$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Swissotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 96, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
88 reviews
very nice hotel

very nice hotel and location is perfect . staff is very friendly See full review

  • MEzzeldin
  • Dec 8, 2014
very nice hotel

very nice hotel and location is perfect . staff is very friendly See full review

  • MEzzeldin
  • Dec 8, 2014
Enjoy modern comforts in historic splendor in the heart of Amsterdam

An unbeatable location on Amsterdam's breathtaking Dam Square puts guests of the chic Swissotel within a short walk of the city's leading cultural attractions and prime shopping and dining venues. Inviting guest rooms boast contemporary design, sleek amenities (including Nespresso coffee machines) and relaxing signature bath essentials. The Swissotel's Restaurant Dam Plaza serves premium fare on par with front-row views of the square, while the in-house fitness center offers cutting-edge workout opportunities.

Highlights
  • Dam Square views 
  • Complimentary use of Nespresso coffee machine in room 
  • Close to premium Amsterdam destinations 
  • Restaurant Dam Plaza offers fine dining and bar with a scenic outdoor terrace 
Rooms

The Swissotel offers 110 rooms, including 15 suites, all boasting plush comforts and modern amenities along with chic, modern decor. The classic and premium rooms come with a king bed or two twin beds. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi access, TVs with On Demand entertainment, signature Nespresso coffee machines and Swiss Spa bath essentials.

The junior suites have stunning views of majestic Dam Square and offer expanded living areas. All standard amenities apply, plus flat-screen HDTVs, DVD and CD players, iPod docking stations, built-in mini bars and plush bathrobes.

Features

The Swissotel's dynamic Dam Square puts guests in the heart of Amsterdam's thriving artistic, cultural and commercial district. While the city's major destinations are within walking distance, guests are treated to world-class dining courtesy of the 24-hour Restaurant Dam Plaza, which serves international fare, plus wide-ranging cocktails at its full-service bar. The complimentary on-site Swissotel Fitness Center offers opportunities to unwind and recharge. The Swissotel also offers business center, Wi-Fi access in all public areas, 24-hour concierge, in-room massage, babysitting services and, this being bike-friendly Amsterdam, bicycle rentals.

Transportation
  • Nearby tram stop (in front of hotel)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (outside hotel) 
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) 
  • Rembrandthuis (1 mi/2 km) 
  • Amsterdams Historisch Museum (Amsterdam Historical Museum) (1.5 mi/2.5 km) 
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1.5 mi/2 km) 
  • Rijksmuseum (3 mi/4.5 km) 
  • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/4.5 km) 
Business
  • Business center with complimentary Internet access 
  • 2 intimate conference suites 
  • 43,000 square feet of additional conference space is available at nearby at De Beurs van Berlage 
  • Nearby De Industrieele Groote Club provides elegant meeting rooms in an historic setting
Polices & Fees
  • A 5% city tax is added to the final charge
  • Swissotel Amsterdam is a 100% non-smoking hotel

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Swissotel Amsterdam Rooms

Classic Room
This room type offers one king size bed or twin beds. The bathroom features a bath, shower, toilet and a hairdryer. In-house movies on demand are directly linked to TV, and all rooms feature mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine and an in-room safe. Two telephones with voice mail capability are provided and LAN and wireless connectivity are also available at a surcharge.
Premium Room
This room type offers one king size bed or twin beds and is tastefully decorated and well appointed for your comfort. The bathroom offers a bath, shower, toilet and a hairdryer. In-house movies on demand are directly linked to TV, and all rooms feature mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine and an in-room safe. Two telephones with voice mail capability are provided and LAN and wireless connectivity are also available at a surcharge.
Junior Suite
This room type offers one king size bed and is prominently located on the front side of the hotel, overlooking colourful Dam Square. A highspeed wired LAN connection is offered free of charge. Wifi at a surcharge. These spacious rooms also provide a comfortable lounge area with sofa, foot stool and coffee table and feature a large bathroom with a hairdryer, separate shower and toilet. Junior suites also feature flat screen TV's, a DVD player, a separate CD music player and in-house movies on demand are directly linked to TV, and all rooms feature mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine and an in-room safe, an iron and ironing board and a bathrobe and slippers are also provided. Three telephones,all featuring voice mail capability, are provided.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Single: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Single: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.4 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.4 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Breakfast is an additional 14.50 euro that can be booked during your stay.
Dam Plaza
The modern styled restaurant Dam Plaza is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. * After breakfast, the restaurant is open till midnight and offers a variety of sandwiches, soups, salads, fish and meat dishes, and pastas. * Besides a bite to eat, you can also relax while enjoying a cup of coffee or a nice glass of wine. * This year is the first year you may find terraces all year round in Amsterdam. In Summer enjoy a refreshing drink on our terrace, while in Winter time you may keep yourself warm with a hot chocolate while enjoying all the activities on Dam Square.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill in Sandy Springs
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 19, 2011

Swissotel Amsterdam

The room was excellent -- big enough for two of us, sound and light privacy in the bathroom. The staff was also excellent -- courteous, good sense of humor, very competent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2007

Friendly, helpful staff

Staff were very friendly and helpful. One called an canal boat co. and located a canal boat cruise that was w'chair accessible. Another offered to help my spouse see if he could get on a tram in his w'chair. In addition, the variety and quality of breakfast food were fabulous. The location is convenient, esp. if you use the trams. Having complimentary use of Internet in business center was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

An shopping center in a beautiful former post office building and a supermarket are within a few blocks. These are interesting to visit just to see what is for sale even if you do not need or want to purchase anything. Also a department store is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Oct 30, 2008

Couldn't ask for better

The Swissotel Amsterdam was great. The location is perfect as it is maybe 4 steps to Dam square. As Amsterdam is a walking city, the hotel is perfectly situated. The rooms were very clean and bigger than i had expected. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly when i had to deal with them. Overall i would give this property a 9/10 and would deff stay here the next time i am in Amsterdam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dame Square, train station are all within a 3 min walk Van gogh museum is about a 10 min walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 19, 2009

Swissotel Amsterdam

All around terrific experience at the Swissotel Amsterdam. It is in the center of everything and a convenient 10-15 minute walk from the main Central Train Station. Service was efficient from start to finish and upon checking in we were upgraded to a nicer room (Ask for #435) when we mentioned to the manager ([...]great man BTW) that we were on our honeymoon. We didn't eat at the restaurant so you are on your own there. You can't go wrong staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bike rental shop is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and so worth it while in Amsterdam....you'll thank yourself!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChattanoogaChick
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Mar 24, 2011

Fantastic Service!

The staff at the Swissotel are the best Ive ever experienced! They were helpful with directions to different tourist spots as well as recommended some excellent local hangouts and restaurants! One night when my boyfriend wasnt feeling well we called down to the front desk to see if anywhere would deliver... the staff at Swissotel actually called up a delivery place, placed our order, and brought it up to our room! They catered to our every need and I dont think our experience could have been better! The hotel is in the best location in town, right on Dam Square next to the Palace. The room was very nice, clean, and updated and the Housekeeping service brought us bottled water, wine, and mentos every day free of charge! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Across Dam square in the alley by the Krasnapolsky hotel is a little place called Wynand Fockink... it's a place which makes their own distilled liquors and cordials. It's a great place to visit, not many people seem to know about it, but they make some of the BEST cordials Ive ever tasted... they will mix and match anything you'd like!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 5, 2011

Worth every penny!!!!

From the moment we arrived everything was taken care of. The happy and polite staff, beautiful room and the fantastic location made our vacation great. (we were able to walk everywhere:-)For 1st time visitors this is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wok to Work was the best. Its close to central station just off of Damrak. Yum!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bright Days
Business
Rupert, Idaho
May 13, 2014

Amsterdam

Wonderful stay. The staff were the best I've experienced for a very long time. Only smiles and helpfulness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greg&jill (hotshotgdh[@])
Business
Sydney,Australia
May 26, 2010

Fabulous in every aspect..

For our 40th wedding anniversary and first return visit to holland after 50 years,we chose Swissotel as a modern, deluxe boutique non-smoking home.. located right in the centre of old Amsterdam. our queen bedroom was perfect, from the welcome letter and complimentary bottle of wine with nibbles-to the Nespresso coffee machine which we used every day.Our room was quiet,the spotles bathroom included a deep bath-cozy- for two..Amsterdam is a very lively place,we mostly walked everywhere, but also used the trams from right opposite the hotel. We rolled our 40 kilo of luggage to the hotel - from Centraal station in about 10-15 minutes,no problem.All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull,they speak various languages and are happy to assist with anything at all,in fact we 'lost' our visa card in an ATM.. and they assisted us with the process to obtain emergency funds..all with good humour,patience and no charges for the phone calls..We were treated like Royalty and definitely will revisit Swissotel Amsterdam

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Whilst walking and sightseeing, do try and talk to the locals..they are very friendly,love to talk english and show you their city. do watch-out for their bikes and scooters, visit the canals,markets and historic buildings.. just enjoy all there is..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Solihull UK
Jul 5, 2009

Loved this Hotel

Location was fantastic. Hotel staff were simply the best. Had a quiet room on the 6th floor which was to be a 'business class' room. It had everything I needed but only wish the Television had been a little bigger. But so many good things about this hotel. Free internet, fast, VERY fast elevators. Clean and comfortable rooms with comfy beds. I will not hesitate to book again and think it was wonderful hotel for the price. We shopped locally, a blue and white store with good salads and sandwiches, drinks, etc just a few doors from the McDonalds just next door to hotel. We had a fridge so we put store bought goods for breakfast and snacks. Probably more good about this hotel but can't think at the moment. just really really nice time. Loved Anne Frank house and Van Gogh museum. Book online in advance so no wait in the long lines. Oh, Aircon was perfect, worked really well and I had no trouble staying very cool during a hot spell in A/dam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Jun 4, 2010

Amazing hotel and in the best location

The staff are super friendly and the location is superb. Dam Square and the Tram stop is just outside your door. The train train/bus station is only a 10 minute walk away so you get basically everywhere without a car. There are lots of restaurants and shop around so you don't have to go very far to see the city cause your right in the middle of it. Even though you are in the middle of the city, the rooms are quite and clean. There is a computer room with free internet and printer. It was very convenient. We are very happy with our stay and the hotel. We would definitely look up Swissotel for our future travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top