$164 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Swissotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 96, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
benny the traveler
Business
New york, ny
Jul 1, 2010

In the middle of it all...

Had a very nice suite. Great bathroom (important when you've traveled long distances ), very clean, staff was very nice and accomodating. Right in the middle of town a short walk from Centraal station, which travels all over the netherlands and farther countries as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the main shopping area is a block away and goes on for blocks. Also the infamous red light district is not far, but also more family friendly areas are a short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Jun 4, 2010

Amazing hotel and in the best location

The staff are super friendly and the location is superb. Dam Square and the Tram stop is just outside your door. The train train/bus station is only a 10 minute walk away so you get basically everywhere without a car. There are lots of restaurants and shop around so you don't have to go very far to see the city cause your right in the middle of it. Even though you are in the middle of the city, the rooms are quite and clean. There is a computer room with free internet and printer. It was very convenient. We are very happy with our stay and the hotel. We would definitely look up Swissotel for our future travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greg&jill (hotshotgdh[@])
Business
Sydney,Australia
May 26, 2010

Fabulous in every aspect..

For our 40th wedding anniversary and first return visit to holland after 50 years,we chose Swissotel as a modern, deluxe boutique non-smoking home.. located right in the centre of old Amsterdam. our queen bedroom was perfect, from the welcome letter and complimentary bottle of wine with nibbles-to the Nespresso coffee machine which we used every day.Our room was quiet,the spotles bathroom included a deep bath-cozy- for two..Amsterdam is a very lively place,we mostly walked everywhere, but also used the trams from right opposite the hotel. We rolled our 40 kilo of luggage to the hotel - from Centraal station in about 10-15 minutes,no problem.All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull,they speak various languages and are happy to assist with anything at all,in fact we 'lost' our visa card in an ATM.. and they assisted us with the process to obtain emergency funds..all with good humour,patience and no charges for the phone calls..We were treated like Royalty and definitely will revisit Swissotel Amsterdam

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Whilst walking and sightseeing, do try and talk to the locals..they are very friendly,love to talk english and show you their city. do watch-out for their bikes and scooters, visit the canals,markets and historic buildings.. just enjoy all there is..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jersey professional
Business
NJ
May 9, 2010

Great Location, Solid Service.

Wonderful location, very central to the old city. Easy to stop in for a break and then go out again to explore the town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are smaller than what we have in the USA, but were a good size for Europe. Location was key!! Easy to get to the sites, restaurants, and shopping and public transportation too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ormond Beach, Florida
Apr 18, 2010

Great location, good staff, average hote

We were unlucky enough to be stuck beyond the original week due to the EU overreaction to a volcano, but the manager was good [...]. This is a big plus for the staff. As for the hotel, don't expect to come any where close to Swissotel standards that are in Singapore. Both the London and Amsterdam location are older hotels with small rooms and few ammenities that don't cost extra. If you are looking for a clean hotel with nice staff and in a great location, this is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tysklaerer
Business
Kusel, Germany
Apr 15, 2010

Two Night Stay

No parking available. City taxes not included in the booking charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on Street Car line, short distance to boats and Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Apr 7, 2010

Great Stay

Nice stay would gladly stay again. Conveniently located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gphe
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 5, 2010

Great location

The room I purchased did not match the picture shown on the [...] site and none were available the night of our arrival. When I brought it up with the front desk, manager was called and room upgrade for the remainder of our stay was given. Rooms are generally much smaller than I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever your pleasure in shopping can be found within walking distance of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIH
Business
IAH
Dec 10, 2009

So So

The only other Swissotel I have stayed in is the one in Lima, Peru, and it was beautiful. This one in Amsterdam, not so much.I'll echo all the comments you read here about the location - it's excellent. Trams 4, 9, 16, 24, and 25 stop right in front of the hotel, and a bunch of others one block behind the hotel. It's a 10 minute walk to Central Station, or the next stop on any of the trams headed north.The staff has been nice, no complaints there.The gym is adequate (open 24/7); actually that was one of the reasons I chose the Swissotel was so that I could use the treadmill and not many hotels in Amsterdam seem to have a gym. The three computers with free internet access 24/7 was very nice as well.[...]. This was a great rate, and would have been even more disappointed if I would have spent more money than this.The hotel has ZERO character. The hallways looks like a cheap cruiseship. The first room I was given had stains on the toilet, used soap by the sink, and an almost empty water bottle. It was an ugly room, very uninviting and sterile.I returned to the lobby and was provided a different room right away. This room was clearly a newer, more updated room. It actually had wood, so some contrast in the room and exactly as is shown in the previous reviewer's pictures. Clearly some rooms are much nicer than others decor-wise, however the room was still pretty skimpy.So if you want some character in your room, don't stay here. Otherwise it was adequate, but did not meet the expectations I had of Swissotel.The last hotel I stayed at in Amsterdam was a modern B&B called The Weber and I loved it, very cool minimalist place by the Leidseplein. I would stay there again, while I would not at the Swissotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amsterdam business traveler
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Dec 8, 2009

Swissotel Amsterdam - a good choice

Location of the hotel is ideal. We especially noticed that when exploring different areas - where we were was perfect. You can walk to anywhere of interest - we never used public transportation. Came from the airport into town with the train, and you can easily walk to hotel from Amsterdam Centraal Station (main train station). Hotel rooms are pleasant and clean, comfortable beds, super clean bathroom with granite tile flooring and granits sink surround. Conveniences we're used from the U.S. that you often don't find in European hotels. Some nice added touches like warmed towels as the towel rack is a towel heater at the same time. Grohe shower fixtures where you actually set the desired temperature (yes, its in Celcius, not Fahrenheit). Nespresso machines is great. Small fridge in every room - intended as minibar but you can use it for a few items yourself. Safe is big enough to hold even larger size laptops - that was important. 1st floor (which would be called 2nd floor in the U.S.) has a convenient room with 3 PCs for free internet access (if you want wireless from your room, it's 15 Euros per day). Didn't take their breakfast as 20 Euros per person is overpriced. Couple of bakeries are a good option as they sell good coffee as well and have a few tables where you can sit down. I've read reviews where people complained about the water pressure in the shower: that's not due to the hotel, but it's the European way to conserve water. Showers are more like a 'soft rain' rather than a water massage :-) The hotel staff was extremely friendly - you don't see that much in many hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a upscale department store called Bijenkorf - comparable to Harrods in London, or Bloomingdales in the U.S. On 5th floor is also a restaurant that's convenient with high quality food items and all fresh made juices (Jamba-Juice "like").

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top