$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Swissotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 96, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fife, Scotland
Sep 10, 2012

Excellent location.

Hotel staff couldn't have been more helpfull and very friendly. Location at Dam Square perfect. Room was very clean with complimentary coffemaker supplied. Would definitely return to this hotel at the next opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat loves to explore
Business
Edinburgh
Dec 3, 2012

Lovely hotel in a perfect spot

You can't beat the Swissotel's location, right on Dam Sq. But as soon as you step inside the hustle and bustle dies away and you would never know you were in the middle of the busy city. Our room was very comfortable and we loved the pillow menu! Could have done with free wi-fi but the tv channel choice was great. A stylish and comfortable hotel in an unbeatable spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Our Lord in the Attic, a 150-seater Catholic Church hidden in a canal house on the edge of the Red Light District. It's amazing!

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pbgnewbie
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Dec 27, 2012

great hotel and location

very easy place to stay - central location next to tram stops and within walking distance to much of amsterdam

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close walking distance to the joordan area -- nice shops, restaurants, cafes

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph and Linda
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 31, 2012

Great staff and location

This hotel has an excellent staff that really go the extra mile to provide really great service. The location is perfect if you want to explore Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Italian restaurant very near the hotel. It is called Ristorante Savini. Great homemade pasta.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph and Linda
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 31, 2012

Great staff and location.

The staff at this hotel really go the extra mile to provide excellent service. The location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Italian restaurant a short walk from the hotel. It is called Ristorante Savini. Great homemade pasta!

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NomadicGuru
Business
Washington DC
Jan 20, 2013

Good size room for Damrak area

Booked the room via online travel site where this review is being written but they did not provide any information to hotel. They need to ensure that if they sell prepaid room reservation, then hotel should actually receive the information. It took hotel staff few phone calls and some workaround to find me a room. This is a way better than typical Central area hotel but not as par with same brand hotel in other location. The wireless (or wired) internet connection is extra. Room window was right in front of Burger King and McDonaland so it was bright but nothing which curtains cant hide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fastfood places and restaurants are right around the corner.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenk
Business
dublin
Jan 27, 2013

Overall a good experience

This hotel was perfect for our small getaway holiday,the only fault is we were giving a room dat had some sort of fan above our room that was very noisey and went on and off every five mins also the room was very dark as the window looked out onto the side of another building,the food in the restaurant wasnt great at all and very expensive but the staff in the hotel where very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamama
Business
Inverness, Scotland
Mar 15, 2013

Good weekend break hotel

We were mwde very welcome at The Swissotel which is ideally placed for city centre amenities. It is only 10 minutes walk from the railway station. The staff were very helpful when we needed advice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lelo
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 2, 2013

Great Hotel

I was in amsterdam for only 2 days in vacation and The hotel was in the best location you could ask for, you could walk easily everywhere, in the center of Old Amsterdam where everything happen. I didn't care too much for the bathroom glass wall that the room have ,was to open and you could see everything from the room, no privacy when you are taking a shower, a bath, or brush your teeth. Also the sound proof of the windows in my room was not that good I could hear all the noise from the street bellow all night long, another problem that I found was the shower drainage was full of hair and the water didn't drain properly filling the floor of the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Red light district and the Old Town.

Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Ravi
Business
London
Jun 25, 2013

Central location, comfortable and clean hotel

Great location near the centre and walking distance from the station. Can get a little noise at night, but the double window deals with that. Clean and comfortable and staff were really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top