored our things away and we walked to a sandwich place next door to grab a bite to eat. We came back in 15 minutes and they told us that our room was ready when we came back. The room was clean but small which is not a surprise for European standard. The coffee machine makes coffee which is pretty good and complimentary so we din't really have to buy coffee outside the hotel. They also had no issues to give us more. The best thing about the hotel is it's location because you walk out of the hotel and you're right on DAM Square. All the sites are a walking distance. They offer fee internet in the Business center so you don't have bring your laptop with you. My husband and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search