$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Swissotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 96, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chaps
Family
NY, NY
Dec 17, 2011

great

The location is perfect, right in the center, while the rooms are above average, the courtesy, professionalism and willingness to help by the staff is OUTSTANDING! Whatever you need, they will help on the spot. Very well worth the $.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adele
Couples
Athens, GA
Nov 29, 2011

Great location

This hotel was very conveniently located just two doors down from the Dam Square. You could get from the airport easily by bus shuttle or train and the staff was very helpful in directing us for sightseeing. The price was quite reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thebigkim
Single
NYC
Oct 6, 2011

swissotel/amsterdam

Hotel is very clean and modern and but having to pay for internet access in a hotel for 200 hundred a nite is unacceptable. location is perfect for walking all over the city. staff is very courteous and super helpful in pointing you in the right direction for lunch dinner or just sight seeing in general very nice staff. would stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask staff they pointed me to the right direction in regards to meals every time

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill in Sandy Springs
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Sep 19, 2011

Swissotel Amsterdam

The room was excellent -- big enough for two of us, sound and light privacy in the bathroom. The staff was also excellent -- courteous, good sense of humor, very competent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carrottop
Family
germany
Aug 15, 2011

What a wonderful time even in the rain

Everthing was just wonderful. The only little thing I did not really like was the buffet breakfast. It was suppose to open and available till 11 but when we got there at 10:45 there was nothing left and nothing was being replaced. We were not told there was a menu available. But other than that it was wonderful. We had dinner there and it was great. Will be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
OH, USA
May 21, 2011

Great location

Great central location close to all the major attractrions and night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
May 5, 2011

Worth every penny!!!!

From the moment we arrived everything was taken care of. The happy and polite staff, beautiful room and the fantastic location made our vacation great. (we were able to walk everywhere:-)For 1st time visitors this is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wok to Work was the best. Its close to central station just off of Damrak. Yum!!

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Cleveland
Apr 5, 2011

overall good experience

I went to Amsterdam for vacation with my sister and son. I was shocked at first when a saw how small, dirty and poorly mantained the hotel looked inside. I was, of course, comparing it to the Swissotel Quito, which is one thousand times better than this hotel. I was expecting a high- end hotel like the one in Quito, so my surprise was huge. I guess I could never get over the fact that I tought I was going to a four star hotel and this one looked more like a two star hotel. However, the location is excellent and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. They really made the difference, everybody was very courteous, kind and helpful. I guess I am willing to forget the horrible dirty rooms because of the excellent service and location. By the way, no SPA, although the web site says it has one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the I Amsterdam card, it is really worth it.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChattanoogaChick
Couples
Chattanooga, TN
Mar 24, 2011

Fantastic Service!

The staff at the Swissotel are the best Ive ever experienced! They were helpful with directions to different tourist spots as well as recommended some excellent local hangouts and restaurants! One night when my boyfriend wasnt feeling well we called down to the front desk to see if anywhere would deliver... the staff at Swissotel actually called up a delivery place, placed our order, and brought it up to our room! They catered to our every need and I dont think our experience could have been better! The hotel is in the best location in town, right on Dam Square next to the Palace. The room was very nice, clean, and updated and the Housekeeping service brought us bottled water, wine, and mentos every day free of charge! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Across Dam square in the alley by the Krasnapolsky hotel is a little place called Wynand Fockink... it's a place which makes their own distilled liquors and cordials. It's a great place to visit, not many people seem to know about it, but they make some of the BEST cordials Ive ever tasted... they will mix and match anything you'd like!

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
young single traveler
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 23, 2011

Great Location!

Great location, and friendly and helpful staff. Bathroom was very new and clean, the room can use some upgrades though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top