$138 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Swissotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 96, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 14, 2009

Swissotem Amsterdam

Good service, courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carrottop
Business
germany
Aug 15, 2011

What a wonderful time even in the rain

Everthing was just wonderful. The only little thing I did not really like was the buffet breakfast. It was suppose to open and available till 11 but when we got there at 10:45 there was nothing left and nothing was being replaced. We were not told there was a menu available. But other than that it was wonderful. We had dinner there and it was great. Will be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jersey professional
Business
NJ
May 9, 2010

Great Location, Solid Service.

Wonderful location, very central to the old city. Easy to stop in for a break and then go out again to explore the town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are smaller than what we have in the USA, but were a good size for Europe. Location was key!! Easy to get to the sites, restaurants, and shopping and public transportation too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Byrel
Business
UK
Sep 18, 2009

Comfortable stay

Pleasent stay, close to central, Front desk very helpful. Would recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa&Doug
Business
Sandy, UT
Oct 3, 2009

Great Location; American-Style Hotel

Great, centralized location; American-Style Hotel with relatively spacious and very clean rooms; Comfortable walking distance to everything that Amsterdam has to offer, but bicycle rental and public transport are very close by for those who don't want to walk the city; Restaurant was beautifully decorated, but we did not dine there so are unable to comment on food or service; Staff was friendly & helpful; Free internet access on several desktop computers (with printer) available in the business center; Hotel also had free workout facilities that we did not use so we cannot comment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dam Square, the Red Light District and a dense population of great coffeeshops are within short walking distance of this hotel.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 14, 2010

Hotel in the center of it all!

First this hotel is in a prime location for exploring Amsterdam. It's located right in the center of town in Dam Square with a tram stop out front, great for getting to other areas of town. The staff gave us excellent service[...]. [...] was extremely helpful at working out this problem and we were able to get our suite overlooking the Dam. The Hotel rooms were very nice with comfortable King sized beds and large bathrooms. This hotel really made our stay in Amsterdam enjoyable. They even gave us a complementary bottle of champagne for our Honeymoon. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, MA
Nov 12, 2010

1 night stay in Amsterdam

The hotel room was small but very nice. 2 twin bed pushed together into a king bed so it could be used either way. The staff was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolly from central train station stops at the front door but it is only a 10 minute walk to the main train station. the red light district is a stones throw away also.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 26, 2009

Great Location

We visited Amsterdam for 2 days. the location of the Hotel is ideal for a short visit. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and modern. Our room overlooked Dam square but was not too noisy. Free internet access in business center. Fitness room is nice but we did not have time to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When in amsterdam, rent a bike. The city is very bike friendly, and you will see so much more, especially when visiting for a short time. Also, do go on one of the boat tours, which start just down Damrack street, a few minutes from the hotel.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 9, 2010

Perfect Location

Tram outside the door, walk to almost everything, great food nearby. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Oct 22, 2010

Mixed review. More good than bad.

The location is very good, central. On the Dam Square. Close to Palace, Red Light District, the Jordaan. First room was very bad. Old, out of date room in center of building, i.e. no views. Upon request, moved us to much better room (#217) with a view over Dam Square. A little noisy since it looks out over the busy street below, so keep that in mind. Hotel / front desk was a little busy and chaotic, e.g. couldn't find my reservation, but in the end, everything worked out OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from street vendor noodle shops and french fry vendors on Damstraat.

Back to menu Return to top